We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family stay in a formal atmosphere”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice family stay in a formal atmosphere”
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We had a nice family stay at The Chattanoogan. Althought the resort is formal, as a vacationing family with young children we never felt out of place. Very clean, modern, attractive rooms. This was one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed at. Friendly staff, nice grounds, good experience, overall.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    310
    138
    57
    45
See reviews for
298
383
35
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We recently attended a wedding at the Chattanoogan and stayed there two nights. We loved the room and thought the common areas were lovely. The staff couldn't have been nicer...from the housekeeping to the valet parking attendants. Great experience.

  • Liked — common areas, rooms, quiet
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muttsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

We love the Chattanoogan and have been very happy with our stays… until our most recent visit.

We were very disappointed when we asked for a later check-out time and were denied. We had come to town on Saturday night and were to go to an honors luncheon for my college age daughter on Sunday afternoon. Thinking that check-out would be 12:00 noon, we left the hotel at 10:30 for a late breakfast. On the way out, we stopped by the desk to inquire if we could stay in the room until 1:00 to prepare for the 1:30 luncheon.

We were rudely told that check-out was 11:00 - in just 30 minutes - and that we would have to vacate the room at that time. No late check-out for us! We had to skip our breakfast plans and rush back up to the room to quickly pack our things and then take them to our daughter’s small apartment, where we again unpacked in order to get ready for the luncheon.

Very disrupting incident and enough of an inconvenience that we will consider any future visits to the Chattanoogan.

Valet parking for one night ~ $10 cash to the kid that retrieved our car, after informing us that it was not on our bill!

  • Liked — Beds and bath
  • Disliked — Service - special request
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hotelcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Called on the day we needed to stay and got a rate$40 below the average travel site. Modern and clean hotel with nice bedding and above average bathrooms. Indoor pool area was fun for my daughter and my mom loved the spa. Location is nice, about 12 blocks from the main area of downtown. Far enough not to hear the noise at night, so it was really great!

  • Liked — Design of the hotel
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisGGainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2007

All around great place. Convenient to downtown, very nice hotel. Not stuffy and very comfortable. We stayed here once before last year and were impressed enough to return without considering another hotel. Good value.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank OcoeeSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2006

Our room was clean and nicely furnished. The staff was helpful and friendly. We paid less than $120 for a king room and breakfast the next morning. The breakfast, mostly buffet-style, was wonderful with lots of choices. Omelets were prepared to order and mine was excellent. I did notice a few marks on the wall as mentioned by other reviewers, but that appeared to be mostly from luggage carts, etc scrubbing against the wall, as the halls are rather narrow. We had a very nice stay at the Chattanoogan. Hope to stay long enough to visit the spa next time!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank gapch47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Alabama
Level Contributor
194 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2006

This is a fabulous hotel and beautiful to boot. They have great food inside as well. We paid the extra $2 for valet and it was more than worth it. We only had one bad night trying to get our car because of a huge company party coming in at the same time. The hotel did staff in preparation for this party by having over 10 valets so I was quite impressed. Other than that, this is a great hotel to stay at with exceptionally clean rooms and great front desk and concierge service. I called 2 days ahead of arrival and the concierge made all of our restaurant reservations for the next 2 days.

We had one king size bed in a non-smoking room and only paid $159.00 per night. For what we got in return, it was worth every penny and we will stay here on future visits.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the service
  • Disliked — na
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,676 reviews
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing