We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth it...”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not worth it...”
Reviewed February 26, 2009

trying to be something nice... falls short. too much money for what you get. go to a nice hyatt in atlanta or something, not here.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noshoesct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    326
    146
    58
    48
See reviews for
318
403
35
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. The only complaint we had was that the parking garage was anything but handy. Not attached to the hotel. If you have trouble waking this hotel might not be a good call. It is in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

When we first walked in my wife was immediatly drawn to the beautiful handcrafted rocking chairs in the lobby (the builder's name is actually stamped on the bottom!) my wife has back pains and she said the chairs were so comfortable she is planning on having the man in Greeneville TN make us 2 for our front porch! THe whole hotel is relaxing, that is very important to us, we had freindly and courteous employees stop and chat with us a few times. It is perfectly located for all the activities in Chatt. you would like to do. Overall i would highly recommend the hotel to anyone that is going through the area, we will shurely be back!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank CamperCrawdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2008

We stayed at the 2 bedroom suite. The location is good, and everything is clean. My only complaint is traveling with kids. The only TV channel they have in the room that young kids would like is the Cartoon Network, and that was down the whole time. In the hotel's defense, they treated us very well to accomodate for this. The mattress really hurt my wife's back. Other than that the place is clean, well located and nice.

  • Liked — Clean, modern
  • Disliked — TV channels
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

the resort offers the best of high end resorts with hotel-like pricing. It is centrally located in downtown Chattanooga but don't let the "city location" fool you; it has its own block and feels very secluded. With the free shuttle that runs to all the major attractions downtown and the close proximity to Ruby Falls and Civil War battlefields, one could spend a week or more seeing all there is to see. Of course the fall is beautiful with the mountain foliage. The staff is courteous and friendly. The amenities are ones that can be expected in much more expensive locations (spa, bar, restaurant, fitness center). There are some minor details that if corrected would put this place even higher in the pecking order but none that detract from the overall experience of staying in quiet luxury right downtown.

  • Liked — the vaue for the location
  • Disliked — some small details ie lighting in the bathroom, valet key chest out of place in upscale foyer
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank brian_crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Be prepared to have your stuff stolen! Not only did we get some of our stuff stolen, but they had the nerve to accuse our roommate of stealing our stuff! Does that make any sense? They gave us the run around; "We are looking into it" and we are interrogating the cleaning service". But when it cam down to it, they didn’t do anything. I know that people say you need to bring you valuables with you when you leave the room, but I don't have the pocket space to carry all of the valuable we brought. Bottom line... save your money and upgrade to a Motel 6!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — stole my stuff and then blamed the other people in our room!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham AL
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

On the whole the Hotel was very nice. The staff was friendly and knowledgable about the area. Front Desk personnel made reservations and gave discounts for some of the better restaurants in town. Even the maintenance man escorted us when we asked directions to the restaurant.

Oh the restaurant! Breakfast was included in our package and it was very good. Just don't go for dinner! We were only one of 3 tables in the entire place, and it took 2 1/2 hours for us to receive and finish our meal. When dessert took more than 15 minutes to get to our table, I complained to the food service manager. When our dessert arrive, he said one of the tortes had to be baked for 8 minutes. That was it! No free coffee, no mea culpa, no nothing. I would have rated this hotel higher, but this dinner experience was so disappointing. It was our most expensive meal of the entire trip, and the worst.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — the Broad Street Grille
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolAuntBirminghamAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 97 in Chattanooga
971 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing