We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality meets Luxury”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    326
    146
    58
    48
See reviews for
318
403
35
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary fl
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The spa is small and next to the hotel indoor pool. I would label it a " boutique spa". I am a spa snob and visit spas on a regular basis. I had a massage and mud mask with Stacy. The best massage I have ever had! Stacy was very attentive to all my areas of stress. I stay often at the hotel and look forward to coming back to the spa for more services. Also nice perk which I have not been offered at other spas even high end ones - wine and a hot neck wrap when done with treatment! I also enjoyed the dry sauna very much. Spa is very clean and all the staff are very nice and helpful. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you, for your detailed review; we will be sure to recognize Stacy and give a "Shout Out" for the wonderful services that were provided. It is just great to hear that the services at the spa and accommodations you experienced at The Chattanoogan hotel met your high expectations and our location makes it convenient to your travels. Please consider liking us on Facebook to see upcoming promotions and events. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Booked this room via Priceline so price was great and it IS a 4 star hotel. Everything was clean, well maintained, bed was heavenly, indoor pool and hot tub, and friendly staff. Our room faced Lookout Mtn.. We left our car at the Choo Choo Carta parking lot after dropping of luggage and didn't worry about valet or self-parking.
We stayed at the Sheraton Read House and here in the same visit and this was definitely the quieter of the two hotels. Sheraton Read house has the Carta stop closer but both were very convenient. Outdoor fire pit and downstairs lobby were great for sitting and talking to new friends.
Only complaint was the shower head spray and pressure was pitiful and I could never get the shower to turn off. (husband had to do it both times) Lots of hot water though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridagirlP-cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your candor in the comparison of hotels. Your kind mention of our friendly staff, roomy accommodations and amenities are truly appreciated. We do regret that you had some issues during your stay, be assured we have shared your feedback with those departments, so that we can give the highest standards of service our guests expect. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed at The Chattanoogan for the first time for a conference. The hotel was super clean. The beds were comfortable. I felt the hotel was quiet despite being on a busy street. The staff was friendly from the cleaning staff to the valets to the front desk. We had a parking discrepancy and Sarah at the front desk resolved it quickly and with a smile! The conference facilities were top notch. The WiFi was excellent throughout the hotel and did not require a password or fee. We loved sitting by the fire pit while having a drink from The Foundry. My only cons were dim lighting in the bathroom and I did not like the lunches served from the buffet. I would highly recommend The Chattanoogan for any stay and plan to return to the conference next year if it is at The Chattanoogan.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtleNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you, for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the kind words about our staff and sleeping accommodations. Please know that we take all comments to heart. A remodel of the rooms is scheduled soon and this should take care of the dim lighting in the bathrooms. In regards to the items on our lunch buffet; we are in the process of evaluating our options and we have hired a new chef with many years of experience who will insure that the dining experiences at The Chattanoogan are always up to par with the expectations of our guest. Again, thank you for your feedback; we look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Loved our stay at the Chattanoogan. The facilty is super easy to find - and convenient to everything downtown Chatt has to offer. Just half a block from the free electric shuttle service so getting around is easy and FREE! The facility was in great condition and the rooms were excellent. Comfort and Quality are as good as you could ask for. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ascastleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with The Chattanoogan hotel and for taking the time to write a review. It's an honor to receive your compliments! I appreciate the kind words about our hotel. I know you have many options, and I am glad you chose us. We are proud to have been able to help you enjoy our area. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked the room through Hotwire so the cost was reduced to $99.00 + taxes per night. Room was nice in appearance. After a long day at Riverbend Music Festival got in the bed to notice that the stuffing in the comforter was bunched up in big clumps. Not visible but uncomfortable. Shower nor sink drained properly. Quick reply from maintainence but left note stating problem could not be resolved. Went down to Cafe on the Corner that is part of the hotel to find coffee shop closed on a Saturday morning on one of the buisest weekends in the city.

Final straw was upon check out we were billed $12.00 per day for parking. No previous mention of this charge from the valet nor desk clerk. We were led to believe it was complimentary.

Can't believe this is rated four star?

Room Tip: Don't pay full price. Stay away from rooms just outside the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtbxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you, for your candid review. It is clear that we missed several key opportunities to impress you. We regret that your stay was not perfect in every way. Please accept our sincerest apologies if you experienced anything less than stellar service. Our apologies that you were unaware of the parking fee; we strive to inform all guests of these charges at the time of reservation, in the reservation confirmation email, and at check-in. It is clear that those opportunities were missed and you did not receive that information. We will share your comments with our team to ensure we continue to provide attentive service to our valued guests. It is our sincere hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back and win your trust in our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband picked this as it was close to the 'riverbend' concert we came across by accident at 4.30pm. What a gem! The bed was soooo comfy, the room quiet and clean, service was great, valet parking was $8 if prepaid, and it was central to the free bus to the river. We had late night room service and also breakfast and it was hot, fresh and delicious. We would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 72Ang069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you found The Chattanoogan hotel and that we met or exceeded your expectations. Thank you, for the kind mention of our convenient location and great customer service. We look forward to a return visit to Chattanooga and staying with us. Please consider liking us on Facebook so you can stay up with happenings in Chattanooga and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 97 in Chattanooga
971 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing