We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I loved the convenience, the grounds, the lobby, the room. The only thing that I felt that could be improved was the mattress. It was comfortable but a little lumpy. I don't know if this was because the mattress pad was lumpy but it was not smooth. The on-site dining was great and there were plenty of choices for us to walk to. I will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiniDeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location and the appearance of our hotel. I have shared your comments with the housekeeping department so that they can look into this situation. We apologize for any inconvenience that this might have caused for you during your stay. We look forward to a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    306
    139
    57
    44
See reviews for
292
380
35
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estill Springs, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Chattanoogan Hotel but it will not be our last. The hotel was beautiful, staff was very friendly and helpful, clean rooms and great restaurant. I have already recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you, for taking the time to review The Chattanoogan. We were thrilled to read your comments. We appreciate that you called our hotel “great!” Thank you, for referring us to your family and friends; that is truly the highest compliment. Please consider liking us on Facebook to keep up with our hotel, specials, and area events. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is my new favorite hotel in Chattanooga!!!! Friendly staff,clean rooms,and good food! When I was leaving my room,the housekeeping staff were very nice and sincere.The front desk was also very friendly! I highly recommend this fine hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you, for describing our hotel as “Awesome.” We are thrilled that you stayed with us and have found a new home when you come to visit Chattanooga. Thank you, for the mention of our staff. Our staff is trained to "Be the Difference" and we are grateful to hear this was your experience. Thank you, for your helpful feedback; we have shared your review with the appropriate departments so that we can take every guest stay to the next level. Please consider liking on Facebook to keep up with local events in Chattanoogan and Facebook specials for our hotel. Please come back for another stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was my third stay at the Chattanoogan Hotel. The entire experience was positive, from arrival, check-in, room quietness and cleanliness, the breakfast buffet, the banquet facilities and food, to check-out. Absolutely an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you, for your review. Thank you, for describing our hotel as excellent. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; I appreciate the kind words about my team. Providing superb service is our goal every day every guest. Please consider liking us on Facebook. We look forward to seeing you on a return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This Hotel feels dated. The rooms were OK, we booked a King room but were given 2 twin beds and they had no other King rooms to give us - not exactly a 'romantic getaway'. It was a clean room however no fresh air. We didn't use the amenities or eat at the restaurant but it looked lovely. I give it a Poor rating because our room was not as we booked, despite my husband calling that day to confirm everything - and notifying the staff this was the beginning of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Don't expect your room request to be granted - even if you are on your honeymoon and want 1 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellienad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you, for your candid review. We must apologize; it seems your experience was not positive in every way. We regret if there was miscommunication about your room type and that you experienced anything less than top-notch service. We appreciate that you took the time to review your experience and will be certain to take your feedback to all departments to better improve ourselves and the experience of our guest. We hope you’ll return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Comparable to Westin heavenly bed. Modern decor, and top notch service throughout. Arrived late to a live band in the lounge, great ambience. I am sure this is the best hotel in the area, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for upper level mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomLYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind review and high recommendation of The Chattanoogan hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed such a pleasant visit filled with helpful service, comfortable accommodations and the mention of our local entertainment on the weekends at The Foundry.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Friendly Staff, Cozy Lobby with beautiful décor. Did not eat at the Hotel.
Room was very clean. Parking was easy. The location was easy to find and you are less than a mile from just about everything.

Room Tip: The view we had was very nice, but it was on the parking deck side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
It is just great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced at The Chattanoogan hotel met your expectations and our location made it convenient. Should your travels bring you back to the area, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay and so that you may take advantage of our numerous recreational amenities. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing