We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Very clean hotel, nice staff. I would definitely stay here again due to the location. Close to restaurants and shopping. I just stayed one night on business so I didn't get to spend much time checking amenities. Restaurant was nice, breakfast is good as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent business stay at our hotel.We appreciate the kind words about the staff and facilities. My Team truly cares about helping create a memorable time here in Chattanooga. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    299
    137
    57
    44
See reviews for
287
374
34
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Really nice looking hotel inside and out. The rooms were roomy, clean and everything worked. The location is a little far out from many of the activities in downtown, but we only had to walk a couple blocks to catch the free shuttle car....which was very cool too btw.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derrick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
To read that you completely enjoyed your visit to The Chattanoogan hotel from the moment you arrived in town to when you departed means a great deal to us! We’re delighted our staff provided friendly service, thank you for your review. We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous and staff is friendly. It also offers a great view of the mountains and an indoor fire place as well as an outdoor fire pit! The rooms were well decorated and the beds were very comfortable. I ate in the hotel restaurant The Foundry. While their aged cheese and chorizo appetizer was amazing, my grilled chicken Caesar salad (which is not tough to make) left a lot to be desired. The chicken was very bland and had absolutely no taste to it. I was highly disappointed as it was not even lightly seasoned with some salt and pepper. Other than that everything was top notch!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txgal1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you, for taking the time to write your candid review. We appreciate that you took the time to provide your impressions of our hotel. While we are glad you enjoyed the hotel we were disappointed to learn about you food experience in The Foundry. Please accept our apologies and know that we will share your comments with our team to ensure we continue to provide good food as well as a great experience to our valued guests. It is our sincere hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable; however, we wanted to rent a movie and were told to rent their Apple TV. It took from 8:30 pm till 2:00 am to see the movie because of all of the connection interruptions. They sent IT staff to the room twice to try to help, but there was nothing they could do. The people next door were very loud until the wee hours of the morning, but when I told the front desk, they had someone take care of it. Do not try to contact the hotel via their web site or on a mobile device, as none of the email addresses work; if you complete the form on their full site, it takes you to a test page. We received no reply. (Again, even though there were problems, the entire staff was very kind and helpful throughout our one-night stay ... except for one employee who worked in the valet area as we were leaving. We have not yet been able to reach the hotel about this.)

Room Tip: Tip: if you reserve a "courtyard" room, get it on the higher floor so you can see the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JudyNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are deeply disappointed to read that your recent stay did not impress you in every way, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your visit. We will share your comments with our entire team to make certain we continue to provide top-notch service and well-appointed accommodations to our valued customers. Thank you for your feedback; it is our hope that you will reconsider a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Chattanoogan. It was the most confortable bed I've slept on, away from home. The entire staff was friendly and very helpful. Eveything about our stay was perfect and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you, for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the kind words about the Staff and facilities. My team truly cares about helping create a memorable time here in Chattanooga. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I wanted a spa day and great place to de-stress, not too far away, with great food and amenities. The Chattanoogan did not disappoint. My masseuse was focused and informative. The nail technician was detailed and they all made my "pamper day" wonderful.
The cuisine at Broadstreet Grille and service was phenomenal. From valet to front desk and everything in between, my stay was superb.
I plan to go back for a girl's trip or bring my mother for Mother's Day.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, Front Office Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you, for your detailed review. I am glad that The Chattanoogan could be the place you could "decompress" and have a get-a-way. Our staff is always happy to assist our valued guests and we’re delighted your stay reflected this. We’re glad you experienced clean, comfortable accommodations and friendly service from our staff during your time at the hotel. Please consider liking us on Facebook so that you can enjoy speical offers from the hotel and keep up with what is happening in Chattanooga. We look forward to your return trip with your mom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had great one night stay at a The Chattanoogan! The room was quiet and well decorated. I am a tough critic on bed comfort and I must say this one was very comfy! The in-room mini fridge was a nice bonus and I appreciated the free wifi. The breakfast buffet at the broad street grille was full of variety and all was delicious but a little pricey at $12 per person. My daughter and I loved the indoor pool and hot tub on a cold misty rainy day and the fitness room was large with plenty of machines. I think parking should be free, $8 per day is a little steep. Overall, great experience and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalpaigec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you, for your detailed review. It is a real treat to learn that you enjoyed the accommodations and the comfort of our beds at our hotel during your recent visit. We are so glad you found our location convenient. We take all comments to heart; it is unfortunate that in our downtown area parking is not free. Most downtown parking is owned by Republic or AAA and we have no control on their pricing. Again, my apologies, I understand that this additional charge can be frustrating. Please consider liking us on Facebook for future activities and promotions. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing