We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Employees nice, but poorly trained” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Employees nice, but poorly trained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

The hotel is supposed to be a Spa hotel. It has an open, airy, contemporary look; however, it does not seem to take its
"spa-ness" seriously. I read somewhere that it is owned by the city (could be wrong) but if so, that might explain some of the things we experienced.

When we arrived, the computer would not accept our debit card for parking or "incidentals". I was immediately concerned about identity theft b/c I knew there should not be a problem. We moved to a credit card. That didn't work either so I knew it was their system. But, we moved to another credit card. Despite my assurances that it MUST be on their end, the desk employee did not see the need to really look into it.

When the third card failed, rather than really trying to solve their problem, the man on duty said we would have to pay cash for parking and would not be able to charge anything to our room during our stay. Not a huge deal, but he didn't seem to understand that his job was to solve his problem, not add to mine by requiring us to pay cash for food, parking, coffee, etc. over the next three days.

When I got to the room & discovered my debit card had not been returned, I went downstairs. At this time, I was told the original debit HAD gone through. Now I am wondering whether parking had been charged to the other two credit cards...not to mention I had already paid cash for it too.

I later went to the spa for a list of services when I could not find one in the room. I was told that they had "run out of those," but the very nice person on duty offered to tell me what was available. Knowing that it was too much to remember prices, hours, and particulars of a green tea mud facial vs an ostrich egg compote facial (tongue in cheek) I declined to listen. It was my birthday weekend, but too much trouble for me to try to remember if it was too much trouble for them to photocopy a list.

There was one robe in the room. However, it was extremely thin...very cheap. We had three wash cloths...for my family of four. It was obvious there were four of us. In three more days, we never received enough washcloths. I always re-use my towels even when not asked via hotel literature, but being required to share wash cloths over four days is a bit much. My aunt had one that was never replaced in her room. We never got a complete set of bath products. I don't know if they were out, but we would get 2 lotions one day, no conditioner. The next day, we got nothing.

On Sunday night the hotel restaurant was closed. We were pretty tired and really wanted to dine in. The servers in the bar were extremely nice and served us and one other family in the otherwise empty dining room. Our server did let a lot of irritation show on her face when my 90 year old aunt requested a "special" salad - lettuce, tomatoes, carrots (like a house salad)- rather than a Caesar which was on limited menu. Since the kitchen was really closed, there wasn't any bread. The server recovered pretty quickly when we thanked her profusely for allowing us to eat. She was exceptionally nice as dinner went on.

ALL of the employees, in fact, were very nice people. They just have not been trained in customer service...not the attitudes of a spa hotel....which I usually think of as service-oriented. We paid $175 a night...not too expensive, but usually you get better aattention to service details at this rate.

  • Disliked — Lack of attention to detail in customer service.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelloverAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    293
    135
    57
    42
See reviews for
279
371
33
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

We stayed at this hotel while in town for the 3 state 3 mountain bike ride and thought it was great. The room was quite spacious and the bathroom was also very spacious (although, I think we might have had a handicapped room so maybe that was why the bathroom was so large). Most importantly the bed was very very comfortable. Since we were in town for the bike ride it was vital that we got a good nights sleep and this hotel delivered! The staff was very helpful and hospitable. We were looking for a specific cuisine on Friday night and the the front desk was most helpful and suggested the perfect place! We had brunch there on Sunday and it was very good. They were short on help in the restaurant which was frustrating but the food was quite good. The location of the hotel is exceptional. It's within walking distance to most places and although is not directly on the free electric shuttle route it's not a far walk to one of the stops. All in all, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spearson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

I booked a room at the Chattannogan the night before my husband had an intereview. My priority was a quiet room and good bedding for a sound night's sleep--we these and more. The lobby is beautiful, with a fireplace and places to sit and read. The restaurants looked nice, but we didn't have time to try them out. Our room was very clean and elegantly furnished. It had excellent bedding and a nice bathroom. Really, the whole hotel was more chic than I was expecting.

The front desk staff were professional and helpful.

The hotel is not as close to the downtown sites as some others, but there is a free downtown shuttle--and from what I can gather this hotel tends to be a bit cheaper than those right by the aquarium, etc. Also, it offers rooms with 2 doubled beds--which most of the downtown hotels do not (a puzzling fact in a town that seems family-friendly otherwise).

My only complaint is about the woman who was working in the fitness center/spa area. When I asked to have a locker key, she said that they were all full--even though I could see that at least 3/4 of the lockers were empty. When I told her that they all appeared empty, she said that she had to hold them for people with spa appointments. But there must have been 25 open lockers. So I am not sure what that was about, but she was unpleasant about it to put it mildly.

The fitness center had all the basics and was clean, with TVs in front of the treadmills. I didn't go in, but the pool looked quite nice--it is at the top of the building next to the fitness center and spa in a glass-enclosed room.

  • Liked — bedding
  • Disliked — spa attendant's attitude
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

Staff was very rude and condescending.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank gabbyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Big Chicken
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

My husband and I were ther the weekend of 1/25-1/27/08 for a conference. The room was very nice, however when we requested maid service our ice bucket was not emptied, used drink glasses were not taken and the room robe was not replaced. The martini bar and entertainment were quit fun and expensive. $10.00 per small martini. The main restaurants lunch and dinner food was terrible. Poor choices and dried up meats. Breakfast was fine if you enjoy a buffett.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onpointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2007

My husband and I went to Chattanooga for a weekend getaway to celebrate my birthday. The staff was very welcoming. The room was beautiful. The temperature in the room was perfect. No weird smells. My husband and I had the romance package. The Bath and Body Works gift basket came in a nice purple and gold basket with a full size Jasmine Vanilla lotion and shower gel. The champagne was okay. We were expecting a box of chocolates and were slightly dissapointed to have 4 chocolate covered strawberries from the hotel restaurant. But other than that, it was great. The breakfast the following morning was an upscale buffet, they had omelets made to order. It was delicious and filling. The wait staff was very attentive. We will make chatta

**To our surprise the check in time was 4:00 p.m. We thought it would be earlier. However, our room was ready by 1:00 and they let us go ahead and check in.****

  • Liked — The comfortable bed and the great breakfast
  • Disliked — The champagne
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

We had a nice family stay at The Chattanoogan. Althought the resort is formal, as a vacationing family with young children we never felt out of place. Very clean, modern, attractive rooms. This was one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed at. Friendly staff, nice grounds, good experience, overall.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing