We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great place for a getaway! We stayed here during the kids Fall Break from school. Loved this hotel and will be staying here from now on when traveling to Chattanooga.
Convenient to all the tourist attractions, friendly staff, pretty grounds, great pool/hot tub area- kids loved it! And next time I may check out the spa as well :)

Room Tip: We stayed at the south end on the 4th floor and it was quiet. Indoor pool/sauna/spa are located on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoegirl3678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to respond to our survey. Thank you for the great review and for providing such detailed feedback from your recent visit. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed a variety of different areas in the hotel and would encourage you to try our Spa on your next visit. We offer many great packages and seasonal specials. We were thrilled to be a place where you and your family could relax and enjoy yourself. Making memories is truly one of the best parts of being a parent. We hope your travels bring you back to Chattanooga and to our hotel. Please consider liking us on Facebook to keep up on local events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

What's not to like about the Chattanoogan? This was my 8th visit here, and it is my favorite hotel in Chattanooga. The staff is friendly, courteous and efficient. They go out of their way to accommodate special requests too. The hotel is centrally located, but has nicely-landscaped grounds which make it seem more private than being right downtown. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Many even have beautiful views of Lookout Mountain and the surrounding hills or of the city. The hotel has special rates at certain times of year, so it pays to shop for those, if one's schedule is flexible.

Room Tip: Book your room by telephone rather than online if possible. The very helpful reservations staff wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for you for the great review. It is the greatest compliment of all to read that you continue to chose our hotel. Thank you for your detailed feedback from your recent stay at The Chattanoogan hotel. We are glad that our customer service, location, and attention to detail keeps you coming back. We look forward to your next stay with us. Please consider liking us on Facebook to watch for special and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great staff, clean rooms, excellent food, and convenient location. I am a business traveler who attends conferences at some of the nicest hotels in the nation, but the Chattanoogan is an exceptional establishment. The staff treats you as if you were an honored guest in their own homes. The amphitheater style meeting room provided excellent acoustics and the staff was whisper quiet when setting up the break areas. The Chattanoogan earns the highest marks. The stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay and conference experience at The Chattanoogan hotel. We’re so glad that the service our event staff delivered was prompt and attentive and our meeting rooms met your needs. We appreciate your helpful feedback and will share your comments with our team.We certainly hope to welcome you back during your next business or leisure trip to Chattanooga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We decided last minute to have an overnight Anniversary escape and chose The Chattanoogan based on other's reviews. It was definitely a good call!! We were treated very well by everyone at the hotel!! For example, I forgot my toothbrush and within minutes of calling the front desk I had one! Our hot water was only lukewarm and once again within minutes Maintenance was up there, turns out it was just taking a while to get hot. The room (we splurged on the Mountain View Suite) was amazing!!! The breakfast buffet was delicious! Our only mistake was only staying one night! Chattanooga is a great lil town and we will absolutely come back and stay at The Chattanoogan again! Next time though we will make time for the Spa, it looked wonderful!

Room Tip: The mountain view Suite was worth the money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Congratulations on another Anniversary!! Thank you, for deciding to spend it with us. To read that you completely enjoyed your visit to The Chattanoogan hotel from the moment you arrived in town to when you departed means a great deal to us! We’re delighted your dining experience at the breakfast buffet exceeded your expectations and that our staff provided friendly service, thank you for your review. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Comfortable and quiet rooms, excellent Internet connection. 20 minutes or less to Ruby Falls, Lookout Mountain, the art museum and excellent restaurants. About 18 minutes to the Chattanooga airport without traffic. No hotel shuttle available. The hotel's restaurant is actually quite good as well. Had a chance to check out a baseball game and eat at the hotel's bar. Great meal at a reasonably affordable price (Blackened Grouper)...

Parking for my stay was $8/day and in a covered garage a short walk across a treed park. Valet is also available, which I did not use. Pay-to-park is probably not uncommon in a city setting, yet for the price, parking could have been included...

Great friendly staff. On-site Hertz car rental counter can be convenient for those needing a car for a day or two during the stay. Not many cars stored at this site, so make reservations early. You might not be fortunate enough to get a car if you don't have a previous reservation.

Room Tip: I had room 422 (fourth floor out of five floors). A red neon "Chattanooga Choo-Choo" sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeZ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your recent stay at our hotel. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. . We’re so glad you got to explore the great attractions nearby and felt that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Your kind mention of our guest accommodations, The Broad Street Grille and helpful staff means a great deal to us. We take all comments to heart; it is unfortunate that in our downtown area parking is not free. Most downtown parking is owned by Republic or AAA and we have no control on their pricing. Again, my apologies, I understand that this additional charge can be frustrating.Happy travels, we hope to welcome you back for a return stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here in August, wonderful clean hotel. Rooms had plenty of space. Bathroom was clean and fresh.
Had breakfast in the restaurant, lots of selection.
Walking distance to the free shuttle stop.
Would like to thank the lady on the front desk, my son decided he was unwell. The day before check out, I asked what time check out was thinking 11am but it was 12. They lady at front desk gave us till 1pm which as lovely gesture as we had couple hundred miles drive that day. Must admit it was a pleasure to spend time in the hotel room, even with a sick child.
Was going to book a treatment at the spa but did not have time, it did look lovely. As for the sights do visit Ruby Falls amazing. Would I stay again, yep and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-bag-packed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Your thoughtful review and high recommendation of The Chattanoogan Hotel means a great deal to us -- thank you for sharing your feedback! We are truly pleased you and your family enjoyed everything about your visit, from the helpful staff to breakfast at Broad Street Grille. While I was sorry to hear that your son became ill; I am glad that you were able to rest and relax in the room for a while. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back very soon, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, free wi-fi, and easy access to the downtown electric shuttle and interstate. Only negative I can think of is that you have to pay for parking- but considering you are located in the heart of downtown, that is to be expected.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Swanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina S, Executive Admin at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We love that you described The Chattanoogan hotel as your preferred choice! It is a real treat to learn that you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. We are so glad you found our location convenient We take all comments to heart; it is unfortunate that in our downtown area parking is not free. Most downtown parking is owned by Republic or AAA and we have no control on their pricing. Again, my apologies, I understand that this additional charge can be frustrating. Please consider liking us on Facebook for future activities and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#41 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,745 reviews
9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#15 of 96 in Chattanooga
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $147 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing