We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Hotel in Chattanooga - A+ Staff, Amenities - Comfortable and Clean”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Top Hotel in Chattanooga - A+ Staff, Amenities - Comfortable and Clean”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Chattanoogan Hotel is the only 4-star AAA rated hotel in downtown Chattanooga I read. It's not huge, just 5-floors, with nice brick & modern ecor, and it is connected with the Chattanooga conference center so it sees a lot of meeting activity (no problem). We stayed here on a couples long weekend to Chattanooga. It's in a quiet location on the edge of the downtown area. About 5 blocks to the Choo-Choo, 1-mile to the river and aquarium or Bluff Arts District and only a 10-15 minute drive straight out to the Lookout Mountain area and the attractions there.

The only negative I saw with this hotel was the 1-mile distance to the river and main downtown area of Chattanooga. Getting into the central area however is easy, parking is free after 430pm or on weekends on the streets and you can easily rent the city bikes at the hotel and pedal your way into town with convenient bike stations everywhere. There is also a free bus just 2 blocks away that runs every 10-15 minutes and we used that several times to get to the river, short north or arts area too. So it's easy to navigate the distance, it's quiet, and you can enjoy more of the downtown area too by being further out.

The rooms were a good size, but I did find the bathroom to be smaller than most newer, 4-star hotels I've stayed at. Not a complaint though. The amenities were good with a small heated pool, jacuzzi, fitness room and locker/spa area. Locker room also included a small steam and dry sauna booth comfortable for one person. The front desk was always helpful with papers available each morning & coffee. The parking deck is on-location and you can self or valet park. Self parking is only $8 per night, which is very fair and reasonable compared to other cities and 4-star locations. Free Wi-Fi was excellent amenity. There is a restaurant, bar and cafe/coffee shop on location which is good. Nice fire pit patio in the cooler evenings. There are only a few eating areas within walking distance of the hotel, including a few around the Choo-Choo hotel and Warehouse district, but again, the main river area is easy to get to.

We'd stay here again. I recomend the Bluff Arts District, Tennessee Aquarium, walking the Pedestrian Bridge and riverside parks, and North Shore area, The Terminal Restaurant was great, Tony's Italian on the Bluff, Milk and Honey "artisan" Gelato in N. Shore, Ruby Falls, Rock City, Lookout Mtn Park, Chickamaugua Battle Field, Jack Daniels Distillery in Lynchburg, Quest Whitewater Rafting on the Ocoee to name a many things to try and do. Give me a check if this helps and Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: I suggest a high floor just to be off the street. Only 5-floors. And maybe stay toward the pool si...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is green and like most of Chattanooga, makes great effort to be efficient and environmentally concious.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBTrips-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We truly appreciate all of your great comments about Chattanooga. There are so many terrific things to do. Chattanooga provides it visitors with great outdoor activities for all age groups. We are glad you were able to experience so much of what Chattanooga has to offer and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    322
    145
    58
    48
See reviews for
315
400
35
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

There for work meetings. Great job Myron! Shuttles free to d"town and so close. Aquarium was amazing! Staff were all very attentive and pleasant. Made for a wonderful trip first time to Chat Go Dawgs!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godawgs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments regarding your stay at the Chattanoogan. We are all very proud of our property and the team that strives to provide personalized service. We all look forward to your next visit to our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The outside of the front of the property blends in with the surroundings so it was easy to miss as we drove by it the first time. As we drove around to the back to park, we were greeted by a courtyard with benches, flowers, and a pleasant breeze. As we entered the lobby, we found it to be spacious and inviting. The people at the front desk were professional and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable. The restaurant had a good buffet was reasonably priced. The location was convenient to many of the sites in Chattanooga.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments regarding your stay at the Chattanoogan. We are all very proud of our property and the team that strives to provide personalized service. We all look forward to your next visit to our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Room was large and clean. Lighting could have been brighter but was OK. Plenty of counter space in the bathroom. Tub has the curved shower curtain bar, which I love, but I think the curtain was made for a straight bar because it didn't quite reach the walls. Housekeeping staff were great, all super friendly and genuine. Bellman (Chandler) was also super nice and helpful. The front desk staff was nice, although one lady wouldn't allow us to change checkout from 12:30 to 1:00. Maybe she was new and didn't know she had the authority, or maybe they really needed the room.

The food was consistently good. Never made it to Stroud's, the coffee shop. It's not acually accessible from the hotel but outside around the corner. The only part of our stay that wasn't great was the parking. I knew from the e-mail confirmation that parking was $8/day so that was not a problem. At check-in the clerk gave me a parking pass that she said we needed to show the attendant when we left. The first day I forgot the parking pass and asked the attendant if I could exit without it. She said no way, she would call the police if we left without the pass. My wife asked if we could drive to the entrance to go up to the room to get the pass and bring it back, since it was a ten minute walk from parking to our room. The attendant said no, so I parked, walked to the room, got the pass and went back to the exit booth and handed the pass to the attendant. She said she didn't need the parking pass unless we were checking out, and she only needed a room key to let us out. Are you kidding? That's 25 minutes I'll never get back. I can't tell is she was incompetent, mean or both but is was a bad start to a Tuesday afternoon. Based on how nice everyone else was, she won't be there long and I woill not hesitate to go back to the Chattanoogan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you should your travel bring you back to The Chattanoogan and will do our best to make sure that each of your interactions with staff has the enthusiasm we prefer to share with our customers. We are contacting the garage management about the issue you had and can assure you that is not the norm.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room was nice, but not great. There was no microfridge in the room. We were charged $8 per day for parking, but there was no one monitoring the parking lot. The bathtub in our room did not drain when the shower was running. They also did not service our room while we were there. We were across from the elevator and vending area and it was pretty loud.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms that end in 36-39
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antuane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I would like to apologize for your less than satisfactory experience you had while staying at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I am sorry we did not meet your expectation.
Once again, I apologize that we did not provide a better experience, we will always strive to do better, and I thank you for the constructive thoughts you shared on your review
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a normal work trip for my husband and I got to tag along. Nothing exciting about the hotel. It did its job. Clean rooms, friendly staff, great food for the conference. The fire pit outside was great at night.

From what I have seen, it is a great location for hosting a conference.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KaleeRae85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
\ Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful visit. I will be sharing your comments with our staff; they will be happy to read that you were pleased. We look forward to your return visit.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I was going to stay in Hixson at the Hampton Inn but found The Chattanoogan to be very competitively priced and much nicer. Glad I made the choice. Great local restaurants close by. Free local shuttle close by.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
We look forward to your return
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
969 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing