We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to rest”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to rest”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night. We had great food in the lounge on the main floor and listened to some great live music. The next morning the breakfast buffet was outstanding and the pool was empty...perfect for morning lap swimming. The trees were flowering in the courtyard and we were happy to have stayed at such a clean and friendly place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WinfieldWormie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed a variety of different areas in the hotel and would encourage you to try our Sunday Brunch on your next visit as it’s a favorite in Chattanooga with locals and visitors alike.
Throughout the summer our landscape will continue to bloom so we look forward to seeing your return.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    307
    139
    58
    44
See reviews for
294
380
35
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here in March for one night and would have stayed longer. It was lovely. The room was a good size. The beds and linens were very comfortable and the front desk was more than gracious. Because of their downtown location, there is only paid parking, but for just a couple of dollars more you can have valet service and they will have your car up in just a few minutes. Great location too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbell2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review.
We look forward to your return to The Chattanoogan

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at The Chattanoogan. The hotel is a sort of Frank Lloyd Wright meets Frank Gehry meets Mies van der Rohe meets Marriott Courtyard design. That isn't an insult. The lobby isn't spectacular, but it'll do. The service is professional, if sometimes distracted.

The hotel is within walking distance of four of the best restaurants in Chattanooga: the BlueGrass Grill for breakfast, Urban Stack for burgers, Terminal Brew house for sandwiches and beer, and St. John's for 4-star cuisine and dressy dining. The neighborhood is pretty deserted at night but I've never had problems in dozens of visits in the area. There are interesting parks to the sout of the hotel, along Chestnut St, where you'll also find a Farmer's Market at Chestnut and 17th.

The jazz bar would have been nice had the band played jazz, blues, or anything other than the disco era top forty junk they played. The guitarist, bassist, and drummer all looked the part ( of the advertised jazz band) but the lead singer/keyboardist ruined them with bad Stevie Wonder copies and Commodores covers. Maybe the hotel will encourage the three to get a lead singer that fits their group.

The rooms are nice, but the Chattanooga has the scratchiest sheets in any nicer hotel in which I've stayed. I suspect it's the detergent they use to wash the sheets. I don't mind them but the princess I'm married to will not stay at the Chattanooga again because of them (she's sensitive).

It is a good hotel if you aren't sheet sensitive and if you can get a groupon or ls deal, then all the better. There are better hotels closer to the Aquarium.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLGilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! Not only did you give us impressive feedback but you increased my knowledge of architecture because I had to “google” Mies van der Rohe as you intrigued me with your description of our hotel. You named some wonderful restaurants here in the Southside and there are even more up and coming in the near future. Please let your wife know that our Director of Housekeeping is looking into our current detergent and fabric softener to see if we can find something that works better to keep scratchy sheets at bay , so I do hope you consider giving us a second try!
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The last time I reviewed this hotel we were checking it out for my daughter's wedding, and we loved it. We've stayed here several times since - all wonderful! This weekend was the wedding, and I have to say that the hotel was incredible! Everything was perfect! They answered all our million questions, were helpful, polite, and helped calm us down. The wedding site was set up perfectly. The pre-reception and reception rooms were decorated exactly as our daughter had imagined and described. I can't imagine a better place. Our suite was large enough for a shower and 2 other smaller parties. The spa people were so sweet. The food was great. I just can't say enough good things about them!

Room Tip: If you need a lot of room for a party, get one of the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for writing this wonderful wedding review on Tripadvisor and for being a return guest.
The wedding was beautiful and I am happy to hear that all your guests had a wonderful time.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

First time staying in Chattanooga, and we were not disappointed. The staff, both at the front desk and bellmen/valet, were efficent and polite. There is a nice gas firepit just outside the lobby area to enjoy a cocktail and conservation. Our room(Courtyard Suite) was spacious with a comfortable bed, and table perfect for playing board games. Warehouse Row is a block away, fun for shopping and dining. Overall, a great stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photomelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write a review! Our firepit is a popular place on spring and fall evenings so we hope you’ll come back and try it out again sometime soon.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I went to Chattanooga for spring break and stayed here, this hotel is worth it's 4 star rating. The hotel is beautiful and classy. The staff at the front desk and everyone I encountered was very couteous and helpful. I have read other reviews saying the hotel was dirty, no hot water, walls are thin, rude staff, and the list goes on and on. Honestly, I don't get it. I think some people just like to complain and try to get something out of it. I don't care, all I know is that this was the first time we went on vacation in 12 years and I am thankful and very pleased with our stay. Coming from the windy and rude city of Chicago it was a breath of fresh air to be treated with respect and courteousness. I will for sure come back. I want to thank Ms. Palmer and Mr. Tom Kapuro(?), for their above and beyound generosity. I also never slept as well in a hotel as I did in this one. The bed and bedding is so soft and you sink right in which was a welcoming surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review touching on so many aspects of our hotel. We share all the reviews (good and bad) with our hotel teams and you can be assured that yours was given many thumbs up!

Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit to Chattanooga
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is my first review I have ever bothered to write. Payed $150 for a room that was very dirty. The ceiling looked like a water leak, the bathroom and what I found on the sheet is too gross to write about. Woke up at 6 am to shower before my 10 hour drive home and had NO HOT WATER!! That's made me write my first ever. When I called the front desk about the water they said they would make a note of it in my chart. It's not a doctors office!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank lttleone1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Please know that we take all of our guest comments to heart and always learn the constructive comments. Your experience does not reflect our standards and please accept my sincerest apologies
I do hope that you will consider giving us another chance should your travels bring you back to Chattanooga.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing