We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & service”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked our trip online but had to pay in advance. For the price, it was worth it! A beautiful room. So clean and comfortable. We spent a lot of time in the room because we were visiting our son & working around his work schedule. We were able to walk everywhere we visited. Even the movies. We parked that car & didnt see it for 4 days! The accomodations are so nice. There is a spa & pool and hot tub we all really enjoyed. Don't forget the free electric trolley you can get picked up on Broad St & get almost anywhere downtown.

Room Tip: I asked for a low floor or the highest. It's just five stories & the restaurants are on the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wetravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed so many of the things Chattanooga offers. Chattanooga is a great walking /biking city with so much to do.
We hope to see you again soon!
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
There are newer reviews for The Chattanoogan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here recently for 5 days for a business trip for my husband. As others have posted, this is not the most convenient location to the main downtown area, near the river. It is walking distance though, and there is a free shuttle that will take you down and back. It's a lovely property. All the food we had there was very good. I used the exercise room every day, and it had plenty to do and was clean and well tended. There's a nice private place to sit outside just outside the spa and indoor pool area. The guest rooms were well appointed, large, and comfortable. The beds were not the most comfortable really, but not terrible either. Housekeeping, restaurant, front desk, all staff really, were exceptionally attentive and polite. That is the main thing we noticed about the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mswm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do hope you return for a future visit and then you will find a new park across from our entrance with walking trails, sculptures and fitness options. Thank you for choosing The Chattanoogan and for providing your feedback, we look forward to your return.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Not as close to downtown amenities as several other hotels but beautiful hotel and the lobby is out of this world. Hotel restaurants were nice and the bar had a great blues band playing. Spa was nice and very relaxing. Pool was nice too. Hotel room was pretty average. Shower did not drain well. Only real problem we had. Very nice classy hotel overall.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wonderwall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. The Foundry is a great spot to listen to music on the weekends and relax.
We look forward to your return visit.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a fantastic hotel! My husband and I have only glowing things to say about the Chattanoogan--it was very upscale and chic, the staff was wonderful, the food in the restaurant was outstanding, our room was great and our bed was so comfortable. Sunday brunch was the best brunch I have ever had. What more could you want? We will definately come back again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debs2190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you and your husband had a wonderful visit. I will be sharing your comments with our staff; they will be happy to read that you were pleased.
We look forward to your return visit.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My son, husband and I stayed in this hotel while visiting a local school. The hotel is nice with all the traditional amenities. Like most downtown hotels parking and other items are not provided free. We experienced a very long fire drill or false alarm while visiting but that was the only downside.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emjai1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for choosing The Chattanoogan and for providing your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that a fire alarm disrupted your stay.
We hope to see you again .

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel mainly serves as a convention hotel. We stayed during a quiet time. The have a firepit in the courtyard for evening drinks. Very romantic The room was upscale and very comfortable. Valet service was in the back in a park setting. All valets were very helpful with directions and assistance. Oversize rocking chairs in the lobby make for a cozy feel. The breakfast buffet was excellent with made to order waffles, eggs, and omelets. Everything was fresh and the waiters kept juice and coffee filled. We plan to make this our go-to hotel when staying in Chattanooga. Its a free shuttle ride, 1 mile, from the Tennessee Aquarium and downtown restaurant area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to be your Go-To hotel in Chattanooga. The area around our hotel is always changing and on your next visit you will find the new “Main Terrain” park directly across from the hotel. The new park features a walking path with haiku poems inspiring you along the walk, along with art throughout the park that doubles as fitness equipment. The park opens in January 2013 so come back to visit and see the new addition to our neighborhood.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Chattanoogan was an unexpected surprise. The facility is as good if not better than many so-called top of the line hotels I've stayed in in DC or NYC. Staff was extremely friendly. A maintenance man asked me in the elevator how my stay was, and stated "...just c'mon back..." anytime.

Room Tip: the room I stayed in was well appointed, and I didn't have the opportunity to see any others. So...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ranger505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and write such a wonderful review. Our entire Chattanoogan team looks forward to when you “just c’mon back” for another visit!

Thank you and we look forward to your return.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#36 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
976 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $152 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing