We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little night visitors”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 9, 2012

When I booked the room I was assured that there was a nice spa (there was) and that it was a well rated hotel (it was, for a business hotel), and that there would be no bed bugs (there were), though I must note that the manager stripped the room and there were none the second night, but we were offered no discount or other compensation.
The "wonderful" restaurant was a buffet, the bar was boring and the bartender was surly and looked like he did NOT like his job. We had breakfast the first morning and it was a buffet. We do not like cafeterias and avoid them so we ordered from the menu. The waiter went to the buffet and grabbed my bacon from the greasy, stuck together bin.
We will not be back. We really enjoyed the town, the Hunter museum, the aquarium, and the local food, but we will look for a smaller more service oriented place next time.

Room Tip: If you are going for business it is a great place, otherwise stay at a smaller, more personal place,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rcanaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We at The Chattanoogan take this type of complaint very seriously. The Director of Facilities, Executive housekeeper and Hotel Manager all personally inspected your room after your first night and found no trace of bed bugs. Our hotel has a regular pest control program in place and we have never had an issue with bed bugs in the past.
I remember personally speaking to you during your stay and I am sorry we did not have the chance to turn your visit here into a better experience.
It is my hope that you see fit to give us a second chance to win your valuable business back.
Sincerely, Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Chattanoogan for an overnight, so didn't have a chance to use all the amenities. The service was great - the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The decor was elegant. They have an indoor pool, but it's pretty small, but has a great location on the roof! The kids loved it. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were pretty roomy! Will stay there again next time we're in Chattanooga!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leiedtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for the nice comments regarding your stay .I have shared your comments along to our staff!
We look forward to your return to The Chattanoogan.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My stay was only for one night and after reading the mixed reviews, I didn't know what to expect, but after checking out, I can honestly say that I haven't a single complaint, other than perhaps the nominal charge for self parking, which I'll get to later.

The hotel is easy to locate and isn't far from the interstate. As others pointed out, finding drive-up entrance is a little tricky, but just turn onto 13th street and then turn into the courtyard parking area, which is behind the hotel, when considering its actual street address.

The room was terrific and comfortable. It looked just as it did on the best pictures on the hotel's own website. The flat screen television was quite large, the Internet connection was fast and free, the room had a comfortable yet hip vibe, the bathroom was quite roomy, the towels were big and plush, the beds were great and the pillows (a kind of memory foam) were the best I've ever slept on -- to the point that I'll probably contact the hotel to find out what brand they are.

The bell hops and valet parking attendants at the door were very friendly and the front desk staff was professional and accommodating. They asked if I needed any help selecting a restaurant and when I described the kind of local place I was looking for, they pointed us toward Urban Stack, a hip burger and bourbon joint, that is but a block away and a five minute walk. While the area currently is pretty dead in the evening, new construction and signs of revitalization with new sidewalks and streetlamps, suggest that the area is on the upswing and may be a happening on in the near future.

I didn't use the hotel's restaurant or the pool (which others decried was small), though i did see some families coming back from using it and the kids seemed plenty happy. What I did visit was the hotel bar, which had a live band on weekend nights, something not often seen any longer in hotel lounges. Not only was this a plus, but the band, featuring mostly women, had some talent and was far better than the usual soulless cover band. The bar's decor was unique managing to successfully pull off a concrete floor and minimalist design. While the seating wasn't terribly comfortable, the bar did have a great vibe and while my server wasn't anything special, another male server showed a lot of spunk, often joining his patrons to dance ad he moved to and from tables.

As for the self-parking fee, it's $8.day, which isn't expensive, but doesn't seem worth it given that this hotel isn't in a bustling downtown (and isn't even within what I would consider to be the real downtown area of Chattanooga). At least the Internet was complimentary, which is a big plus for a hotel like this.

Room Tip: Hallways are long, so if there's a problem walking, request one closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We’re touched that your experience at the Chattanoogan inspired such a beautifully articulated write up. We're so glad you found your accommodations comfortable and enjoyed our plush beds and pillows. Feel free to contact me directly at 423-424-3730 if you would like to find out the brand of the pillows that you enjoyed so much.
We are glad you discovered The Foundry as it is a favorite place to relax with our live music every weekend. We do hope your next stay is longer so that you can enjoy our other amenities as well.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, we do hope you come visit us again soon.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We won't stay here again. The rooms were filthy. The chairs had stains. There were little hairs all over the bathroom counter. The mattresses had some springs poking up. There was dust in our room and dust on the lobby tables.
The pool was tiny and only 3 ft and 4 ft deep. It was an indoor pool and hot and steamy feeling. Definitely not a refreshing dip. The food was even worse. The eggs were watery and the pancakes were like rubber. Room service was bad also. We had the Foundry potato chips and they tasted like old grease. The pizza was worse than frozen. One morning we had cereal, juice, and coffee for two people- 35 bucks! The location is not close to the downtown attractions. We did walk but it was a good trek . Usually I can find something positive to say, but not this time!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bigfamily44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

I am very sorry that your stay at The Chattanooga was so disappointing, reading through your review I can understand. We certainly missed delivering on a number of key elements, but thank you for voicing your concerns for we are always striving to improve. I assure you the review was shared with our Director of Food and Beverage as well as our housekeeping managers.

While you may not stay with us again, we hope you will return so that we can display the high standard of hospitality that we pride ourselves in.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The rooms were dirty,the buffet was cold,the room service was slow and cold,the bar manager was rude.The massage was great or as great as it gets in 25 min.Very high priced. The manicure and pedicure was only a few (2) nails trimmed and painted,No soak or wash. Not worth the money....DIRTY...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else pictures here are very misleading
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We work to provide a relaxing, carefree atmosphere for our guests and it is clear after reading your review that your experience with us was not of the caliber we strive for. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience if possible please contact me at 423-424-3730 or lbatchelor@benchmarkmanagement.com
It would be our sincerest pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we may change your impression of our hotel

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We booked a mountain view room. It was a fantastic, massive room with a lovely view of Lookout Mountain in the distance. The hotel facilities were excellent and the food in the restaurant was really good. For the price paid for the rooms it was very good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for staying with us here at the Chattanoogan and for sharing your experience with the readers of tripadvisor.
We look forward to having your return in the near future.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel was very clean, very good location to interstates. Staff was nice and helpful. Only downfall is it is not very close to the river so a lot of the "down-town" attractions are not within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for sharing your compliment regarding the service provided by our staff. We hope to see you back in Chattanooga in the near future.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#41 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
The Westin Chattanooga
The Westin Chattanooga
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
62 reviews
9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $146 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing