We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We won't stay here again. The rooms were filthy. The chairs had stains. There were little hairs all over the bathroom counter. The mattresses had some springs poking up. There was dust in our room and dust on the lobby tables.
The pool was tiny and only 3 ft and 4 ft deep. It was an indoor pool and hot and steamy feeling. Definitely not a refreshing dip. The food was even worse. The eggs were watery and the pancakes were like rubber. Room service was bad also. We had the Foundry potato chips and they tasted like old grease. The pizza was worse than frozen. One morning we had cereal, juice, and coffee for two people- 35 bucks! The location is not close to the downtown attractions. We did walk but it was a good trek . Usually I can find something positive to say, but not this time!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bigfamily44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

I am very sorry that your stay at The Chattanooga was so disappointing, reading through your review I can understand. We certainly missed delivering on a number of key elements, but thank you for voicing your concerns for we are always striving to improve. I assure you the review was shared with our Director of Food and Beverage as well as our housekeeping managers.

While you may not stay with us again, we hope you will return so that we can display the high standard of hospitality that we pride ourselves in.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

The rooms were dirty,the buffet was cold,the room service was slow and cold,the bar manager was rude.The massage was great or as great as it gets in 25 min.Very high priced. The manicure and pedicure was only a few (2) nails trimmed and painted,No soak or wash. Not worth the money....DIRTY...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else pictures here are very misleading
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We work to provide a relaxing, carefree atmosphere for our guests and it is clear after reading your review that your experience with us was not of the caliber we strive for. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience if possible please contact me at 423-424-3730 or lbatchelor@benchmarkmanagement.com
It would be our sincerest pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we may change your impression of our hotel

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We booked a mountain view room. It was a fantastic, massive room with a lovely view of Lookout Mountain in the distance. The hotel facilities were excellent and the food in the restaurant was really good. For the price paid for the rooms it was very good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for staying with us here at the Chattanoogan and for sharing your experience with the readers of tripadvisor.
We look forward to having your return in the near future.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel was very clean, very good location to interstates. Staff was nice and helpful. Only downfall is it is not very close to the river so a lot of the "down-town" attractions are not within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for sharing your compliment regarding the service provided by our staff. We hope to see you back in Chattanooga in the near future.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is full of perks: clean rooms, clean exercise room, spa, pool, restaurants and close food choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happyblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

We appreciate your recent review of our hotel and we are pleased that you had such an enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you back again.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a decent two night stay at that Chattanoogan. We were able to take advantage of a special rate, so our rooms were only $115 a night. I might have been upset if we had paid more. We didn't want to participate in the weekend's music festival which is why we picked this location. It's not terrible but people should note that it's quite a long walk (we had some young children with us and chose to drive) to almost anything you will want to do in Chattanooga. There are also very few restaurants in the area other than those at the hotel.
The rooms were fine. Ours (adjoining) were clean, but we had a minor spill on our sheets and left the card in the middle of the bed asking for them to be changed after the first night. Housekeeping just made the bed (no new sheets). It's a minor issue really, but again, not characteristic of a 4 star property. There was plenty of water pressure in the shower but a cheap faucet so that water goes straight down the drain rather than being diverted to the shower. This was true in both of our bathrooms.
The pool is tiny and very popular (jammed pack with people). The hot tub has warnings about chemicals that can discolor hair. We did not have any problems with this, but after the jets ran for about 10 minutes the whole thing was full of a soapy foam --- not sure what that was, but we made the children get out.
Breakfast was terrible. The food was average but service was abysmal. We (and two other parties of people) stood looking at a near empty dining room for almost 10 minutes without being seated. We were told they were short staffed. Unstaffed is more accurate. We saw our server when we sat down and again one hour later when we paid.
On bright spot was the Foundry -- bar in the lobby. They have music on Friday and Saturday nights. The band was actually very good, the food was fine, and the staff was wonderful. Our children danced for hours.
As another reviewer noted, the hotel needs better signage about parking for check in. It's not very clear where to go if you have not been to the hotel before. There was no concierge. No one offered to help with bags. Flowers in the lobby are fake and dusty.
I might stay again especially at the low rate, but this is not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: The spa (and pool) are on the 2nd floor. If you plan to swim, you may want to request this floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LydiaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. We review each tripadvisor comment and take them very seriously as we are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer. We are upgrading our shower heads this year and know our guests will enjoy them.
Again we thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We hope you will give us a chance in the future to show you how our service has been improved.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I'm still here right now and its been bumpy. Unclear where to park upon arrival during check-in. Elevator broken down. Ice machine broken on 3rd floor. Emergency alarm went off like air raid at 8a with LOUD instructions to vacate rooms via stairways. But no stairways near elevators as expected, and otherclearly adult found. When false alarm was over, staff did not move thru facility to reassure, explain or apologize for very abrupt awakening of guests. Pizza advertised for inroom dining unavailable 3 days in a row now ("we're out of pizza dough crust".). Relatively limited menu. No receipt brought with food service, which is customary need of biz travelers. 18% gratuity and $3 delivery included on bill, but delivery person (both times) visibly expected addl tip. Bed comfortable; sheets nice; room spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Putzyputnams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay . We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. We are sorry you received hotel service that was less-than-satisfactory and regret any inconvenience the alarm may have caused you. I have shared the issues you had with the Executive team so that we can address these issues.
While you may not stay with us again, we hope you will return so that we can display the high standard of hospitality that we pride ourselves in.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,714 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $155 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing