We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The crash pad, an awesome place, even for non-climbers.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My brother and I were in Chattanooga for an extended stay looking at real estate, and stayed primarily in The Crash Pad. What a GREAT choice that ended up being. Both the rooms and bunks are well appointed and comfortable, and everything is immaculately clean. The whole hostel is well thought out, and you feel that when you're staying there.

The hostel is staffed by some really great guys. Dan, Jon, Al and Compton were all really knowledgeable and friendly, just solid people really. Our trip benefited from their help and advice tremendously.

The common areas are also really enjoyable. Everything is well designed for a clean and enjoyable guest experience. Blazing fast wifi? Check. Kitchen you would actually want to use? Check. Cool outdoor hangout space? Check. Walking proximity to dozens of cool restaurants, bars and businesses? Check!

In short, you could probably spend an arm and a leg to stay at a really swank hotel for your Chattanooga trip, and your experience would be hard pressed to match the Crash Pad. This is a great choice for anyone passing through town who wants to be right in the heart of the action, to stay in a super clean and modern space, or who wants access to some friendly and good advice about the city and surrounding attractions. Stay there, and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The "bunks" are really incredible, you can't go wrong, but try to be at the rear of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 133 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night in the private room. The room was plain but very clean. A concrete floor, a bed with linens to be put on, a bedside table, a sink, and a few hooks on the wall. The bathrooms were very clean, only hand soap and towels provided. The staff is very friendly and inquisitive. The atmosphere in the kitchen/computer area is very social and guests hang out with one another in this area and assumedly in the courtyard outside in the warmer months. Definitely stay here if you like to talk and meet new people or if you are into green architecture. I would not recommend this place for couples looking for romance, families with children, or those looking to be pampered. Also don't forget to take soap, shampoo and flip flops for the shower!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank moomoosacow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Not only is this a great place to stay because of the amenities, but it's close enough to walk to where you want or catch the very convenient city transportation. The staff is also 5 star! Dan shipped my cell phone when I forgot it there. I will definately stay again when I pass through!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank espnrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place is the best hostel I have ever seen (and I've stayed in a fair few) ! The whole place is immaculate and the bathrooms look brand new. The dorms are amazing, they have custom made bunk beds and each has its own lamp, fan and curtain to pull across, so you can make yourself a little den almost! Great security, good kitchen area and even a common area to chill in with computers to use. What really made it though was the staff, who were all brilliant and so friendly and helpful. A special shout out to John who came and picked us up and dropped us off at the Megabus stop, and even waited with us until our bus arrived. Thanks John! If I ever get to come back to Chattanooga I wouldn't even bother looking anywhere else!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We shared two lower bunks and had a really nice time. Can't imagine wanting to stay at any other place again. It was like a home away from home in the best of senses. The beds were super comfy, we both slept great. The bread and coffee in the AM were awesome. The fire pit sparked conversation at night. Wifi worked well. Restrooms very clean and i really appreciated the absence of paper towels and napkins in exchange for stacks of folded fresh hand towels everywhere!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank filamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Above and beyond what I expect of hostels. Very clean and very secure, with comfortable beds and adequate storage. Note for solo female travelers -- I did not see any other women during my brief overnight stay, and most of the other guests were young men. I was not uncomfortable, but some would be. The staff is interesting and friendly.

Body wash/shampoo dispensers in the showers would be a much appreciated addition.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amcrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're in Chattanooga and you don't stay here you're making a huge 'life mistake' that should be featured on every fail blog known to man. This place isn't just cool because of their tremendously impressive green rating, or the hostel's dynamic architecture, but the staff provide the best customer service I have ever experienced in my life.
100% free and unlimited internet access with two computers + free wifi in the building for the price point is impossible to get anywhere else. Do yourself a favor and just book your spot now because any other choice would be utter lunacy.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank Josh_P_123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,380 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.1 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#39 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Dwell Hotel
The Dwell Hotel
#27 of 96 in Chattanooga
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel

Address: 29 Johnson St, Southside neighborhood, Chattanooga, TN 37408-1313
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Chattanooga
Price Range: $45 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing