We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome customer service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome customer service”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have to give it up for the folks at The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel. I've stayed in hostels in Australia (where they are really friendly), and Alberta (where they are friendly too).

The guys at The Crash Pad really went out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and welcome. The whole design of the building reflects an outdoors attitude and open concept that is exactly what you hope to find in a hostel. The rooms and washrooms were exceptionally clean and well cared for.

For meals, they provide eggs, cheese, and thick multi-grain bread for you to make your own breakfast as well. It comes with some local made honey that is just delicious.

The owners deserve high marks for customer service. As an example, I left two days ago and forgot a valuable item. I just spoke with John, one of the staff, and they graciously offered to FedEx me the item at no costs.

Seriously, if you are going through Chattanooga, TN, definitely check out The Crash Pad. It's a great hostel with awesome staff.

Room Tip: They have shared beds which are very comfortable, but they also provide private rooms for more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
29
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having just completed a 90 day road trip around the states, it was perhaps a shame that we stayed here first as it set an impossibly high standard for the others to live up to! Everything is so modern, and well thought out, and the cleanliness is second to none.

The hostel is within walking distance of the aquarium, but you can also take one of Chatanooga's free electric shuttles if you prefer.

Al and John provided us with good tips for the area and because of that we extended our stay as there was a lot to do and see. They also have a lovely garden area with a herb patch, and games to play.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My stay was great. The people are so friendly. A very clean and modern place to stay and even the beds were comfortable. In walking distance to a ton of cool little shops, galleries, and restaurants. Perfect place where you don't get the noise or hustle and bustle of town but still very close to many oppertunities.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackenzieps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at The Crash Pad for an art workshop at Chattanooga's Townsend Atelier. I had a private room consisting of bed and sink, and a large picture window looking out on lovely grounds with a brick fire pit, and plenty of outdoor seating. The sleekly styled bathroom was dormitory style down the hall with private showers etc, next to a laundry. The interior is beautifully designed with a Swedish feel to the architecture. The housekeeping is immaculate. The hostel's full and open kitchen afforded space to house one's own food or a variety of provided "shared" foodstuffs like eggs, bananas, bread, or whatever someone had baked that day. Although a 60 something lone female, I found both the staff and the other guests (of all ages really), helpful, friendly and quite polite. Southern hospitality? Because the workshop spent the day time hours, I enjoyed evenings with my lap top computer and an occasional Milk Stout which they sold on premises. My stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanCArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

this place is great !!!! had my sons 16th birthday party in chattanooga we stayed at the crash pad the stay was wonderful we had 12 super bunks 6 guys 6 girls on different floors and it was perfect. you will not find a better place to stay in chattnooga teenagers had a blast !!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jt8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've stayed in a lot of hostels and I have to say, I think this one is the best. The staff are really friendly and helpful, it is in a good location just south of the city centre and near Chattanooga Choo Choo, and the building itself is a funky design and layout. Free wifi, a fully equipped kitchen, fridge, locking storage, comfortable beds. What else could you want? Oh, and it's clean. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Private rooms and 4 bed open dorm spaces are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevilsAdvocate028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at the Crash Pad with a couple of friends after a day of whitewater rafting. This was my first time at a hostel, and I was very impressed. The facility was very clean, and extra amenities such as a guest laundry, computer stations, beer cooler, and outdoor pavilion made us feel like special guests, and the hospitality shown to us by John and Al was commendable. They taught us about LEED certification, and gave us recommendations on local restaurants and nightlife, as well as a great coffee shop the next morning. These guys are very cool, and the price for a super-bunk is ridiculously cheap compared to the hotels in downtown Chattanooga. If you want to try something different, I highly recommend the Crash Pad, and I wish them nothing but success with this unique concept!

Room Tip: Private rooms are available for a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,676 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,256 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel

Property: The Crash Pad: An Uncommon Hostel
Address: 29 Johnson St, Southside neighborhood, Chattanooga, TN 37408-1313
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing