We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed here over New Year's weekend. It is truly a great location and convenient to everything downtown plus free, fast internet service. Once we parked, we didn't have to drive anywhere. It was clean and quiet. We ate at the Big River Grill & Brewing Works which I highly recommend. The staff were very friendly and the food was good. We tried to eat at the Bluewater Grill but noone would wait on us-I don't recommend this restaurant. We enjoyed walking around downtown and felt very safe. I had the best cup of coffee at the Greyfrier coffee shop-they had free WiFi if you're into that sort of thing. We enjoyed a beer at the Hair of the Dog Pub. I have to tell you that we did the Riverboat dinner cruise on New Year's Eve and it was not what I expected. To me, if you look up the word hokey in the dictionary, it would be this cruise. I couldn't wait for it to be over-and they played "Rocky Top" for the last song-OMG. The band was horrible. I could go on and on about what an unusual experience the Riverboat cruise was-if you want a taste of Appalachia then try it. I think that when we go back to Chattanooga, we'll take the kids-it's really more of a family place.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank CNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 808 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2006

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn on October 28 and loved it. All staff members were very friendly, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was tasty. The hotel is in a great location, and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go (Aquarium, Imax, the longest pedestrian bridge). If I visit Chattanooga again, I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JP414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

I spent 4 days with my wife and 4 year old daugher. It was our 10 year anniversary. The hotel was clean and very nice with a good breakfast. Children's Discovery Museum, Aquarium, IMAX, Movie Theater and many restaurants in walking distance of hotel. We use the car only day to see Rock City.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank jjrichlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 2 nights with our children (ages 2 & 6) for a weekend trip. I booked this trip based on the reviews from tripadvisor. Personally, I like to see pictures of hotels prior to booking but could not find a picture of this one, so I snapped a shot for future users.
Hotel was very nice. Staff was exceptional. Breakfast bar was above average... we ordered from the grill both mornings & were very pleased. Hotel is within walking distance to all the attractions & is next door to the Children's Discovery Museum (great place for the kids).
We chose a package deal which included the room plus tickets to the aquarium, IMAX, & Children's Discovery Museum. I had originally chosen a suite but in rebooking did not realize that the room rate for the package did not include a suite, so I was disappointed in the room size upon arriving. Check in was less than smooth because I had been charged the package rate for both nights, although the reservation specialist had assured me that she would annotate my reservation stating that I was to be charged 1 night @ the package rate & my additional night should be the regular rate. Although it did take some time to clear up this issue, the check in staff was very friendly & was constantly thanking me for my patience. I was offered complimentary bottled water & breakfast for everyone (which was already included in my plan).
The day of checkout I received my invoice which still had 2 nights at the package rate ($100+ in excess). I had to go to the front desk yet again to resolve the matter. I ended up receiving the night at a "dispute rate" because the front desk staff said that I was so patient & understanding throughout the process.
Overall, the hotel was very nice & staff was very friendly but I did spend about an hour (or more) clearing up the rate error. I would stay here again but I would book a suite & I wouldn't recommend the package deals (front desk staff stated that it was room rate + cost of tickets, so no real savings).

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Stephd871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

I've stayed here many times. Great rooms, service, area & view! walk to lots of the downtown attractions!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2006

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We found it easily enough with the directions of the website and although it has only a couple of parking spaces directly outside the hotel, there is parking right across the street in a public parking which the hotel has use of, it costs just $5 per day and the hotel will give you a ticket to display in your car.

We had a nice sized room with 2 twin beds – plenty of toileteries and towels. The hotel was in a good location for getting around to places – there is an electric shuttle bus 2 minutes walk away which takes you downtown to the Chattanooga Choo Choo with lots of stops along the way. There were good restaurants within easy walking distance, we were there for 2 nights and both nights ate at Big River which the hotel gave us a discount coupon for the first night. The staff in the hotel were all very helpful and friendly, especially Gina on the front desk. Check in was a little slow, Gina was working on her own and had to deal with telephone calls but she was so friendly we didn’t mind! Our rate included full breakfast and there was plenty to help yourself from and even more friendly staff. Internet access was available in the room using a cable connection but a wireless connection was available in the downstairs lounge.

The hotel had a coin laundry which we used and you could buy detergent from the pantry shop in the hotel although it was a little expensive compared to other laundries I have used in hotels. The washer and dryer both cost $1.75 each and detergent was $3 but it was handy to do. There was also a gym and a swimming pool with a spa. We couldn’t get the spa to work and a staff member came and sorted it out for us and was very cheerful in doing so.

We had a look at the Choo Choo hotel whilst we were visiting the Chattanooga attraction and like some other reviews, I wouldn’t want to stay there. It smelt very musty, the dining room looked old and tired and it just wasn’t attractive at all. I would advise you to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn instead and spend just half an hour of your time visiting the attraction. I would be happy to give you more information if you want to email me.

13  Thank Anji Page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

Wonderful location, nice staff... only bad thing was fire alarm going off at 6am :-)

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmsMomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
976 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $157 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing