We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location in Chattanooga!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2008

My wife and I visited this hotel as part of a Bat Mitzvah / family reunion during the first week of August 2008. Our family booked a block of rooms here. We stayed 3 nights. The room was fabulous, breakfast buffet was yummy, and the location is convenient! Parking is easy as well, although it costs extra. There's also an indoor swimming pool. Possibly most important for August, the hotel and the hotel room were generously air-conditioned to combat the outside humidity and heat. When not out with family and friends, we rested in the comfortable hotel. When we return to Chattanooga, we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gaobest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 822 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2008

My wife and I spent three nights at the HGI downtown Chattanooga while visiting family and sightseeing. You could not ask for a better place in a better location. The room was clean and comfortable, complete with a bed that allows you to adjust firmness (it's hidden under a flap on each side of the king bed, just so you know).

The front desk staff was very helpful whenever we needed help or directions, even sending someone up our first night when we had trouble working the thermostat. (It was our fault, it just takes a few extra seconds for it to kick in). We didn't arrive until 10 p.m., so i was impressed with the level of help available at that hour. The front desk clerk was also helpful when were lost heading to the hotel and had our reservation and key ready when we hit the door.

We did not eat breakfast at the property (it is not included, like it is at Hilton's Hampton properties). But, we did have cocktails at the lobby bar each evening before heading out for dinner and a fun mystery theater dinner which we also recommend. The bar and support staff were very helpful in providing directions, and even recommended a cool, hip place to have breakfast on the way out of town (it's called Aretha Frankensteins, ask them about it)

The business center was very well equipped with two computers, a printer and a copier. I did run into a little difficulty with the printer, but the staff fixed it in a jif.

The pool and whirlpool were also very relaxing after a day of walking around town to the aquarium and other points of interest.

The hotel is at directly at the bottom of the hill from the minor league baseball stadium. The team (the Lookouts) were not in town while we were there, but that could also be an easily accessible option for fun without having to move your car.

The price is slightly higher than other locations, but you are downtown and this is a business hotel, so you get the level of service you pay for.

The next time you need (or want) to be in Chattanooga, you can't do better overall than the HGI downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JBF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We stayed at this hotel from 07/25-07/26. We arrived about an hour before check-in time (not purposely), but our room was not ready. I got the impression that they don't allow early check-ins because I find it hard to believe no rooms were ready only an hour ahead of time. Anyway, we walked around and returned at the check-in time. It was fast and the clerk was friendly. They have cookies on the check-in desk that looked good but I did not try them. Our room was clean and very nice. It has a flat panel TV, mini fridge, and microwave. The shower and bathroom were clean. For those travelling with small children, cribs are available for $10 a night. Their facilities management is excellent. We had to call twice for our remote being broken (first to ask for batteries, then to come exchange it when we realized the batteries weren't the problem). Both times they were there in about 2 minutes. Everyone on the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Their breakfast buffet is on the high side ($10 a person) but they have the BEST waffles (you make them yourself with the batter provided, and they have nuts, chocolate chips, etc for add-ins). There is complementary Starbucks coffee in the mornings. The hotel is a short walk to the aquarium and is next door to the Creative Discovery Museum. Overall, we had an excellent time and would definitely stay here again.

My only complaints: The carpet looked clean, but it was VERY dirty. I have a 14 month old daughter who walks around in her socks all the time and we had to change them 2-3 times a day because they would turn black on the bottom. That's pretty nasty. I dont know if it was just our room or what - but I would imagine they are all like that. Also the parking is poor - there are only about 4-5 spaces available on their actual lot, but there's a paid parking lot about 20 feet away. Parking is $7 a day even though the sign on the lot says $4 a day - so I assume if you were not a guest of the hotel you could park there cheaper! And one other small complaint - the fridge was not cold at all when we first got there. After I put it on the coldest setting, it took several hours to get anywhere near cool. It did a poor job at keeping my daughter's milk cool.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aj0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

My husband and I booked this hotel for an overnight trip to Chattanooga to visit the Tennessee Aquarium and IMAX Theater. Our choice was largely based on reviews from this site, but I can tell you that in my opinion, this hotel should be at the TOP of the list! We were greeted at check-in by a very pleasant and attractive young lady named Carlitta, and she was probably the nicest front desk clerk I have ever encountered at any hotel. She actually seemed like she enjoyed her job - what a concept! Our room was lovely and extremely comfortable. We have stayed at a LOT of hotels, and this was one of the nicest ever. We booked the Rivers of Discovery package, which included our room, tickets to the Aquarium and IMAX, the hotel's fabulous buffet breakfast, AND parking. We thought it was an excellent value, and couldn't have been happier with our choice. At check-in, when I asked about a specific nearby restaurant for dinner, Carlitta even gave us a 10% off coupon for that restaurant. Well, I guess you can tell that we liked the place, and would recommend it VERY HIGHLY for a visit to Chattanooga. It is practically next door to the Aquarium and IMAX, and certainly within walking distance of some great restaurants and the Chattanooga riverfront. If you want to experience Chattanooga and almost everything it is famous for, this is the place you need to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrs1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Have stayed here twice, both times using Hilton points. Solid HGI property. 2-Night stay in a room with two double beds, very comfortable. Large, flat-screen TV. Desk with standard HGI ergonomic chair. Bathroom a bit on the small side. This was a personal trip; mini-vacation over the 4th of July weekend. This hotel is in easy walking range of all of the downtown attractions: Tennessee aquarium, IMAX, Riverboat, restaurants, pedestrian bridge to Coolidge park, etc. Short drive to Lookout-Mountain based attractions (Ruby Falls, Rock City).
Only minor complaint is the parking. Hotel has about 8 spaces, then there is a lot that is also a paid public lot which is for use by guests. I was fortunate enough to always park in one of the hotel spaces, which is right by the door. However, they still hit me up for $7 a day for parking.
Overall a good stay - Really about 4.4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SoutheasternTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

The location was perfect for us. We were able to walk to all of the downtown events and restaurants. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Excellent experience

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tatlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Could not have asked for a better time. Hotel employees were more than eager to please and were very polite. The room was very clean as was the entire hotel. Some of the rooms have balconies so if you are a smoker you can still go outside to smoke. We parked our car on arrival and did not get back in it until we left. You are able to walk anywhere you want to go. Plenty of good places to eat near hotel. Can not wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#24 of 96 in Chattanooga
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $157 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing