We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff sets this place apart!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Coast
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Staff sets this place apart!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

1st time in Chattanooga for my family. Tried to check in early, room unavailable, but Kurt gladly offered to take our take all of our luggage behind the desk while we strolled around the river (to some of his suggestions) until our room was available.

As other reviewers have said, property in nice shape (we loved the patio area for morning coffee and evening cocktails), rooms nice, no complaints. But what sets this place apart from the rest is the staff.

First, I'll say that Danielle the bartender was nice to chat with and provided superb service. But even more of a bright spot... I have NEVER been exposed to a better front desk team than Kurt/Colby/Logan. Each of their personalities are different, and they each offer unique perspectives and services. Combined, they are simply unbelievable. Trust me... I am Hilton Diamond and I've traveled everywhere. These guys rock, you will feel confident and comfortable in their care.

Besides being super friendly, always accommodating, and always interested and pleasantly conversant... they offered directions, opinions on their favorite places to go, provided discounts to local attractions, late check out, heck we even shared an order of Papa Johns with Colby, and he offered a slice of his pizza that we had never tried before. We were so blown away by their actions and their attitudes, not only did we express ourselves to these fine gentlemen, and also submit "catch me at my best" cards for each of them, but we beckoned Kim the Manager to rave about them.

Seriously. As I stated to Kim... I would come back to this hotel JUST for the staff!!! Hope you can keep these folks on staff as they would be great ambassadors for the property for years to come. HGI ought to send them around the country to show other properties what Customer Service is all about. Wow!

In the spirit of continuous improvement, I'd offer only 2 very minor suggestions. The dial-your-firmness beds... booo. Was on softest setting and still too hard for us. Wish HGI would just get rid of them entirely, very gimmicky, not just at your property. And second, our room had moderate smell of cholorine, as it was situated directly above the pool. May want to consider a purifier for these rooms, perhaps?

Outstanding job to the staff, and to Management as well. A+

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverandBlackAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. It feels so good to hear the things you said about the staff. The Hilton is lucky to have such great, caring staff members and I always love to hear guests talking about them. We do not see you as customers but as guests, and there is a big difference. The way the staff treats people makes such a difference in a stay. We make all the difference and it makes me glad to get noticed for it. Thanks for taking the time to tell people about the wonderful staff. Come back soon.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    214
    67
    38
    23
See reviews for
304
210
29
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conover, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice Hotel, rooms clean, beds little hard for my liking, Kids enjoyed indoor pool, breakfast was outstanding each morning-great having cooked to order items, great friendly staff; convenient location to aquarium, ballpark, discovery museum, and restaurants; construction on next block kept free shuttle from stopping close to hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Myron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. Sounds like you had a great time. The pool always makes the trip for the kids (I know it always did for me when I was younger). We have a great staff that is always happy to help. I am sorry you didn't like the bed. Next time try the king bed they have an adjustable firmness so you can make it as soft as you like. The city is set up nicely so that we are at the center, to make it easy to get around and see everything without moving your car. Come again soon.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms and hotel, breakfast staff excellent! The fitness center had a good selection of weights and equipment, but two of the treadmills did not work. The pool had too much chlorine, but given the amount of kids in it - that was probably a good idea. My eyes stung for awhile after leaving the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and staff here. We do have a great hotel and I am glad you came to enjoy it. The breakfast is a good deal and made that much better by the servers there. I love the omelets and blueberry waffles.
Hope you tell all your friends what a nice stay you had. Thanks for your review of us.

Mark Zielke Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Logan at the front desk helped my teenage daughter and I tremendously. We were scheduled to tour the University of Tennessee the next morning. He gave us valuable insite, directions and tips for the town and the university. Joseph in the dining room was very helpful. He gave us breakfast suggestions and helpful hints regarding the local attractions. Based on his recommendation, we visited Look Out Mountain during our stay and enjoyed it immensely! Everyone there made us feel at home! You have an AWESOME team!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Sondra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. The team we have at this hotel is what makes it such a special place. They make all the difference in the stay. Friendly, helpful, and eager to help. I am proud to have such a great team. We all look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Thank you for your kind words.

Mark Zielke Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have never been treated so well at a hotel, large or small! We truly felt welcome and appreciated at this hotel. Every single staff member went out of their way to ensure we had what we needed for our stay. We spent one night with our 6 1/2 year old and 3 month old and will definitely be back when we go through Chattanooga again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi I am Mark Zielke the front desk manger. You are welcome and appreciated at our hotel and I am glad to hear that you were treated as such. This city is great for families, and a wonderful place to stay. I appreciate you kind words and time. Hope to see you soon.

Wishing you and your family a great summer.

Mark Zielke Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had a fabulous stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, Chattanooga. My family went in for a relaxing weekend of fun. We rested well at the HGI. We enjoyed the breakfast and pool while there. Great place for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. We are a great place for families. And a great place for the adult to unwind. The pool gets the kids everytime, and the hot tub is next to the pool so you watch the kids while relaxing. Then just a short jump to the sights, less than 3 blocks gets you where you want to go. Tell your friends and we look forward to your return.

Thanks,

Mark Zielke Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the way back from Atlanta with my sister and two nephews. It was clean, the staff was nice and the location was great! Really close to a lot of attractions and restaurants downtown and was an easy exit for us to head to Rock City/Ruby Falls the next day. I would definitely stay here on my next trip to Chattanooga.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windycityjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I am delighted to hear of your great stay. There is a lot to like about our location and our city. I hope you made it to the river park it is a great way to spend the day here. There is the merri-go-round and next to it ice cream, soda shops, and shopping. We look forward to seeeing you soon.

Thanks,

Mark Zielke Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#27 of 97 in Chattanooga
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing