We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ok HGI”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Best thing about the hotel is location, though, the Courtyard is slightly better situated for the restaurants and parking (in a deck). Pretty amazing what they get per night in this part of downtown compared to other areas of Chattanooga. I paid over $200 which is more than downtown Chicago right now. This HGI has a little different feel to it than others I've stayed in. Starting with the corridors, a funky carpet tile layout adorns the hallways. Lighting is cool fluorescent. That coupled with the dark carpet tile gives it a very uninviting feel as you head to your room. Rooms themselves are standard HGI, though, this one seemed as if it needed a re-freshening. I wasn't crazy about it overall and would look to stay elsewhere for the money next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaveB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for completing a review on our property. We appreciate your feedback very much. I want to personally apologize for your experiences that you had while staying with us. I have great memories of playing in the hotel pool when I was growing up and I hate that we were unable to make a memorable experience for you and your family. I am sharing your response with all members of management and we will be getting these issues corrected. We have now fixed our pool and it is back in full service. Again, I do apologize for this experience. I would like to invite you back to our hotel the next time you are in Chattanooga. I can assure you our hotel will be different the next time you visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    208
    66
    38
    23
See reviews for
301
205
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The good stuff first 1) very close to Discovery Center, Aquarium, IMAX, and other fun Chattanooga attractions. We walked all over downtown. 2) our room was clean. 3) our room was dark with the lights off (hotels generally have way too much ambient light). The bad stuff- 1) the whirlpool was broken and the pool was freezing. We chose this hotel for 2 reasons- the location and the pool/whirlpool. My 7 year old couldn't stay in the pool long because of the temperature and the whirlpool was cold. That meant a lot of restless activity in the room when we should have been working out that energy in the pool. Parents, that means big STRESS, right?! Finally, the male waitstaff in the dining room had deplorable service skills. He spoke to one customer about his ex-wife throughout our breakfast there. The female waitstaff bussed tables, replenished drinks and greeted guests. Even though she wasn't covering our table, I made sure she got our tip.
We've stayed here 3 times total and the first two visits were lovely, but I'm afraid this will be our last. This is just too much money to have so many disappointing events in one stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Camille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. Very impressed with the staff - everywhere you turned someone was asking if everything was OK and to see if you needed anything. Very clean. Pretty lobby and breakfast area. Breakfast is about $10.00/person, but a VERY good value for all that you get, and the convenience of not leaving the property. Great location, within walking distance to restaurants and river front area. Right across street from baseball stadium and walking distance to the aquarium.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBFNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was one of the best trips I've ever had in Chattanooga and I've been visiting every year for 15 years. The people that work here made this trip so much better than the hotel alone ever could. It was our 2nd anniversary and we would had our 11 month old with us. Rebecca upgraded our room to a king whirlpool when I called to request a crib for the baby. Kurt gave us great suggestions for places to eat and was able to provide discounts to many of the local restaurants. The one day we had rain the front desk provided an umbrella for us to use for the day. The room was lovely with the whirlpool and balcony, so relaxing each evening after walking all day. Everything downtown is within walking distance and Lookout Mountain/Ruby Falls are just a short drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmg225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I always can expect excellent customer service, friendly staff, and a quiet clean room. The breakfast is a little expensive at $13.00 a person, unless you get a hand-made custom-ingredient omelet and sample the free cookies and confections that the staff leaves around the lobby to temp you!

Room Tip: The "Center" rooms nearer the elevators have balconies. On the East side you can watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnclTrvlngMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Room and bathroom were very clean. The pool was nice. I had my 7 month old with me and it was good exercise for her after a day of being drug around sightseeing. The staff was super friendly. I wish I would have got one lady's name (she was putting towels at the pool) because she deserves a kudos. Just because of her kindness.
Was disappointed breakfast was not included. But when I went to just grab a coffee & muffin I wasn't charged. Back to the great staff! We only spent 2 nights and hope to go back to Chattanooga. Will probably stay here when we do.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seapup74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown four times now over the last two years (most recently last week in February 2013). It's exactly where we want to be and close to everything. You pay more than staying out a couple of exits from downtown, but it's worth it to be able to just walk back to the hotel after dinner. This hotel is consistently excellent, staff is always friendly -- especially the breakfast crew! It is one of the best hot breakfasts I've had anywhere. Lots to choose from and they'll cook you an omlette just how you like it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtHomeInAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI-ManagerChatt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#29 of 97 in Chattanooga
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing