We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, comfortable, great downtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfortable, great downtown location”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

7/17/12: This is the first time I stayed at this HGI location in Chattanooga, usually stay at the one at Hamilton Place. While the price is a little steep, the location is perfect walking distance to everything in downtown Chattanooga. Parking back behind the HGI is $8 plus tax per night, which they bill to your room. Great places to eat nearby and attractions. The service was first class from check-in to the breakfast wait staff. This HGI does not serve dinner on-site; however, great restaurants nearby. The breakfast is wonderful, cook to order, and pleasant, smiling staff. Fitness room is adequately equiped and nice indoor pool. The business center has a color printer, no charge. Thus, I was able to get some items printed for work. This is the first HGI I've stayed that had a color printer, very nice for business travelers. It was nice to enjoy the evening by walking to a restuarant, then stroll by the river in the summer weather. Plan to return next time in town on business and will stay here with family to enjoy the nearby sites downtown...baseball stadium, TN Aquarium, Discovery Center and the river.

Room Tip: Rooms on street side, facing into downtown, would probably be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RStraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    203
    65
    35
    22
See reviews for
294
195
27
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good room... I wanted to watch the 2012 Home Run Derby on ESPN HD. The guide in the room said it was available. I tuned to the channel and it said the channel was not authorized. I then remembered I was in a typical hotel with an HD tv and an SD channel feed. I remembered why I usually do not turn on the tv when I stay in hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnK995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 2 days being tourists in Chattanooga. The Hotel staff is very friendly. The breakfast is very good. The rooms are exceptionally clean. There were 3 people in our room. They gave us 3 towels, one of which was dingy and stained. They need to replace these desperately. We paid a top rack room rate, and I would expect better. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms have plenty of outlets, important for 2 teens. Our room appears to have been redecorated, with a shower insert in the tiny bathroom, that needs replacing. There are small rust stains, and a crack where the curtain rod meets it. The location is superb. We enjoyed Chattanooga very much, just not the hotel bill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just returned from our 2nd great stay at this hotel. My husband is a triathlete and we have stayed here the past two years for the Chattanooga Riverfront Triathlon. It is in a wonderful location for this event, you are 2 blocks from the transition area/finish line. Also you are 2 block to the wonderful aquarium and 1 block to the IMAX. As others have said the Children's Discovery Museum is right next door. There are lots of restaurants in this area and it is very family friendly and safe for walking around. You will need to get in the car to visit the Lookout Mountain attractions but they are very close by (and definitely worth seeing!).

Customer service at this hotel is great - everyone from the desk, maids and waitress were helpful and friendly. The lobby is inviting and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the restaurant. My son enjoyed making his own chocolate chip waffle and I had a veggie omellette made to order. Coffee and hot water/selection of teas are always available in the lobby, and there are complimentary cookies in the afternoons. There is also a little cocktail lounge off the lobby with 3 or 4 big flatscreen tvs. Also, there is a tiny little "convenience store" next to the desk where you can buy snacks, drinks, pain reliever, and even microwave meals. There is an indoor pool - we did not use it but walked by it several times on the way to the elevators and there were always families there enjying it.

Our room was very clean and cool (it was triple digits outside). Nice size bathroom in perfect working order and a little area with mini fridge, mini microwave and small coffee maker. Nice flatscreen tv, decent size closet and drawer space, and an iron/board.

Chattanooga is a wonderful city to visit with your children, and the HGI is a great place to stay. Our two favorite restaurants we always return to are the Blue Plate and Easy Bistro - both right next to the aquarium.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the HiltonGarden Inn Downtown while visiting my daughter. Requested and received a room upgrade as well as late checkout with ease. The desk staff was courteous and willing to help.
Wireless internet and parking were included in the room price, two perks I always check for. Coffee was available in the lobby.
The only negative was that the air conditioner was a bit noisy even though it was housed in its own closet.
We were able to walk to our choice of bars, restaurants and dessert (Rita's Ices-yum). We even took in a movie at the theater around the block.The Children's Museum was next door and the Aquarium walkably close. Don't miss the Aquarium.
I would stay here again and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I requested a courtesy upgrade and got a room with a balcony which we enjoyed in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Customer service was great, room was clean, front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Assistant manager also very helpful. This is how a hotel should be run ... I know a lot of other chains that could take a page out of the Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown book. Great location. Actually, everyone we encountered in Chattanooga were nice and polite.

Room Tip: When there are baseball games, some rooms have a view of the after-game fireworks. Might not be a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellzbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing