We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
York, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard/Marriott in downtown Chattanooga so very much! It was very clean and seems to have been recently remodeled. It is conveniently located in the middle of all things fun. Being directly across the street from the Tennessee Aquarium was what brought me to the Courtyard while planning our vacation. But as we made our plans, I realized how close it was to the Riverboat Dinner Cruise we were going on and the Chattanooga Lookouts Baseball Stadium. Since it looked like rain most of the week, I also looked for a theater...2 blocks away! So, needless to say, we parked the car and never moved it the entire time. It was an easy walk to every attraction. We even walked back across the street for a sandwich and nap in between the aquarium buildings. Our room was great with a river view and a little balcony to watch the fireworks. Although the rain cancelled most Fourth of July fireworks shows, the baseball stadium had a short but wonderful display. We had a great time in Chattanooga and our hotel was the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temps_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Temps_79,

It is unfortunate to hear that the weather wasn't cooperative while you were staying with us, but I am pleased to hear you still found a way to enjoy your stay! I hope to see you for another weekend with better weather so you can get the full experience of Downtown Chattanooga!

At Your Service,

Leah Johnston
Operations Manager
423.755.0871
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    167
    69
    14
    13
See reviews for
127
110
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We took an overnight visit to Chattanooga a few weeks ago staying at the Courtyard by Marriott in the downtown area. The hotel is conveniently located to all the major attractions including the Aquarium, the minor league baseball stadium and the riverfront. The staff was very professional and courteous and when we asked for a restaurant recommendation the young man at the front desk gave us a great one. Room was well appointed and a good size, no complaints at all. Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfNut1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear GolfNut10,

It is gratifying for me to hear your compliments of our hotel as well as the staff! There are many great restaurants in Downtown Chattanooga and I hope you are able to come back to our hotel and try some of them!

At Your Service,

Leah Johnston
Operations Manager
423.755.0871
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I coordinated a small family reunion and chose the Downtown Courtyard Marriott. It couldn't have gone any smoother; from the group reservations (Taylor Ward) to the front desk, to every staff employee we met, everyone was polite & helpful. The Bistro (restaurant) staff were great. Even when slammed with a crowd, they always had a positive attitude.
I was most impressed with Michael the Operations Mgr. He went out of his way to help us by suggesting local restaurants, making the reservations for us personally and even giving us a meeting room at the last minute without charge so we could all eat pizza together the first night.

The rooms were very nice & clean with very comfortable beds. Nice indoor pool. Nice outdoor courtyard with gas fire pit just adjacent to the lobby / lounge area (which had a small bar that opened at 6:00pm). Great atmosphere! Even had a couple of guests (one being 15 years old from Memphis) playing accoustic guitars a couple of nights....nice.

Overall the hotel was as close to perfect as you can get. It's walking distance to just about everything downtown (TN Aquarium, IMAX, restaurants, etc.)

Room Tip: Many rooms have a fold out couch for the little ones....just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeGMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear DeeGMemphis,

We really appreciate you choosing our hotel to host your family reunion! I am also very pleased to know that everyone of our staff was friendly throughout your entire stay and I will be glad to pass your kind words to the rest of our team. When you are ready to coordinate another family reunion we will be glad to accomodate everything you need!

With Thanks,

Leah Johnston
Operations Manager
423.755.0871
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We needed a hotel in downtown Chattanooga that was close to the aquarium. A short walk to the Aquarium, children's museum and many restaurants. While the hotel itself was a bit outdated we never spent anytime in the room due to the great location. The new courtyard layout on the first floor suited our family well and we were able to grab a coffee and muffin before heading out. With the storms that came in at night the in door pool was perfect to keep the kids entertained. We will be staying at this property again. Parking was a bit difficult due to the construction but once it is completed I don't see any issues in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Tony W,

It's is great to know that our hotel was able to accomodate you and your family! Unforunately the construction behind the hotel is making the parking a bit more difficult, but hopefully all of the local attractions and restaurants you and your family attended were within walking distance! We hope to see you at the Downtown Chattanooga Courtyard again and hopefully there will be no rain or construction!

At Your Service,

Leah Johnston
Operations Manager
423.755.0871
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a single night here as a quick getaway from Atlanta. Great location 1 block from the riverfront with some good (touristy) restaurants nearby. Valet parking would be a nice addition, as the deck is a pain. Next time we'll upgrade to the river view.

Room Tip: If the Lookouts are in town, spring for the riverfront room so that you can see the post game firewo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjboyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear sjboyden,

I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the riverfront and the restaurants that are near our hotel! I am sorry to hear you had trouble with our parking garage, we try our best to make it as easy and convenient as possible for our guests! Hopefully you will get the opportunity to take another getaway from Atlanta and spend a weekend with us at the Downtown Chattanooga Courtyard!

At Your Service,

Leah Johnston
Operations Manager
423.755.0871
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel is in a fantastic location in downtown Chattanooga- in walking distance to many great restaurants and local attractions. Very friendly staff. Room was in pristine condition. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zkdtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear zkdtrvlr,

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property! Our staff takes great pride in their work and it's great to hear they were friendly throughout your stay. Hopefully you will be able to take time out of your schedule to come back to our property and enjoy another great experience in Downtown Chattanooga. We hope to see you soon!

At Your Service,

Leah Johnston
Operations Manager
423.755.0871
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

If you're sightseeing in downtown/riverfront Chattanooga this is a great place to stay. The aquarium, river, ballpark and restaurants are all right there.I've been there twice on weekends and its been fine.
If I we're traveling on business I might avoid this site, but only because the downtown location is touristy (i.e. noisier) and having to park in the garage next door is a wee pain.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CULatorGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear CULatorGator,

It's great to hear that you have enjoyed our property enough to return for multiple visits! Virtually all of the local attractions and restaurants are within walking distance of our hotel and I hope you have had enough time to enjoy them all! We hope to see you again soon!

At Your Service,

Leah Johnston
Operations Manager
423.755.0871
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 200 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#26 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott
Chattanooga Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing