We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chattanooga Double Decker

Chattanooga Double Decker
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.21*
and up
Chattanooga Double Decker Bus Tour
Ranked #14 of 29 Tours in Chattanooga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Chattanooga Double Decker is the most scenic and historic tour in Chattanooga! No one covers more history and scenery than we do. Don't be fooled, the best view of the city isn't from the bottom of the river but from the highly elevated bridges we will cross for a total of 4 times. Whether its Lookouts stadium, the Brabson home, underground Chattanooga, The Tivoli Theater, the Chattanooga Choo Choo hotel, Warehouse Row, Bessie Smith Museum Bluff View Art District or Coolidge Park, we cover more territory and history in 1 hour than any other tour group from an authentic 1960s open top Double Decker bus.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
179 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Took my husband on a "date night" after our first week living in Chattanooga. Thought we'd kill two birds with one stone and enjoy the night and see sites in the city. We both thoroughly enjoyed the tour and was kept entertained with stories and facts about Chattanooga. Rufus is very knowledgeable and dresses his part. Would recommend the tour for anyone and everyone visiting or living here, it's well worth the time.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank YorkForrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    13
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Alabama
1 review
“The Chattanooga Doubledecker is a Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

My sister and I took a tour on the Chattanooga Doubledecker last weekend. We had a blast! The information we learned about Chattanooga was very interesting and the tour guide, Rufus, was very entertaining.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We did the ghost tour. It was a unique thing to do, but I probably wouldnt do it again. We just moved here from Charleston, SC which is another historic city and the ghost tours there were a little better. The announcer was very enthusiastic, it would be a fun thing to do with kids. It was also a nice way to view the city.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hollywood5922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Entertaining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Wow, the Chattanooga Double Decker tour is an in depth fun tour of Chattanooga. Our guide, Rufus, did an awesome job explaining Chattanooga's history with a sense of humor. He was also able to provide great recommendations for restaurants. My wife and I took the evening sunset tour on our second day in Chattanooga, but I wish we would have taken the tour our first day.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
“Great and Fun Tour without Damaging the Wallet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband and I took the "Sunset Tour" on the Double Decker bus tour in Chatanooga yesterday and had a great time! The hour long ride took us through the city and the guide pointed out several unique structures and architecture while telling the story behind its start and how it relates to some of our American History. Most Chattanooga tours focus only on Civil War history. This tour was refreshingly different: while the guide did touch on Chattanooga's place in The Civil War, he also provided interesting tidbts about the American Revolution, Industrialization in the South, and the progress that Chattanooga has made over the last 40 years to become a very clean and friendly city. And the views of the river from the four bridges were spectacular, especially from the open top of the bus as the sun was setting behind Lookout and Racoon Mountains. The guide also did a great job explaining the history behind Chattanooga based businesses that have gone nation-wide and famous people from the area. And at the end of the tour, you get a free Moonpie and Double Cola, two Chattanooga icons. We look forward to heading back and taking the Ghost Tour next Halloween.
A very informative, fun and budget-friendly experience!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AliT2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chattanooga Double Decker also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga Double Decker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing