We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Comfortable Clean Hotel just off the Thruway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #46 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Purdue, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Clean Hotel just off the Thruway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

My family and I stayed at this Holiday Inn on our way back home from a Florida winter vacation. It was a very nice stay. The room was large, comfortable, and clean. It had a refrigerator. The hotel was quiet, and they had large comfy beds with plush pillows, which made for a good night sleep.

They did not have a jacuzzi, but the pool was large and the water was kept very warm. The fitness room was open 24 hours, they really know how to accommodate their guests!

The breakfast was really nice, they have a lot of variety but everyone seemed to like their signature cinnamon rolls. Good thing they had a lot of all the foods. They did not rush their customers. The breakfast was supposed to be over at 9, but since people were still coming in they left everything up and were still stocking the breakfast bar when I left a little after 9. They were customer oriented.

Since this is a Holiday Inn Express, they do not have a restaurant on the premises. We arrived in the early evening and needed to get dinner for the family, but the lack of a restaurant was not a problem at all. There were many different restaurants surrounding this hotel, so the kids had their choice of foods. Overall, it was a very nice hotel; a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank typomonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    68
    33
    21
    10
See reviews for
103
49
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Mich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

The service upon check in was efficient. The staff member was friendly. The room was clean as well as the bathroom. The building is well maintained. The location is convenient as it is right off of I 75. The only suggestion I have is that the billboard sign is too close to the exit. I was in the far left lane and had to cut across all lanes of traffic to exit. The vending machines were well stocked.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Music City, TN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

This is one of the cleaniest hotels I have ever stayed in. I am normally a fan of Hampton Inns (still am) but this hotel not only had all the amenities, but it was very very clean. From the entrance, the dining area for breakfast, to the hallways and rooms, this hotel is well-maintained and the staff is very friendly. There is no doubt I will return to this hotel when I need to stay in Chattanooga.
East Ridge is not one of the better cities around Chattanooga, but this hotel is so close to downtown Chattanooga it is worth the extra ten minute drive from downtown.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HealthyBallance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

The desk staff very cordial and friendly. Room clean and comfortable. The Breakfast was nice and hot. We had bacon, sausage,biscuits and gravy, egg and cheese omelets (that were not bad for microwave),fresh fruit, cereals,oatmeal,and donuts, bagels and toast. Nice variety, For an overnight stay, it was quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momaurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We slept in room 315. It was clean, nice to have the micro and fridge. Everyone was nice. The lady at the breakfast bar was so friendly and was the hardest working person I ever seen at a hotel breakfast. Nothing was aloud to run empty. Plenty of everything. I do agree the only think missing is Hot Chocolate. Could be an easy fix.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4kidsdrivingmecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We've stayed at this hotel MANY times due to family in the area. It is a decent hotel but it desparately needs a face lift and new mattresses. The beds are very uncomfortable, the place is getting quite run down and the breakfast is just scary (the hardboiled eggs had hair on them last trip - yuck). They put alot of energy into asking people to log onto this site and rate them. Need to put more energy in fixing the place up and having more staff on hand. Oh, and it's not a business center, it's a closet.
I'm glad we don't have to go back.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank user99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrodsburg, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

The King Suite was spacious and clean. We slept very well in the comfortable King bed. The complimentary breakfast was very good. All the cold things were very cold and the hot things very hot and fresh. The nice lady who runs the breakfast service works very hard to keep it so.
The cookies, fresh daily in the lobby, were a nice touch. This hotel is in a convenient location and easy to get to with many restaurants down the street. Our only complaint was the desk clerk activated our keys for one night instead of the two we stayed, a minor inconvenience. We'd definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBHarrodsburg_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chattanooga
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chattanooga South/East Ridge
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chattanooga - East Ridge
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga / Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arbour Inn & Suites
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 1441 N Smith St, Chattanooga, TN 37412-3957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Chattanooga offers the best in service and Southern Hospitality, with convenient access off the Interstate 75 at Exit # 1. You are just minutes away from Chattanooga's business and industrial area and centrally located for a visit to area attractions and shopping including Lookout Mountain, Ruby Falls, Rock City, Incline Railway, Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, Imax Theater, Chattanooga Choo Choo, Lake Winnepesaukah Amusement Park, Hamilton Place Mall and Warehouse Row Outlet Mall. Enjoy the complimentary Deluxe Express Start continental breakfast bar in our spacious Great Room while catching up on news from around the world on CNN and around the country with the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. All our rooms are equipped with free high speed internet access, or use our 24-hour business center to stay caught up on your work while on the road. Also, local calls are free to all guests. Trying to relax? Enjoy our year round indoor heated pool. If it's a good workout that you are looking for, all guests have access to our on-site fitness room. For that special occasion we also offer hot tub suites. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Ridge looks forward to your next visit to our area. Make the smart choice, Stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in East Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing