We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for travelors with discriminating tastes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Ponte Vedra Beach
1 review
“Not for travelors with discriminating tastes”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

If you are a traveler who is used to hotels with impeccable cleanliness or if you possess refined taste, this hotel will probably not meet your expectations. It seems as though Holiday Inn Express has redone the exterior of all their hotels without also redoing the interior. The photos that you see online are models. That is not how your room will look.

We booked several rooms for a graduation. The hotel’s furniture is pretty worn and the carpet could stand a good cleaning. The television was archaic. The bathrooms also need some attention, as there are rust stains and chips in the bathtubs. The hotel only has one elevator, and since it is steps away from the pool, the floor was wet. There is not a lot of parking, but that didn’t seem to be an issue. The beds are low quality, springy, bouncy and very uncomfortable. Beware if you have a bad back!

I will say that the free hot breakfast in the morning was very nice and the front desk staff was polite. They do have free wireless internet and cable in the rooms. I never saw any rodents. Although no one was at the front desk when I went to check out, when they were there, the staff was genuinely nice.

Room Tip: To avoid noise, ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    74
    39
    24
    13
See reviews for
117
59
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central City, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This was a very nice stay! Very nice people here, great breakfast in the mornings and room was clean and staff friendly!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOMKNOWSBEST3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXER, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear MOMKNOWSBEST3

Thank You So Much !!! Hope To See You Again Soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I let the hotel know that we would be arriving late in the night which the young lady said was fine. After driving 8 hours, we arrived around 3 a.m. surprised to find no one in sight. My husband walked around the lobby calling out to someone for over 20 minutes. He even picked up the phone in the lobby to call the desk with no response. During this I stayed in the car with our 4 yr old who was sleeping. I called the hotel customer service line got a very nice lady on the phone( who also was trying to call the clerk on the phone) so i was put on hold. During all of this, my husband continued to yell for someone and a man came from the small room to the right of the desk and appeared to have been asleep. My husband asked him if he had had a nice nap and his reply was "im sorry man" We finally got into our room around 3:30. The next morning I went down to the front desk and the yound lady working appologized for what had happened and reduced our rate( which we were very thankful for). I know it was not her fault. However, it was sad that we had to deal with trying to find a clerk for over 20 minutes while our baby was asleep in the car in the parking lot in the middle of the night! If you stay here just try to arrive during regular business hours. Other than that the hotel was very nice and the breakfast was great!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lthompson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXER, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear lthompson85
Thank you for your review. I want to apologizes first off for you having to deal with this that kind of behaver is not acceptable here and will not be allowed. We have replaced the Desk Clerk that was working that night. We are here to serve our guest and I am sorry that we dropped the ball on that one. I will assure you that this will never happen again. I was happy to hear that the desk clerk on the day shift took care of you. Last but not least please anytime your in town give us another chance to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2011

My reservation had gotten lost. The hotel clerk (Sandy) was extremely helpful and apologetic for the confusion. Great customer service. Nice clean room, great beds and WONDERFUL hot breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXER, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear PJWP
Thank you for the review and sorry for all the mix up. I was happy to hear that Sandy took care of you. Hope to see you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights here while visiting Rocky City Gardens on the other side of the city. We chose this hotel to avoid rush hour traffic the morning we left as we were heading east. Sandy welcomed us warmly at reception and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. We loved our room with king bed, sofa and desk and large bathroom. We enjoyed a swim in the pool with other visitors we met there who had requested the water temperature be turned up a bit, and it was, to our delight too. Breakfast was plentiful and replenished as necessary by the helpful kitchen attendant. Getting off and on the Interstate was easy. Management takes care of guests here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank findthemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXER, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear findthemusic,
I wanted to say thank you very much for your review. We try very hard to make everyones stay the same as yours. By the way i see your screen name is find the music there is a music festal here in Chattanooga that you might like it is called Riverbend you might want to look into that it is something that allot of people come to see. Most of all thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2011

As a Platinum PriorityClub member, I stay at a lot of HI Express locations. This is a very nice updated hotel. Location is very convenient and not next to interstate so not noisy. Service was super. We arrived late and when I mentioned that the cookies were gone, Brittany made us some fresh ones! Breakfast offers a good variety of choices.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjv30068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXER, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear mjv30068

I want to thank you for your review. I was glad to hear that Brittany took good care of you that is something we try to do here. We want to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. the next time your in town please come by and say hi.
Thank you
Wesley Harper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Hotel looks fairly new, upscale lobby and entrance. Front office staff very friendly, and attentive to my needs. Wifi was apparently out, but free Internet was accessed through ethernet cables supplied by the front desk. Room clean, with microwave and small fridge, well maintained, and smelled good. Small but useable desk and office chair. Stayed on second floor with no room issues. Two small free bottles of water were included. My collegues stayed at the Fairfield Inn around the corner, and were not happy with their room conditions ("dump" was the word used). Overall a great value, and great staff (Sandy). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wescor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXER, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear wescor1,
I am the General Manager here at the hotel and wanted to thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
Wesley Harper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chattanooga
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chattanooga South/East Ridge
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn - Hamilton Place
Holiday Inn - Hamilton Place
#44 of 97 in Chattanooga
246 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga at Hamilton Place Mall
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arbour Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 1441 N Smith St, Chattanooga, TN 37412-3957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Chattanooga offers the best in service and Southern Hospitality, with convenient access off the Interstate 75 at Exit # 1. You are just minutes away from Chattanooga's business and industrial area and centrally located for a visit to area attractions and shopping including Lookout Mountain, Ruby Falls, Rock City, Incline Railway, Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, Imax Theater, Chattanooga Choo Choo, Lake Winnepesaukah Amusement Park, Hamilton Place Mall and Warehouse Row Outlet Mall. Enjoy the complimentary Deluxe Express Start continental breakfast bar in our spacious Great Room while catching up on news from around the world on CNN and around the country with the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. All our rooms are equipped with free high speed internet access, or use our 24-hour business center to stay caught up on your work while on the road. Also, local calls are free to all guests. Trying to relax? Enjoy our year round indoor heated pool. If it's a good workout that you are looking for, all guests have access to our on-site fitness room. For that special occasion we also offer hot tub suites. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Ridge looks forward to your next visit to our area. Make the smart choice, Stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in East Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing