We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, reasonably priced BBQ”

HillbillyWilly's BBQ
Ranked #3 of 54 Quick Bites in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Folks have compared our barbecue to other styles but no other barbecue compares to our taste! Maybe it's the unique design of our smoker that brings out the natural flavor of our "fall off the bone" meat. Maybe it's our homemade sauce that makes you forget your table manners because its so finger-licken-good! Maybe it's because our pork is all hand pulled so you only receive the best selected meat from our cuts. Maybe it's the made from scratch delicious, decadent, southern desserts! Maybe you should just try it for yourself and see what everyone is talking about! When you order just tell 'em to make-er-saucy!"
Restaurant details
Description: Folks have compared our barbecue to other styles but no other barbecue compares to our taste! Maybe it's the unique design of our smoker that brings out the natural flavor of our "fall off the bone" meat. Maybe it's our homemade sauce that makes you forget your table manners because its so finger-licken-good! Maybe it's because our pork is all hand pulled so you only receive the best selected meat from our cuts. Maybe it's the made from scratch delicious, decadent, southern desserts! Maybe you should just try it for yourself and see what everyone is talking about! When you order just tell 'em to make-er-saucy!"
Reviewed April 18, 2019

We stopped at Hillbilly Willy's on our way from Connecticut to Gulf Shores, Alabama. We did an internet search for a BBQ restaurant that was close to the highway and we found this place. I had a pulled pork plate with macaroni and cheese and a baked sweet potato as my 2 sides, with my daughter having the same. My husband had a pulled pork sandwich with a double side of baked beans. The meat was great and we were offered a choice of mild or spicy BBQ sauce. My husband and daughter chose the spicy and they enjoyed it very much . The meat was tender and flavorful. The macaroni and cheese was like my mom's homemade mac and cheese. We had bananna pudding for dessert. The serving was huge and it was delicious. I highly recommend this place!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbillyWillys, Owner at HillbillyWilly's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Oh yay!!!!! KH68!!!!!! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your 1st visit with us so much!!! Thank you so much for stopping in to give us a try and for taking the time to write this amazing review, we greatly appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 405 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2019

Best Ribs I have had in a very long time.St. Louis Style ribs I would say. They don't smother them with sauce so you really taste the smokey BBQ taste. All on the sides were really good too. The restaurant itslf is nothing special looks wise but still a pleasant environment. If you want a libation of any kind you can visit the liquor store next store and bring it in.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Lou2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbillyWillys, Owner at HillbillyWilly's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Lou2215 thank you soooo much for this wonderful review and for eating with us! We greatly appreciate your support, hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

I had the barbeque pork sandwich and fried okra. It was very good. The tea was also good. It is always a good sign when so many local come in and many did. They were lined up almost to the door.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbillyWillys, Owner at HillbillyWilly's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Cathy, thank you so much for stopping in to try us out and for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience! We greatly appreciate your support! We hope you’ll come see us again and please tell your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

Decided to try some local BBQ for dinner during a stay near Lookout Mountain. After a quick look at G****e comments and all the great statements this place sounded perfect. Visited early on a Saturday evening and the wait to order at the counter was over 15 minutes.
You order and pay at the counter and your food is delivered to your table.
Our order (2 people) was delivered after a couple of larger groups behind us came out.
My roast beef was very dry and not enough sauce came with it. When one of the people delivering orders finally stopped to ask how everything was, I asked for more BBQ sauce, it arrived 8 minutes later. The side dishes were good.
Many of the reviews stated that there is so much food on your plate that you cannot eat it all. I had no problem eating the portion served and actually expected more.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank nitewalk6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbillyWillys, Owner at HillbillyWilly's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Oh no nitewalk6 this is heartbreaking!!!! How awful for you to have left feeling disappointed!!!! This is definitely not the reaction of our guests and this is just not the Hillbilly way. Did you happen to speak with one of the owners or managers about allowing us to make this right for you before you left the restraunt? (All three would have been there on a Saturday) if not please come by again and let us try to change your mind! We have off days just like anyone else, and would be heartbroken for your one and only experience with us to be anything less than absolute satisfactory! Thank you for your honest feedback, we will communicate with our team and use your feedback to continue to give our customers an amazing experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019 via mobile

Great place to eat. Very friendly service. Always checking to see if you need anything. The food is great . Easy on and off of the highway. They also have gluten free options

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank 400kathleenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbillyWillys, Owner at HillbillyWilly's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Kathleen, we are so thrilled you enjoyed your meal with us! Thank you so much for your support and for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with others! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HillbillyWilly's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to HillbillyWilly's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing