We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had 509 and it was a very large room with a very large balcony. One evening after the baseball game we could watch the fireworks from our balcony and it was beautiful. The breakfast was as expected in a Hampton Inn with the normal quick fix food. They have a complimentary beverage bar but it only offers Coffee and for someone who does not drink coffee, they offered nothing. The first evening we checked in the fire alarm kept going off and on until we departed at 5:30. By the time we returned at 9:00 that problem had been fixed. They only have two elevators for the six floors of this hotel. Ne elevator was out f order for two days so we had to take the stairs often.

Room Tip: Get room 509 if you like balconies
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smead1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great hotel with WONDERFUL services. My husband and I got a room at the Hampton Inn during the RiverBend Festival as well as several other couples . We LOVED being able to walk right to the venue from the hotel. Before going down to Riverbend , we sat by the pool and talked with our friends who were coming in from out of town. It was such a nice setting. The pool area with couches is such a nice touch. Someone from the front desk even came out to turn down the fire stations since it was SO HOT outside, The hotel was very busy as you can imagine during this big headliner night at the Festival, but all ran very smoothly from check in to check out. I would also like to thank your Sales Manager Lori Jenkins, she did an outstanding job. Also a thanks to the maintenance guy, he was working on the elevators and he helped hold them for us more than once!As always the Hampton's beds are superb! We always get a great nights sleep! And as always the hotel is always very clean and we enjoy the nice setting at breakfast in the morning! Great Stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is hands down the best Hampton Inn I have ever visited. The staff was welcoming, helpful, & friendly. We stayed during Riverbend Festival, so they were very busy, but kept everything running like a well-oiled machine. The kids LOVED the pool. It's a little smaller than it appears in the pictures. However, the fountains & waterfall kept about 1/2 the kids playing around the pool (rather than in it) so the ones who were actually in the pool had room to swim. The pool area is large with lots of seating, so even with a full house; there was always somewhere to sit. The location is perfect. The Creative Discovery Museum is right across the street, and everything in downtown Chattanooga is an easy walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a corner studio suite if available. They are huge! Lots of space for the money.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbbarr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites while visiting beautiful Chattanooga. We hope you will visit us soon and we appreciate your kind words and positive feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Everything about this place was nice--the staff, the accommodations, even the pictures in the elevators and next to each hotel room door. Walking distance to the Aquarium and several local eateries was also a plus. Stay here on your next trip to Chattanooga!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Wendell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff was wonderful. After a very bad experience the night before at another hotel I walked into the Hampton at about 11 am looking for a room. Not only did they offer me what I wanted they offered me early check in and they gave me a great rate based on my bad experience at a different hotel. Mind you the other hotel has absolutely no affiliation with Hampton. That is customer service! Clean and modern rooms. The location was wonderful. Parked the car and didn't need it again until we were ready to go home. Everything is within walking distance. If I had to have a complaint it would only be that with most of their rooms being booked there was not nearly enough room to enjoy the breakfast. As a matter of fact my husband and I left and went somewhere else for breakfast. With the crowd there was not only a lack of space for seating the buffet area was crammed and unorganized. In spite of that though I would definitely stay there again and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Major construction going on in a lot nearby. Choose a room on the street side and use the great soun...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. It is clean, modern, great location, and the service is outstanding.
We were able to upgrade to a king suite with a balcony and could sit on the balcony and watch the fireworks from the bridge. It is very centrally located near the aquarium, baseball stadium, restaurants and downtown sites. We did not move our car the entire time we stayed there. There is a shuttle stop a couple of blocks and you can ride the free shuttle anywhere in Chattanooga.

We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone. We will stay there again while in Chattanooga.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are just above the pool, patio area and are a little noisy until after 10:00. They wou...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllisandhaydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location is fantastic! Park your car and walk to restaurants, attractions, and shops. The hotel is very comfortable, and the breakfast's are delicious, but the best thing about this hotel is the wonderful staff. Everyone always has a smile on their face and you can tell they truly love what they do and where they work! They say that attitudes are contagious, theirs were definitely worth catching!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites while visiting beautiful Chattanooga. We hope you will visit us soon and we appreciate your kind words and positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Address: 400 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $155 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing