We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was ok. The staff was friendly, the location great, and the breakfast underwhelming, but convenient. We stayed 2 nights and our room was never cleaned. It does have an outdoor pool and a free cookie when you check-in :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide constructive criticism of our hotel. I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay as we strive to provide the best experience in town. Your room should have been cleaned as we clean our rooms daily, and for that I sincerely apologize. Please let me know when you will return to the area and we will be happy to "make it right" for you. You may reach me at patty.martinez@hilton.com. Thank you again for your kind words and honest account of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Third time at this hotel. Great front desk staff, very friendly. Clean room, lobby, pool. The only problem is that parking is limited, there don't seem to be enough spaces for the capacity. However, they took our parking charge off the bill when we had to park at a meter one night, without any question, and they were very friendly about it. It was the last day, so we only had to pay a couple dollars at the meter, but if we were there all day it could have been an issue. That is the only "complaint" I have about this hotel...it is great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing us time and time again. I am sorry you experienced parking issues during your stay as occupancy levels are very high during this time of year. We appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Chattanooga and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed over the very soggy Fourth of July weekend. The location is pretty good ... across the street from the Discovery Museum ... 2 blocks from Lookouts field ... 3 blocks from Tennessee aquarium and maybe a ~15 minute drive from Lookout mountain activities.

The location was good and the included breakfast is above average for a 2.5 star hotel.

This hotel is certainly a good base for exploring Chattanooga. Our room was a basic concrete box ... nothing exciting. Hotel parking is tight and they charge 8 clams/day. I must have missed that when booking thru expedia and was a little surprised on checkout. But everywhere you look in downtown Chattanooga there is pay parking so I guess I shouldn't have been surprised.

It was kind of a bummer that the pool wasn't heated. In the soggy weekend, the kids would have enjoyed the option of spending some time in the pool but it was too cold and drove them out in ~10 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaPeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We appreciate your candid feeback regarding your July 4th weekend experience. The weather was miserable and a heated pool would have made it more comfortable. Unfortunately our pool heater broke down prior to your visit and prevented us from heating the pool properly. I apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will be able to visit our hotel in the near future and allow us the opportunity to "make it right" for you. Please contact me at patty.martinez@hilton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We live right outside Chattanooga but decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Hampton during the Riverbend Festival. It was indeed a treat! The rooms are very fresh and modern, with extremely comfortable beds. We were able to check into our rooms early, a nice surprise on a crowded weekend. The pool area is a relaxing oasis, with a waterfall and indoor and outdoor areas. It's tucked away and private- I've driven by the hotel many times and never new the pool was there. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our stay special. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37363KTemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a favorable review of our hotel! We appreciate your kind words and positive comments. It seems as though you were impressed and I thank you for choosing our hotel above all others in Chattanooga. We look forward to your return trip and we thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Chattanooga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I have always enjoyed my time in Chattanooga. The people are very warm and make you feel welcome. This is my third time here and I still have no complaints. Clean room and wonderful staff. I will return when in the area. Hopefully my next trip will allow me more time to soak in the local scenery

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are so happy to hear you continue to enjoy everything Chattanooga has to offer and our hotel is no exception! Please do visit us again and we will be happy to continue to provide friendly service and a clean product. Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Chattanooga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I was told by an aquarium employee that this hotel is only 1 year old and is the only hotel in the downtown area to offer breakfast. The hotel is extremely modern and clean!! Great location for any downtown activity. Only 2 complaints are that the pool is smaller and not heated. Unless the sun is out, it is freezing. Secondly, we were awakened Friday night by a huge fireworks display from the ball field. That is not the hotel's fault, though. Definitely worth the stay!! I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentuckyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as it helps us to improve the overall operation. Our pool heater was down due to a malfunction prior to your arrival and as such it compromised the temperature of the pool, specifically during rainy and cooler weather. Please let us know when you will be returning to our hotel so we can "make it right" for you. Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Chattanooga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed only one night at the Hampton Inn on June 24, 2013, but hope to stay there again soon. The hotel is in an excellent location downtown; the lobby is clean and well decorated, as was my room; the staff was very helpful and friendly. Best of all, the bed was SO comfortable! Wish I could have brought it home.

Breakfast was good with many choices, and the breakfast area was pleasant. The staff at breakfast, like the rest of the Hampton staff, was very friendly and helpful.

Parking is easy and right at the hotel so there's not much of a walk, and for a downtown area, it's reasonably priced.

Room Tip: My room, 526, was on the back of the hotel but offered a good view of the city. I requested a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watso43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel. We strive to provide the best customer service in town and it seems as though we exceeded your expectation! We are so pleased to learn your experience was top-notch and we hope you will visit us real soon. Thank you for choosing us above all others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,419 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Address: 400 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $138 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing