We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Knoxville, United States
1 review
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very nice hotel in an excellent location. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Pool area was extremely nice. Really enjoyed my stay. I would definately recommend this hotel to others and I am very picky about where I stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    227
    48
    13
    4
See reviews for
446
253
15
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Travel to Chattanooga once a year and have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in the past but decided to stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites. Great location for walking to local restaurants and river front. This will be my place for future stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODSTOCK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is a bit more expensive than your typical Hampton Inn and I do believe the parking charge is a somewhat chippy, but it's downtown and truly a nice place to stay. It is especially nice after a long day on the road and you can walk to some nice restaurants downtown instead of getting back into the car and driving around. The room we had, 2 queen beds, was much bigger inside than I expected. There was a separate living room like area from the beds and was very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. A very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

as other writers have said this place is a little more expensive but it is worth it. the reception staff were exceptionally helpful and courteous. it was a very pleasant stay in a great location. they have a super pool area for chilling out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We came to see a show, my husband, Brother and I. Our nephew was in a play and I promised to be there. I booked a room for 2 and at the last minute my brother decided to join us from Atlanta. When I called to change the accommodations, the staff was very helpful. Al though there were no rooms available she assured me our current reservation would hold a roll a way. And it did! We were comfortable, except for the A/C. It was difficult to regulate the room at night. The unit would come on if we were moving around the room, but when we were still, i.e. asleep or watching TV, it would get stuffy. Turning down the air 1 degree made it run until manually turned off. The front desk was very helpful and friendly during our stay. The maid service seemed understaffed because our room was not approached to be cleaned until after 4 pm and we were in the room preparing for the evening so the room was not cleaned that night. Breakfast Bar had a good variety and the coffee was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for a quick overnight spring break trip. You will pay more than at other Chattanooga hotels, but for us, it was more than worth it. We have 3 kids, so a typical room with 2 double beds doesn't work well for us. The suite that we got had two doubles, plus the sofa bed - perfect for our family of 5.

We went to the aquarium before our room was ready, but they let us park in the lot anyway (note there is a charge, but you'd have to pay anyway, and they have a bunch of spaces) so we could walk over. The kids loved the heated indoor/outdoor pool. It is a small pool, but it wasn't too crowded when we were there. My wife and I loved the courtyard area by the pool. Very nice, especially the fireplace.

The breakfast is typical Hampton - great. Hot foods, cold foods, and a lot of variety. It's wonderful. And a large space to eat in. We asked for - and got - a late check out of 1:00 pm, so the kids could enjoy the pool more. Then we walked to the Children's Discovery Museum which is literally across the street. Again, we were able to leave our van in their parking lot.

It was a splurge for the room, but my wife and kids (who hadn't seen the hotel before we got there) were surprised and impressed. And the staff were great too; very accommodating. If we return to Chattanooga, my children have told me we have to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Five4FightingTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hampton Inn is on the lower end of the Hilton family, but you would never guess from this property. It is exceptionally nice. It is modern, with a beautiful lobby and breakfast area. There is a heated, swim-through indoor/outdoor pool that my kids swam in in January. We have stayed there several times and always get one of the corner balcony suites. It is right downtown within walking distance to the aquarium.

Room Tip: Corner balcony suites are huge. They aren't really in the "corner", but are rounded an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSAX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Address: 400 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing