We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southport
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here on several occasions and all stays have been great. My husband is a diamond member in Hilton rewards and on the last stay we were upgraded to a suite complete with balcony. Breakfast is good and what we have come to expect from Hampton. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Location is great for all downtown activities - walking distance to everything. We are returning this weekend and will probably book it weekly as my husband has business there most weeks. Recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravellerSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga! We are so appreciative of your comments regarding your hotel experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    268
    59
    15
    5
See reviews for
556
307
20
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hotel is a great value. We were upgraded to a suite which was large and comfortable. Unfortunately someone on the 2nd floor was smoking and when I brought this to the attention of the front desk they promptly sprayed air freshener to cover the odor. Non-smoking signs are hard to find in both the lobby and the rooms.

This location is within walking distance to most everything our family did during our stay.
The staff was super accommodating by letting us leave our car in the parking lot after check out so we could use the lobby as "home base" until we left the city later that evening.

If/when we return we would stay at this Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are so happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Chattanooga. We understand there are many lodging choices and we appreciate you choosing us above all others. We hope to host you in the near future and we thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great time at this Hampton Inn. We stayed in a corner room, which was very spacious for our 2 teenaged kids and 5-year-old (2 double beds plus a fold-out couch). The pool was clean, and it was heated so the kids got in even when the outside temps were low. My husband and I spent time around the outdoor gas fireplace while they swam. The location of this Hampton Inn is great for restaurants, aquarium, and other attractions. Just across the street is a bike rental rack (pay with plastic to release bikes). My husband and teens biked across the TN River on the pedestrian/bike bridge. Breakfast at the hotel had lots of options. Everything was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large. We were on the traffic side, but it didn't bother us. Loved the big ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga . . . . we love having you here! We are so happy your family had a great time in Chattanooga, taking advantage of the outdoor activities and beautiful weather! We are so thankful you chose our location while visiting as we know you have many lodging choices in the downtown Chattanooga area. We hope to see you in the near future and we thank you for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, fl
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay here in March and the General Manager Patty Martinez is a 5 star employee. We really appreciated her hospitality. This hotel met all of needs and was an excellent choice for our short visit to Chatanooga. Tacomac was a good restaurant and a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLCHICK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your kind words and generosity. Working with such a wonderful and efficient team helps to provide an exemplary experience. If I am an excellent general manager it is only because I have the best operations and guest services team in the world! Thanks so much and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceprano, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a fabulous stay here. The location is terrific, close to the acquarium and all the sites around the riverfront area are within easy walking distance. I agree with the comparison to a boutique hotel, with the modern, chic decor and the comfort of the rooms. High end comforts in the room included very soft linens, an extremely comfortable bed and an extra large shower. There was a managers reception in the evening with beverages and snacks and breakfast included a wide selection of hot and cold choices. Everything is far above the average Hampton or any other standard chain. Rates are higher than many Hamptons, but it is worth the splurge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kek17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga! We are so appreciative of your comments regarding your hotel experience, especially our weekly manager reception offering an opportunity to get to know our guests a little better. We appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this Hampton Inn. The lobby has an open and modern feel, parking is convenient (although $8 per day), breakfast was standard, but good. Our king room was spacious and quiet. The downtown location is close to everything (across the street from the Discovery Museum and a few blocks from the aquarium). As a runner, I appreciated the proximity of the Tennessee Riverpark Path. I did an 8 mile run (4 out and 4 back) and the path kept going. This Hampton was the best of any we've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodtopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words and positive review. Chattanooga is the Scenic City and as such we cater to runners such as yourself. We are so happy to learn you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, especially the running paths. Please do visit us in the near future and thanks again for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites . . . we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel to the business or casual traveler. Great location, very secure parking, good breakfast, and easy in and out access to hotel. I rate it a 10 as compared to other Hampton Inns I have stayed in across the US.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review. We are so appreciative of your comments, and more importantly, your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites. Thanks again for choosing us and for sharing your positive feedback . . . we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Address: 400 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing