We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Westport
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently spent one day/night in Chattanooga and wanted to be downtown. The Hampton was a great location and a very comfortable stay. The modern look and feel of the lobby and rooms was different that the "standard" Hampton offering - and we liked it! The location is perfect - many restaurants and bars within a few blocks. Also, close to the riverwalks! A great city and a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassy77Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga . . . . we love having you here! We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and we truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. There is so much to do in downtown Chattanooga as it is a great "scenic" city! We are so thankful you chose our specific Hampton Inn & Suites location as we know you have many lodging choices in the downtown Chattanooga area. We hope to see you in the near future and we thank you for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    278
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
583
317
21
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I only stayed here for one night but it was a nice one. It was quiet, the AC was cool, and the furnishings were perfect. The breakfast in the morning was just right. Paying $8 to park was tough but expected for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busch56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga! We are so appreciative of your comments regarding our your hotel experience. Our goal is to ensure our guests are completely satisfied. We strive to please all guests and provide the best customer service in town. Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your hotel experience. We appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Let me preface by saying that I am a hotel snob. My husband and I were going to Chattanooga to do some trail running on Signal Mountain and booked this hotel for the convenience. That said, I was impressed. This was my first stay at a Hampton Inn and I was weary. This hotel felt new and clean. We had a suite on the 6th floor with a balcony. The location is perfect for downtown Chattanooga. We walked to dinner and coffee. It's also conveniently located just off of the interstate. The only reason that I gave it 3 stars instead of 4 was that the service was very average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JChaff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga! We truly value your feedback, specifically with respect to the overall impression of the hotel given your experience as a seasoned traveler. We are so appreciative of your comments and we understand you have many lodging options in Chattanooga. We appreciate you taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your hotel experience as it helps to improve the overall operation. I apologize the service received was subpar as we strive to provide an exemplary customer service experience to ensure our guests feel the Hamptonality at every opportunity! Please come back and visit us . . . we guarantee you will love staying here! We feel fortunate to know we are the first Hampton Inn location you have experienced and we hope we have set the benchmark for future experiences. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay at if you want walking access to downtown Chattanooga. We stayed here one night so we could walk around downtown with our friends and go out clubbing. The place is very nice inside and out. We had a suite with a balcony that overlooked Blue Cross and it is right across the street from Creative Discovery Museum and walking distance from Aquarium, restaurants, etc.

Parking is not great since it is downtown. I think they have a garage you can park in, but I was not the one parking the car so not sure. Employees were nice. We stayed in a king bed suite and it was very roomy and nice. Had a mini fridge and counter area, desk area, fold out couch, big comfy bed, vanity area and roomy bathroom. Would stay here again. The price is a little much but for one night or to stay right downtown to be able to walk to everything, that is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga . . . . we love having you here! We appreciate your feedback, especially There is so much to do in downtown We are so thankful you chose our location while visiting as we know you have many lodging choices in the downtown Chattanooga area. We hope to see you in the near future and we thank you for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The swimming pool is terrific! Salt water, several fountains to entertain your kid, a big relaxation waterfall and it's even indoor/outdoor. It is a heated which makes all the difference to us. Totally first class setup. The breakfast is really well done. Honestly, the best waffles I have ever had! We had the standard room which was perfect for us. Clean and nice TV! We recommend getting an even number room to avoid traffic noises outside if you have someone that sleeps light. Overall, great hotel, fairly new, clean, good value and perfect location!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga . . . we love having you here. Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback regarding our hotel. Our breakfast buffet features an array of choices, from yogurts, to eggs, bacon, biscuits, and yes, even our delicious waffles. We appreciate you taking the time to provide invaluable feedback on your hotel experience. We thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a great visit to historic Chattanooga over the weekend with 2 young children. This hotel is beautiful, and clean. Service is excellent. The kids LOVE the pool which is an indoor/outdoor with fountains and a waterfall. Breakfast had something for everyone. The location can't be beat. Walking distance to all the downtown attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga! We are so appreciative of your comments regarding our overall service as we aim to please and provide the best customer service in town. Thank you for taking the time to provide invaluable feedback on your hotel experience. We appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I'm a review reader so i was pleased with this place alot. MWe met up with some friends of ours here in downtown Chattanooga for a mini get away on labor day weekend and stayed here. We are very pleased so far with our stay here, we're on our 3rd day of 4. Hotel is beautiful. It seems busy, but not too busy and we've haven't had any problems so far. As for the rate, it was a little high for our budget, but compared to the others which are only a couple blocks away closer to the river it's better of them, cuz with the price you pay, you get an awesome breakfast bar in the mornings and the others don't give you that. . It's the best breakfast bar I've ever had. Their set up is excellent with a island away from the other items for the waffle making, so no one has to take up space to work the waffle iron. Great design, especially when the kids want to do it themselves.
Beds were comfortable, room service was great, great work out area, rooms are nice and roomy, air worked great, Hotel was nice and clean, it's seems to be a newer hotel.
Pool area is really nice but small, so if the hotel is packed so is the pool. Nice area surrounding the patio for eating breakfast or bringing something back for lunch/dinner. Has 2 fire places, one that is being worked on, other is nice to sit in front of. Yes in 80/90 degree weather we had the fire going, it helped u to dry off. There's a trick to the fireplace, it has a flip switch on its outer wall right side to turn on. The employees don't do it for u, the fire goes for 15-20 mins, shuts down then back on after 15-20 mins. When you flip the switch it takes 2-3 mins to come on at first. It's really a nice added touch to the sitting area.
Parking is $8, it has handicap in the front on both sides of parking entrances, I read a previous review about not enough parking spaces, but I don't think this person realized, there was a left entrance (the area u pull u to park & register) & a right entrance into the parking area, if u don't pay attention u will think the same as he did, both are right next to each other divided with w brick wall.
There is also a stair well, from the back side of the parking garage to exit to the next street over to some great restaurants and to enter from the Restaraunt side it's next to the shop with all the moon pies.
Around the corner is a great restaurant/deli called "Sweet Peppers", we got a carry out, food was really good & their dessert is excellent, especially the carrot cake. I
We would high recommend this hotel for those who wants to be close to downtown, and pay the prices their offer. Cost was a little pricey to me, that's why I gave 4 on price, and one othe thing there is no hot tub, which would have been really nice, but the fire place was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyCakeBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga! We are so appreciative of your comments regarding every aspect of your hotel stay as it helps future guests form a favorable opinion of our hotel. We agree hot tubs would be a plus however our pool area is a cut above the rest and by far the most popular feature of the hotel, next to our corner suites with a fabulous view of our beautiful city. Thank you for taking the time to provide invaluable feedback on your hotel experience. We appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Address: 400 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing