We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, beer and good food. What else could you want?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Champy's

Champy's
Ranked #10 of 826 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fun, beer and good food. What else could you want?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I don't eat fried chicken often, for fear of turning into a much larger person. But this was worth falling off the wagon for. Very hot, very crispy, leaves you wanting more. I am also a devotee of a good southern pork & beans recipe, and I think they have just about the best I ever tasted.

This is super casual - paper plates and paper towels. Service was very friendly and attentive. Come as you are and come hungry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slovaktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    205
    47
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
200 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Sucker for Fried Chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Yes, I am a sucker for fried chicken and order it quite frequently. The problem is a lot of restaurants do not know how to properly fry it. It is either too greasy, too dry, or pink next to the bone. (Trust me you do not want to eat under-cooked chicken.)
Well, Champy's is none of those. It is simply delicious. I have eaten there at least 8 times over the last several months with consistent "deliciousness." Crispy, moist, and "finger likin good" ( The Colonel's chicken does not hold a candle to Champy's.) The restaurant is nothing fancy but very comfortable for couples and families with kids. Their outdoor dining room is probably larger than their inside space. (The outside seating area is right on the street and enclosed with heavy plastic clear walls and heated.) You hear a lot of road noise but as far as I am concerned it just adds to the ambience. Service was good for that type of establishment and prices maybe a bit high. BUT they are always crowded if that tells you anything.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My daughter has attended UTC and lives within easy walking distance, so when I'm in Chattanooga, we meet here quite a bit. As she's now a senior, I've probably eaten here 8-10 times at least. The fried chicken is very good, as are the chicken salad dishes. I can highly recommend Champy's as their food is very good. I like the casual atmosphere. The price may be a little higher than I'd expect for the serving size or type of dish, but not enough to keep me away. My younger kids are pretty picky, but they have always enjoyed and will agree to eat here often, so this fact alone makes it pretty good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
520 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Very Good Food...Good Service...Average Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Two of us had the 3-piece fried chicken dark meat plates. It was served with slaw, beans, and a piece of bread under the chicken. The food was very good, though after sitting under the chicken, the bread was inedible. The price for common tea and sodas was high at $2.50 each. We were offered only a single refill. The atmosphere is nice. The service was good, although not too friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Went here for the first time and it was great. Chicken was soo good and I loved their homemade mash potatoes. Can't wait to go again

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champy's also viewed

 
 

Been to Champy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing