We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of our favorite places in Chattanooga”
Review of Champy's

Champy's
Ranked #9 of 833 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“one of our favorite places in Chattanooga”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

a relaxed atmosphere and great fried chicken....what more can you ask for....a little off the beaten path....not alot of tourist....this is where the locals go....we go about once a month....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nukum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    208
    47
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First time!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We didn't order the pitcher of beer that we were supposed to, but the chicken and sides were excellent. We had heard about Champy's, but were concerned about dining in this area of Chattanooga. Seemed safe enough, so we'll be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonChattanooga_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love, love, love this place!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Best fried chicken in town, and only place you'll find real Mississippi Delta hot tamales for miles. We've introduced lots of family and friends to Champy's and no one's ever been disappointed. Great fried pickles, awesome music and cold beer make every visit fun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mookster1338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eat here.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes, the chicken is good but order the tamales too. Yes, I said tamales. Very, very good. Well, that is all I needed to say about this place but tripadvisor said I have to write a minimum of one hundred characters.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ready to Eat Crispy Fries - you won't leave hungry”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very busy on Friday evenings, but more approachable on Sunday afternoons - great outside seating in a unique Southern setting. Nothing fancy, but if cold beer and fried chicken is your regular fill, you will get that to your satisfaction. Excellent crispiness, juicy chicken (I tried all parts - dark meat is also great), and if you're extra hungry, fried jalapenos will be the superior appetizer. No complaints!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TKTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champy's also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to Champy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing