We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and coffee”
Review of City Cafe Diner

City Cafe Diner
Ranked #36 of 837 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and coffee”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I usually add sugar to my coffee, but theirs was so good I didn't need to. The pancakes and bacon were excellent. The server was attentive and friendly. Nice atmosphere, but booths need recovering.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MobileALFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    108
    33
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge Portions at Great Prices”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I love this place! We visited the City Cafe Diner twice during our four-day vacation. The prices, food, and service is wonderful. Be sure to save room for dessert!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1inamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Absolutely The Most Menu Selections In The Area”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Just off of I-75 at the corner of Bonnie Oaks Drive and Lee Highway in Chattanooga, TN sits City Cafe Diner offering excellent food from American, Greek, Mexican, and Italian favorites. And, it's always delicious, served from a friendly staff.
If you're there on the weekend you have to try the Seafood Bisque to start your meal and finish with a dessert from the largest selection in town.
There's not another place in town like it !
And, the Cafe is opened 24 hours.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunny214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, VA.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best deal in the whole town”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We lucked into this wonderful diner by staying at the Days Inn. The manager Gary Haworth saw to our every need and reminded us of the discount you get by staying at the Days Inn. The food portions are gigantic and the quality absolutely terrific. We ate there at least seven times and were never disappointed with anything. These folks personify southern hospitality and are absolutely great. It was a real pleasure lucking into this wonderful diner. Thanks Gary !!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kulahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“So good we went there twice in 24 hours.!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We were in town for the 3 state 3 mountain bike ride, staying down the block. We went for dinner and had the best food. Lots of good food, good service, and great atmosphere.
It's a diner, so lot's of characters coming in and out. Great for people watching.
I had a grilled chicken sandwich and husband had a gyros platter, both were delicious and so much food we could hardly eat it all. I had the good luck to be facing the video screen showing all their delicious desserts. As a self confessed icing addict.... I had to try some of the desserts, they are huge.. think two cakes topped on one another, two cheesecakes on top of each other.. you get the idea, they have a professional pastry chef that only works for them making their dessert. It showed, they are works of art and eyes rolling to back of the head at memory of cheesecake... better than S-E-X. We asked if they had any plans to come to nashville .. they do! I can't wait. This is ONE GREAT PLACE TO EAT. GO Right now, I mean it!!! It was so good we went back the next morning for breakfast, serious huge omelets, and yummy pancakes. I wish they would ship those desserts... mmmm! : )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rufflanding21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Cafe Diner also viewed

 

Been to City Cafe Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing