We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Savory and Delectable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Public House

Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 822 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Dedicated stop on the free electric shuttle.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Savory and Delectable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Enjoyed delicious small plates and vino at the restaurant bar (The Social). Our party enjoyed scallops with mushrooms, shrimp and grits, sliders with fries and beets and beets with goat cheese. Food presented beautifully and it was delicious. Next time I'll order a full entrée as I ended up ordering a second small plate. Great date night venue.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    167
    29
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Saw this on Tripadvisor and made it a must. Great service, great food. I had the Fried Chicken, my husband had grilled Pork Loin. But the stand out f the show was the Mashed Potatoes with a reduction sauce. The reduction sauce was a request since they have no gravy, it was the highlight of my meal! I would go back just for that. We ended with Carrot Cake and it was awesome! We will definitely be back when we're in Chattanooga.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Good Eclectic With Some Southern Favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This would have earned a "five" rating if I thought it had broader appeal. For instance, my wife found the Caesar Salad kind of funky and after talking with the owner I think she wasn't used to getting anchovy in "Caesar" salads from most places. She didn't like the seared Vidalia onions because they left strings in her teeth. So decide if those sorts of things bother you, or if you like some adventurous flavors, because this place has adventurous flavors. Also pimento cheese, fried pickles, and fried chicken. Everything we wanted for two came to $66. I would go again if we lived here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch. Fried chicken, beets with goat cheese, creamy grits, and homemade cheddar muffin. It hit the spot. All for only $8.50 - worth every penny.

Helpful?
1 Thank Suetooyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not just a tourist city but a must put stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Food was superb, surreal, and homemade. Not your normal menu but if your mind could elaborate to your stomach and a menu of food would come out this is the Resturant to visit. Top notch on service and quality of food. They did not stereotype my wife and I and everything was worth every penny.

Helpful?
1 Thank Weemanisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public House also viewed

 

Been to Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing