We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chattanooga Staple”

The Terminal Brewhouse
Ranked #16 of 836 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: The Terminal BrewHouse is a locally owned and operated business; as such we go to great lengths and expense to utilize local products and services whenever available. It is our goal to be a contributing member of our neighborhood and city for years to come. In order to achieve this goal we have instituted many green practices and initiatives. That being said, the Kitchen and BrewHouse are the heart and soul of what we do and why we are here. Only the freshest foods and finest hops make it into The Terminal and our passion is that only world-class beer and exceptional food make it to your table. We sincerely thank you for coming and promise this is as serious as we will ever get. Cheers, The Terminal BrewHouse Gang
TN
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Chattanooga Staple”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I equate eating at the Terminal Brewhouse with going to a local pub; they have a wide variety of brews and the food has that gastropub flair as well. At our table, we had the Philospher's burger (lamb), short ribs, and a "normal" hamburger, all of which were absolutely delicious. During this last visit, we went on a Friday after work and the place was packed. Usually, we have no issues, but this time the kitchen got one of our orders wrong, and our server forgot to bring one of us our drink. Perhaps that's because both our waiter and the kitchen were slammed, but once the food arrived, everything was enjoyable. The FIFA World Cup was on, so the atmosphere was very spirited and relaxed. As an out-of-towner myself, I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for the native Chattanooga experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mombogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    552
    140
    51
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Manager made the effort to correct lousy service”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

On a Saturday night in mid-June, we waited more than 90 minutes to be seated, while empty tables were in plain view. Seems 2 big parties slammed the staff and they feared letting folks sit and wait would be worse than letting them stand and wait. The manager made a point to apologize and even comped a plate of tasty appetizers to offset the collective dismay of our party of four. He listened patiently and respectfully to our constructive criticism and seemed appreciative of the chance to interact. He is the only reason that we didn't rate the overall experience as "poor". The food is average,though not worth a 90-minute wait. The bar staff was quite simply R-U-D-E. As others have noted, the entire restaurant, not just the bar/waiting area, is NOISY! If we return to Chattanooga, we might try this place again to see what improvements have been made as the Manager seemed genuinely intent on correcting the customer service lapses we experienced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eB0LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local Chattanooga Gem”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

In town on vacation and decided to visit. This place was highly recommended by several friends. Excellent selection of beer and an interesting menu. Example -Lamb burger(Philosopher) and Short Rib Sandwich and the list goes on. Definetly something for even the pickiest eater. Excellent service! Fast, professional and informative. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank gaorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tasty, but place is crowded and VERY noisy”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

First mistake: Arrived 6pm on Saturday night. Was told wait was only 30 minutes, but then using the app which tells you how long your wait has been, and an estimated seat time, we noticed it said we had waited 17 of 40 minutes. So I suspect the greeter gave us overly optimistic wait time (on purpose; he gave a longer time to people who came just before us). It was very crowded and extremely noisy inside, even without any music blasting. Our ears were ringing when we got home - really.

The food was delicious, service was very good. I got the beer sampler, but was given different glasses than most. Mine were sort of shaped like mini brandy glasses - and I did not think they would hold as much as the other more cylindrical style I saw being used. I was told they held the same, but if so, it's one of the great optical illusions. I remain skeptical.

Their dessert choices were very limited; the few they had would normally be topped with ice cream, I think, but we were informed they ran out of their homemade ice cream already. Our server told us they had a number of non-industrial makers which burn up with some regularity, limiting their output. For a place as busy and successful as this one, I do not understand why they would not just invest in an industrial-strength machine - or at least partner with some local ice cream place to give them a back-up supply so they could sell more desserts. Strange.

The beer was quite good. Green beans were bland, according to my spouse. The philosopher's burger and the steak medallions tasted very good, but we felt the meats were quite underdone. We ordered them to be done medium, and what came out was more raw than what medium rare used to be when we were young 25 years ago. Yes, the outside was nicely browned, but the inside was clearly rare ... resulting in medallions that were very squishy - to the point of being a little hard to cut. Underdone beef is a bit risky these days. We see the same issue at other restaurants with salmon ... the times are a-changin, and not for the better from our middle-aged perspective. Those who share our concerns would do well to be more specific in how the meat is done, or just request it to be more done than you usually would.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cspan37421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Get there early and have a seat upstairs outside to see the sunset.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We waited about 20 mins before being seated upstairs at a picnic table with another couple. Nice choice of beers and service was very attentive. I loved my salad and we both enjoyed the recommended beer and food pairing.
First time seeing a "green roof". Very interesting. It had a locals vibe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridagirlP-cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terminal Brewhouse also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to The Terminal Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing