We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rudest customer service in world i guess”
Review of Sitar

Sitar
Ranked #384 of 836 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sweetwater, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rudest customer service in world i guess”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we had big group of friends and family around 25 people after 90 min. waiting we got table and they start service was so bad i can't express in words it was horrible on starter we order some panner tikka no slat on it and when we tell them they are not agree there is no salt on starter then we order main course that food is so bad we order some and we get something we order bangan bhartha we just test 1 bite and test is so bad it was bad food(stickey not healthy )i don't know how the heath department check all food and they pass and when we inform that manager he said ok i will take back. we told him about service and bad food he did not apologize for that no sorry no discount and when we told him we don;t like to come back again he was very rude and say that's ok as you wish i never seen this kind of service and rude manager i suggest owner replace him or i can say just fire him very rude that knoxville branch is best i suggest never go to chattanooga plz....rude rude and very rude manager

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avnikshatriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    5
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet at Brainard Road location yummy!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

found the food and service /owner very good and welcoming. Been enjoying Indian cuisine since 89 and have traveled to India also, enjoy veg and non-veg dishes, they had a small but sufficient lunch buffet, food was good, and as with buffets and traveling through (as I was), you can be in and out in a jiffy. Thank you India Mahal (found this restaurant in my Garmin GPS). Enjoy

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatprayloveall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not too many choices for Indian food...but..”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I got takeout from here while staying at a local hotel. The food was excellent and appropriately HOT. The servings were standard for an Indian restaurant. Gralic Naan is very good. Chicken Tikka Misala was great. Walking distance to most downtown hotels, easy to miss though so keep an eye out. Server was very friendly...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awful customer service”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We are a family of 4 adults who happened to visit the restaurant at 2:15 in the afternoon. The moment we entered the first thing we were told by the staff even before greeting us was that the restaurant would close at 2:30 pm. When we requested them to allow us some grace time the person rudely told us that you can stack whatever you want until 2:29 pm as at 2:30 sharp the food will be picked up. Despite our repeated requests to give us until 2:40 pm we were told nothing could be done and we finally left with out our meal. I was under the impression that in the US people would go out of their way to sell their products, be it food, cloths or any other item, but here was a classic example where the person let go of 4 meals to avoid keeping their restaurant open for an additional 10 mins. as requested. Is it the new American way or a typical Indian style. It was sad to spend so much time finding the place only to be asked to leave without the meal. Extremely arrogant and poor customer service. Kindly avoid this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Swapnil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fine Selection of Indian Beers”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

As with most restaurants in the US the portions were too large to finish but the fare was excellent. I had the chicken tikka medium hot and loved it. Great service and the usual spicy mixture of seeds by the cashier to assist digestion.

Helpful?
Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar also viewed

 

Been to Sitar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing