We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an older property that didn't get very good reviews earlier this year. But, I noticed that Wyndham Hotels had taken over this hotel. Being familiar with their standards we decided to give it a try and were not disappointed. Room had recently been remodeled and was clean and comfortable. A note, the on-site restaurant offered great food and generous portions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travlur66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnRivergateGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We are happy to
read that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to not
only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve,
but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as
pleasant and comfortable as possible. We know you have
a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit
to Chattanooga!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    337
    170
    75
    38
See reviews for
272
242
51
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Needed to kill some time for five days between events so i opted for a suite instead of a regular room for the same price. Great deal! two rooms, big bathroom, fairly clean for the price. The hotel is close to just about everything which was important because my only mode of transportation was a commercial truck. The is an electric shuttle that is free so navigating downtown Chatta was a snap. Overall, good deal for the money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnRivergateGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We are happy to
read that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to not
only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve,
but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as
pleasant and comfortable as possible. We know you have
a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit
to Chattanooga!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DECATUR
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was skeptical at first because the hotel looked more like a motel and I don't like walk ups. I enjoyed my stay at the Days Inn Rivergate. The room was clean, bed was comfortable. The location was near all of the downtown attractions.No outside noise from the highway on the other side of the fence. I will stay again. Nothing else to say. Great STAY!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shon215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnRivergateGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at the Days Inn Rivergate.
Thank you for your kind words. We are always pleased to read that our guests
are suprised and that their expectations are exceeded. We look forward to seeing
you again on your next visit to Chattanooga!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel I was a little nervous because I am use to staying at hotels where the in/out door to your room is inside of the hotel premises (not on the outside). I really have nothing bad to say about this hotel. It is an older hotel and does need a little work however the price paid along with the amenities makes this hotel a great deal! After staying at another hotel in Georgia where the room was $40.00 more, parking was another $8.00 and wi-fi was another $10.00 a day I was very happy to be here. The only problem that we encountered was when we arrived at our room there was no radio. We went down to the front desk to let them know and they were able to get us one right away. The food at the diner was unbelievably good and the portions are huge. There is 320 different items on this menu so if you can't find anything to eat you are a very picky eater. The diner does not want you to go home hungry. Also if you like pastries they have a lot to choose from. "Happy Hour" at the bar made me even happier. After spending $4.00 for a bottle of beer in Georgia you cannot imagine how happy I was to have a 32 ounce draft beer for much less! My husband was also happy because he could smoke in the room. If you are a traveler that doesn't mind staying in a older hotel then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children try to get a room by the pool. If the kids are older then you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Days Inn Rivergate has an excellent location on the free electric shuttle route and is just a short stroll from the Chattanooga Convention Center. You may also choose to rent a bicycle from the city's bike share program, which supplies bikes at many convenient stations in the area. It is a two minute walk from a nice Starbucks.

This hotel is half the price of other downtown hotels. The room is very small and the linens and pillows have seen better days. If I were you, I would not look too closely into the coffee maker; however, the rest of the room seemed very clean.

The primary reason for my "poor" rating is the noise level of the hotel. Besides traffic noise, we heard people yelling and honking horns in the parking lot throughout both nights that we stayed. I believe most of the noise was from patrons of the bar attached to the hotel, though some was from partying guests staying near our room. Neither of us got any sleep, and it was difficult to work during my two days in Chattanooga due to my fatigue.

I commented on the noise level to staff. The staff replied that "This is a college town", emphasized that Days Inn does not own the bar, and pointed out that Days Inn hires a security officer who she stated "does a great job" patrolling the lot at night. I disagree wholeheartedly. Obviously, the security officer did not have things under control both nights we stayed. Despite a college presence in town, a hotel should be a place where guests can sleep in comfort and quiet.

My general impression from the young folks staying in nearby rooms and the whooping and hollering and honking in the parking lot is that this is an affordable party spot for the younger crowd. If you are in town to party with a few PBRs and Mad Dog bottles, this is your place. If you want a good night's sleep at a reasonable rate, use Priceline to get a deal elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alminavl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnRivergateGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at the Days Inn Rivergate.
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to read about how convenient you
found our location. The free downtown shuttle is such an added value to our Guests
stay and does make getting about town so much easier.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Chattanooga! Have a very
happy 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 97 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 stars 2,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate

Property: Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Address: 901 Carter St, I-24 and US 27 North, Chattanooga, TN 37402-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in historic downtown Chattanooga, the Days Inn Rivergate specializes in family leisure, convention groups and motor coach tours. Ride the free downtown electric shuttle to the Tennessee Aquarium, 3D IMAX Theater and many more attractions. Located adjacent to the Chattanooga Convention Center. Enjoy the City Cafe Diner 24 hours a day or lounge located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Rivergate Hotel Chattanooga
Days Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing