We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2009

This was a very nice hotel. Easy to find. Its located in downtown Chattanooga but away from the hussle bustle. Front desk staff was efficient. The room was clean, spacious and welcoming. The decor was nice. There is a flat screen lcd/plasma (don't recall which one) tv in the room. Also a fridge and microwave which made life easy. We did not use the pool but it looked decent. The bathroom was very clean. But it looked like housekeeping did not replenish the supplies. There was enough towels and we had our own toiletries so no big deal. The beds were comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was a bonus.

I must say, Chattanooga was a charming town. We probably would never have stopped there if we hadn't taken this road trip. We had dinner at the Mellow Mushroom. It was SO good. Excellent place to eat for some comforting food after a long drive.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZpamZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene' B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express CHATTANOOGA DOWNTOWN.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 371 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2009

From the moment we arrived I knew I'd made a good choice when I booked this hotel. It's new, sleek, and clean. This place has all the things you want in a hotel: clean rooms & bathrooms, wonderful staff, quiet hallways, really good breakfast & great coffee, easy access from the interstate, and ample secure parking. Asked for a recommendation of someplace we could get a sandwich and were offered 2 options--both close and both delivered. Went to one place and it was great! Wow, STRONGLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waubonseeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene' B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express CHATTANOOGA DOWNTOWN.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

This is really a nice hotel. The beds and linens were nice. The room was clean when we arrived and the front desk staff was very friendly. We loved the pool. We needed extra towels and housekeeping gave us plenty. Overall this is a very nice hotel and it is located in a great spot.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sshuteclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene' B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express CHATTANOOGA DOWNTOWN.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

This Hotel is close to downtown and has a nice quiet location. Reception personnel are really excellent and helpfull. The room is tastefully decorated with good beds. The hotel appears very new.
Housekeeping does need improvement as the area next to the bed on the wall side was not vacuumed and an old very dusty belt was lying next to a cupboard. This I will overlook and still rate this this hotel highly because the other areas and breakfast area are very good and the excellent reception staff. A minor gripe is that we are a party of four (booked in advance) and there were 3 bath towels and coffee for two (but this is the case in many hotels).
Strange that there was no survey form to complete - else I would have informed them of the " room for improvement". Nevertheless I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZARDelft_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene' B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express CHATTANOOGA DOWNTOWN.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I stay at Holiday Inn chains quite often when traveling for business. I booked a leisure trip with my priority club points at this hotel for an upgraded whirlpool room so that my husband and I could enjoy a little romance while visiting Chattanooga. We arrived 1/2 hour early (2:30pm, check is at 3pm). Thought it would be no trouble to check in so we could drop our bags and head downtown. The front desk clerk said the room was ready, but that the rooms were not in the computer so she could not assign one at that moment and to come back in a half an hour. We returned 1.5 hours later (4pm) and a different front desk clerk was there and informed us that the whirlpool rooms had been overbooked and we would not be getting what we reserved. What is the point of a reservation if it cannot be honored? This upset me, but I was in too good of a mood to make a scene, so I politely said okay, just give us whatever you have. We enjoyed our stay overall, but the check out was very slow. No bill under my door in the morning, like most HI Expresses, and long line at 11am on a Sunday morning with only ONE front desk clerk. Stupid management move. Nice hotel, brand new, clean and quiet. I would stay there again based on those facts, but the management really needs to clean up the act of this place. We walked in at midnight on a Saturday night, with no security requirements whatsoever. Bad news for a downtown location. We didn't need a key card to get in the door and there was absolutely no one at the front desk monitoring who was coming in. Breakfast was pretty decent, considering it was free. Bottom line, not an express service hotel, but new and clean which is important to me.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene' B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express CHATTANOOGA DOWNTOWN.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

This was a great hotel. We had a room with a jetted tub for two. It was wonderfully romantic. The breakfast was good: cereal, bacon, eggs, cinnamon rolls, muffins and juice. It is on the outskirts of downtown but was about 5 minutes driving time to the aquarium. We were very satisfied and will stay again if we return to Chattanooga.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake&Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene' B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express CHATTANOOGA DOWNTOWN.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

I used to travel alot for business and became extremely picky about hotels. I could tell as soon as I walked in the door of any hotel room if I was going to sleep well or not. The Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Chattanooga is one hotel I would highly recommend to anyone looking for accomodations in the area. The entire hotel was very clean. The decor of the room was cozy and comforting. The bedding was great and the air temperature in the room was easliy controlled. The big fluffy bath towels was an added plus. The staff was very friendly and we felt very welcomed. The hot breafast was a plus and we did not have to go out and spend more money on my family of four. I actually chose to spend a little more on this hotel because of the hot breakfast they offer and it was definintely worth every penny. I would absolutely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PickyAboutHotelRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene' B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express CHATTANOOGA DOWNTOWN.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 440 W Martin Luther King Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#27 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $126 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's newest downtown location with easy access to I-75, I-24 and US-27. We are within walking distance of the city center, and our Chattanooga hotel is near the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing