We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I frequent this HIE on business travel, and have no major complaints. The rooms are clean and comfy, and it is in a good location for walking throughout downtown Chattanooga. The few complaints I do have are that the TV's sound is messed up...the volume bleeds in and out, and is very annoying. I have stayed there a total of 4 times throughout this year, and it has been the same in every room on every trip. When you call the front desk, they just tell you that someone will be fixing them the next week, and I guess they don't expect you to come back often enough to tell the difference. Also, for such a large hotel, the breakfast area is really small and gets very crowded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Alice J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. We are aware that some of the TV's are having issues and we have ordered a number of new TV's to fix the sound issue. We are now in the process of programming all of the new TV's as well.
Thank you again for your comments and if there is anything we can do for you please do not hesitate to ask.
Sincerely,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    105
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
107
91
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The biggest problem was under-staffing. The poor woman working at the front desk was very overwhelmed; from when we came in at 6 until about 11, there was always a line of people trying to get assistance and the phone was ringing constantly. (she was working hard, just needed help.) Breakfast was good, but again. the person restocking needed help. She was working fast, but could not keep up with the demand. Our room was nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kekrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Alice J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Kekrista,
Thank you for your feedback. We take our Guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommadation received and I have taken note that the staff might need more back up on busier nights. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Walked in to checking and there was a display sign welcoming our club. The rooms were nice, but one of our group couples had no hot water. The water heater had broken, but they put them in that room anyway and didn't tell them. We were disappointed in that, but our room had hot water and the shower was so strong it felt like needles hitting your skin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murrlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, April 7, 2015
That's because you are special!

Thank you,

Mary Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Oh.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This supposedly was a new hotel, just opened when we were there. When we entered the room, I went over to the air conditioner, lifted the door for the controls and it fell off in my hand. The bathroom floor had not been cleaned, since there were large water spots on it. Looked like some one had taken a shower and got water all over. There was a switch next to the headboard of one bed. It controlled a wall mounted light on the opposite wall. For what ever stupid reason, that switch also controlled the electrical recepticle between the 2 beds, where the clock radio was plugged in. Turn off the light and you also turn off the clock radio. When we left the next morning, I noticed a gum wrapper laying on the bathroom floor. We were in a rush and didn't stop to pick it up, assuming the maid would get it when she cleaned the floor. Wrong, it was in the same place along with the water spots when we returned in the evening. The coffee maker carafe also still had left over coffee in it and the coffee maker itself had a lot white scale inside, I assume from chemicals in the water. Not a big problem with that, but there was also something that looked like makeup stuck in places inside and out. When I took it to the front desk and asked for a clean replacement the clerk acted as though it was unreasonable to expect a clean coffee maker. Worst was the lack of a grab bar on the long wall next to the tub. There was a small verticle one on the wall with the controls, but too far away from the place where most people stand when taking a shower. If you were to slip there was nothing to try to grab except wet tile. Cheap construction to the point of disregard for visitor's safety, furniture that gives one the impression it came from a 2nd hand store and minimal house keeping all combine to place this hotel at the top of the places not to stay list.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank akbcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice and clean hotel, however they seemed to lack front desk help. We arrived at 4, and they were a little crowded. The front desk ladies seemed to be switching shifts and a little frantic. Our room wasn't ready so we had to wait, but the ladies at the front desk made sure the cleaning staff was aware we were there. I wouldn't stay here if you are wanting to walk into town. it's about a 4 min drive, and about a 10-15min walk. However, it's easy access to the interstate. I probably wouldn't stay here again, because it was too far out to walk into town. But if driving and parking in town doesn't bother you, this is a good hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bannej26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Bannej26,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our hotel. However, please do accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary service. Rest assured that your comments about the check in process has been documented and shared to the proper department so that they can take the appropriate actions to rectify and prevent those issues to reoccur in the future. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice place it was clean and nice overall, but the TV sound was in and out and the fridge did not work. When I advised the staff at desk of the issue and she stated it was normal with the weather for the satellite service to have issues. I have satellite service also and it should work on a cloudy day without issues. And as far as the fridge she had no concern at all. I have stayed at several HIE and was happy with all them and this is the first time I was disappointed with the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Clean, decent location, and free parking for club members. What you'd expect from a HIE - small but clean pool, decent breakfast, no frills. Stayed here for the Riverbend Festival. The walk wasn't too far since the weather was nice. If you have small children or it is very hot you may want to try and stay a bit closer in downtown. This felt like the edge of downtown as there wasn't much in the surrounding blocks. I don't mind walking so there were things to do in a 15 to 20 minute walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slourash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#19 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 440 W Martin Luther King Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#27 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's newest downtown location with easy access to I-75, I-24 and US-27. We are within walking distance of the city center, and our Chattanooga hotel is near the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing