We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok! Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok! Place to stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice and clean hotel, however they seemed to lack front desk help. We arrived at 4, and they were a little crowded. The front desk ladies seemed to be switching shifts and a little frantic. Our room wasn't ready so we had to wait, but the ladies at the front desk made sure the cleaning staff was aware we were there. I wouldn't stay here if you are wanting to walk into town. it's about a 4 min drive, and about a 10-15min walk. However, it's easy access to the interstate. I probably wouldn't stay here again, because it was too far out to walk into town. But if driving and parking in town doesn't bother you, this is a good hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bannej26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Bannej26,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our hotel. However, please do accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary service. Rest assured that your comments about the check in process has been documented and shared to the proper department so that they can take the appropriate actions to rectify and prevent those issues to reoccur in the future. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    109
    36
    13
    11
See reviews for
116
94
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice place it was clean and nice overall, but the TV sound was in and out and the fridge did not work. When I advised the staff at desk of the issue and she stated it was normal with the weather for the satellite service to have issues. I have satellite service also and it should work on a cloudy day without issues. And as far as the fridge she had no concern at all. I have stayed at several HIE and was happy with all them and this is the first time I was disappointed with the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Clean, decent location, and free parking for club members. What you'd expect from a HIE - small but clean pool, decent breakfast, no frills. Stayed here for the Riverbend Festival. The walk wasn't too far since the weather was nice. If you have small children or it is very hot you may want to try and stay a bit closer in downtown. This felt like the edge of downtown as there wasn't much in the surrounding blocks. I don't mind walking so there were things to do in a 15 to 20 minute walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slourash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just returned from a week stay in Chattanooga, Tn and found the downtown Holiday Inn to be just perfect for our needs. The location is good - easy entrance and exit to the freeway. The beds are very comfortable with lots of pillows, I used their guest laundry which was clean and convenient. The staff was very friendly always greeting us when we returned for the day and helpful if we had questions. And their breakfast every morning was great. My only disappointment was that I got the "suite" which was really only a bedroom with a sofa in it. There was not anything special about the suite.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms had a great view of the 4th of July fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2015
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Mike W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very nice place, clean, great breakfast. Not too far from the aqarium and lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Wendy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2015
Thanks for the kind words!

Mike W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night while enroute to Florida. We were 2 adults, and 2 teen girls sharing the room. It was an average, typical hotel room size, which was Worked fine for us. The room was very clean, AND, most important to me while traveling, no signs of bedbugs! Beds were very comfortable, and the room was quiet. The a/c worked well, and the service was great. Check in was easy, and the staff was very nice, and helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. It is very convienent to get to places. It is not really walking distance to anything though. I felt very safe there. The staff is extremely nice. The hotel is very clean. The pool is very nice. The work out room looked nice as well. The breakfast was awesome! I would recommend this to anyone and stay there again. The only thing is the TV was sometimes fuzzy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamkel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#32 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 440 W Martin Luther King Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#27 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's newest downtown location with easy access to I-75, I-24 and US-27. We are within walking distance of the city center, and our Chattanooga hotel is near the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing