We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't miss this boat..”
Review of Blue Moon Cruises - CLOSED

Blue Moon Cruises
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Blue Moon is a 77 foot luxury cruiser offering eco-tours and evening cruises on the Tennessee River in Downtown Chattanooga. From both decks you will have great views of the river and all the abundant wildlife. January and Feburuary the Blue Moon moves to the Hiwassee Wildlife Refuge about 30 minutes north of Chattanooga to experience the amazing migration of 15,000 SandHill Cranes and nesting Bald Eagles. Cruise dates and times vary based on the season. All trips include a meal- group and youth rates are available.
TN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“don't miss this boat..”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a great cruise. In the summer, they are based in downtown Chattanooga and the trips take you through the TN River Gorge, but in Jan. and Feb. they are based in Sale Creek, TN (about 25 miles north of downtown) and the trip takes you up past Birchwood area, Hwy 60 bridge, up the Hiawassee River almost to the Hwy 58 bridge, then back down river and up a bit more of the TN River. It's a 3.5 hr trip. On our trip we saw deer, turkey, sandhill cranes, various ducks and water birds, great blue herons, 2 adult bald eagles, an immature eagle and a newly hatched baby eagle in the nest. The boat is very nice, climate controlled with tables inside and seating outside also. The food was very good...BBQ, slaw, potato salad, baked beans, desserts, tea, hot chocolate, coffee and hot tea. The staff was very friendly, extremely knowledgeable and obviously enthusiastic about what they do. The depth and breadth of information was amazing. Take binoculars and a camera....that's all you need unless a jacket for cold and a hat for sun. Great family trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank neckbonepieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    16
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Young Harris, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up for First Cruise”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent yesterday morning cruising with Blue Moon, eager to see the sandhill cranes. We were treated to at least 5 active bald eagles, great blue herons nesting high up in the trees, sandhill cranes (thanks to a detour around an island), good commentary by the crew, a good lunch, and a warm room from which to see everything. It was a cold morning, but the sun was shining which made for a beautiful morning. This cruise is a definite 'must do' experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Suz13051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sandhill Crane Cruise”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

very much enjoyed this trip, Captain Dave was quick to tell us where the birds were and gave us some great information on the area and the birds.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank reneebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sandhill Crane Cruise”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We will definitely do this again. Very special experience. Saw much more than anticipated. Saw rare whooping cranes too. Magnificient! Lots of bald eagles too. Fun!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Even without the thousands of sand hill cranes (due, we were told, to the heavy rainfall and resultant deeper water) we saw when we took this trip last year, this was still a very enjoyable way to spend a winter day. It is definitely worth the cost, and includes a very nice meal. The crew is very competent and professional, and the captain is very personable and knowledgeable. There were two time choices -- 10 or 2. I think the person taking our reservation should have mentioned that the 10 only had less than 10 people booked while the 2 had 40. (We booked just two days ahead, so she must have had some idea.) Fortunately, we quite unknowingly chose the right one -- the 10:00! We'd have been very upset otherwise. Also, I maintain that these trips should be smoke-free. Last year, it was a passenger with a nasty cigar. This year, it was a member of the crew whose cigarette smoke was wafting up on deck.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Cruises also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing