We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun experience, breathtaking view”

The Lookout Mountain Incline Railway
Ranked #18 of 149 things to do in Chattanooga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known as “America’s Most Amazing Mile,” The Incline’s trolley-style cars climb through the natural beauty surrounding historic Lookout Mountain at a breathtaking 72.7% grade – straight up! Sit back, relax and enjoy the scenic views of the mountains and valleys from the observation windows on the train as well as the panoramic views from the observation tower at The Incline’s top station. And while you’re up top, be sure to visit the many points of Civil War interest, the Battles for Chattanooga Electric Map & Museum and Point Park, part of the Chickamauga -Chattanooga National Military Park system, just a few short blocks from the Incline top station.Then, after you descend back down to the Incline bottom station, explore historic St. Elmo, where a wonderful collection of unique shopping and dining experiences await you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun experience, breathtaking view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We enjoyed our trip on the Incline. I suggest getting the three attraction pass along with Ruby Falls and Rock City. The ride is enjoyable, and the view is breathtaking!

Hint: Ruby Falls and Rock City are not accessible from the Incline. You will have to drive separately to reach those.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    506
    423
    132
    67
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
678 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Mountain side train ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

In town for the Veterans Day weekend we scoured Chattanooga hitting one attraction after another. Our intent was to hit the incline first on Saturday morning but it was not open at 0830 as advertised on their website. Out the money we paid for parking we left for another attraction. On our way back we discovered it opened at 1000 so we stopped in and rode down and up again. The views are great and the ride enjoyable though overpriced in my opinion. I've been on several inclines in the US and Europe and recommend them to all. This one has top and bottomside gift shops and bathrooms. If you have time and you are on Lookout Mountain with money to burn, you will enjoy a relaxing 10 minute ride each way. I probably would have rated this place higher if I wasn't perturbed about the hours of operation and paying for parking. Spend an hour or so here, it will enhance you stay in Chattanooga.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkibby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RIPOFF”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a ripoff. Yes, the ride went up....a 3yr old's screaming tantrum ruined any scenic enjoyment. There was a view at the top. To our surprise there is a whole neighborhood of beautiful historic homes - to which you can DRIVE - as well as the Civil War park with breathtaking views. Train is to run every 8-10 min.....after our enjoyable time at the top we waited 40 min looking at the immobile car while waiting in a caged area to return down.
Website adversities 1/2 off for seniors.....ticket window says ' nope, not today' ..... and inaddition to the high fee, this attraction charges $2 for parking. Cheeky.
Skip it! Drive to the top of Lookout Mt and enjoy the views and the history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DHMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a great time while facing my fears. This was an easy attraction to visit and the view is breathtaking. Everyone should do this while in Chattanooga, TN

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosalieMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee,
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We bought into the hype and went on the incline railway. The view was so-so and the ride was mediocre at best, in fact you really couldn't see much of anything while on the train itself. Once the novelty had wore off, we felt like suckers. Of the 3 items we did on lookout mountain (ruby falls, rock city, and incline) we could have done without the incline ride. The good news...was that we didn't get suckered into similar rides while in Gatlinburg. Were we glad we went? Yes. Would we do it again? Only if it were free and we were bored.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lookout Mountain Incline Railway also viewed

 

Been to The Lookout Mountain Incline Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing