We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

The Lookout Mountain Incline Railway
Ranked #19 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known as “America’s Most Amazing Mile,” The Incline’s trolley-style cars climb through the natural beauty surrounding historic Lookout Mountain at a breathtaking 72.7% grade – straight up! Sit back, relax and enjoy the scenic views of the mountains and valleys from the observation windows on the train as well as the panoramic views from the observation tower at The Incline’s top station. And while you’re up top, be sure to visit the many points of Civil War interest, the Battles for Chattanooga Electric Map & Museum and Point Park, part of the Chickamauga -Chattanooga National Military Park system, just a few short blocks from the Incline top station.Then, after you descend back down to the Incline bottom station, explore historic St. Elmo, where a wonderful collection of unique shopping and dining experiences await you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

we went there on one week end..it was very nice sitting inside the train and watching the whole chattanooga...the way train was working was amazing...We enjoyed a lot...

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank priyashone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    547
    448
    137
    71
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience and Great For Families”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We really enjoyed our incline railway ride. The staff was helpful and friendly and the experience was enjoyable. I did not feel like it was expensive. The photo thing was expensive but we felt that was not an obligatory expense.

We were disappointed that there wasn't a better cafe or eating place at the top. We would have spent more time and or money at the top if there were a true cafe or eatery.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank TKlemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“parking tickets given out”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and i went to the incline railroad- we did feed the meter for 45 minutes which would typically be plenty of time to see the incline railroad, but becasue the attraction was so busy, it took almost an hour wait to return up the incline and we recieved a parking ticket. This in no way for a town to treat visitors who are bringing money into the town on a very busy weekend. enjoyed the incline railroad but would not recommend stoppping in this town again becasue of the way they treat the visitors.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Betsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A family trip only”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was our low point of our trip. Not at all what we were expecting. Kids seem to enjoy it, but if you are over twelve, spend your $$ somewhere else.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LaVines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My son loved this ride!”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is your classic tourist trap but my 9 year old son had a ball so I will give it a 4 instead of a 3. It was totally worth our time but pretty expensive. The guide riding with us didn't share any history with us at all. Just a silent ride (except other passengers talking) up and down. That part was strange as I expected some narration of the experience. They take your picture so you can pay way to much money for it at the top.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank pkc789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lookout Mountain Incline Railway also viewed

 

Been to The Lookout Mountain Incline Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing