We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a wedding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter Museum of American Art

Hunter Museum of American Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.95*
and up
Haunted Walking Tour of Chattanooga
Ranked #11 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hunter offers amazing architecture, a stunning permanent collection and exciting temporary exhibitions, a museum store and café by Dipped Fresh. The Hunter Museum focuses on American art from the Colonial period to the present day. The variety of the collection inside is reflected by the architecture of the museum's exterior. The museum is housed in an early twentieth century mansion, a modern 1970s era building and a sleek, contemporary structure of steel and glass. The museum's collection includes paintings, works on paper, sculpture, photography, mixed media, video, furniture and contemporary studio glass covering a diverse range of styles and periods. A few of the well-known artists whose work is represented in the Hunter include Thomas Cole, Fitz Henry Lane, Winslow Homer, Robert S. Duncanson, Mary Cassatt, Childe Hassam, Robert Henri, John Marin, Thomas Hart Benton, Helen Frankenthaler, Louise Nevelson, Jack Beal, George Segal, Duane Hanson, Robert Rauschenberg, Sam Gilliam, and Andy Warhol. The Hunter Museum is a 501 (C) 3 Non-Profit charitable institution.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Attended a wedding and toured the museum. Parking is convevient. Really great location with terrific views!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adele631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    131
    40
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“There are two museums on the bluff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a wonderful collection of American art. One thing we discovered: the German Shepard watching the dancers is wearing sunglasses when seen from a couple of rooms away. Wish we had been able to buy a guidebook as we took many pictures but had nothing to make notes on. We will just have to go back, notebook in hand.

Also not to be missed is the Houston Museum of Decorative Arts, just across the street. Largely the collection of Anna Safley Houston (1876-1951), an eccentric antiques dealer, considered a “town character” and called “Antique Annie.” But in time she became a nationally recognized authority on antique glass and dedicated her life to her collections of Victorian.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 35larryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

was ok but i not an abstract art lover, really liked the old section in the mansion and special exhibition upstairs

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarajo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite good. Excellent temporary exhibit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The museum is located on a bluff overlooking the river. We were there on Memorial Day and the view was breathtaking. The museum is easy to find due to street signs in the main tourist areas. The quality of the art is quite good. There is a temporary exhibition space that often has local or national artists. We enjoyed the exhibits. The building is very well organized and maintained. Overall a good experience. I suggest allotting a full morning or afternoon for the exhibits. If you belong to a museum in another city, bring your membership card. There may be reciprocity.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gwfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A gem of a Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great exhibits and a wonderfully beautiful building overlookin the TN river! We toured the European paintings and the other works of art that were displayed perfectly!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wobegonedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Museum of American Art also viewed

 

Been to Hunter Museum of American Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing