We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chattanooga has a world class art museum? Who knew?”

Hunter Museum of American Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Chattanooga Cycle Boat River Cruise
More Info
$16.95*
and up
Haunted Walking Tour of Chattanooga
Ranked #15 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hunter offers amazing architecture, a stunning permanent collection and exciting temporary exhibitions, a museum store and café by Dipped Fresh. The Hunter Museum focuses on American art from the Colonial period to the present day. The variety of the collection inside is reflected by the architecture of the museum's exterior. The museum is housed in an early twentieth century mansion, a modern 1970s era building and a sleek, contemporary structure of steel and glass. The museum's collection includes paintings, works on paper, sculpture, photography, mixed media, video, furniture and contemporary studio glass covering a diverse range of styles and periods. A few of the well-known artists whose work is represented in the Hunter include Thomas Cole, Fitz Henry Lane, Winslow Homer, Robert S. Duncanson, Mary Cassatt, Childe Hassam, Robert Henri, John Marin, Thomas Hart Benton, Helen Frankenthaler, Louise Nevelson, Jack Beal, George Segal, Duane Hanson, Robert Rauschenberg, Sam Gilliam, and Andy Warhol. The Hunter Museum is a 501 (C) 3 Non-Profit charitable institution.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chattanooga has a world class art museum? Who knew?”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wow. The Hunter is a pretty incredible museum for a town of Chattanooga's size to have. First off, it's situated on the bluff over the river, so the views are incredible. Second, it's a super funky modernist building juxtaposed against an old colonial mansion (both buildings are interconnected and contain galleries), so the contrast is cool and unexpected as you're making your way through the collection. Third, these guys have an amazing collection, major names, classics, some great contemporary stuff and it's beautifully curated. You don't feel overwhelmed by the scale of the museum, but you get enough. Really a great experience. The sculpture park leading out and down the bluff to the river walk is also amazing and from what I hear, rotates it's pieces frequently. Go there!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    138
    43
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss this great museum. It is SO worth seeing!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I am so ashamed to admit that we have visited Chattanooga every year for at least a decade ... and this was the first time we went to the Hunter.

But we went and we were so impressed!

Don't make the same mistake we mare. GO NOW!

This art museum rivals many we have visited in other much larger cities. Their collection is varied and includes some of the best American impressionism, portraiture, and landscapes we have ever viewed.

Put the Hunter Museum at the top of your list of great American museums to visit.

Helpful?
Thank tigerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and great collection”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The location of this museum is worth the visit! It is situated in the Bluff View Art District overlooking the Tennessee River. The collection of American Art works is outstanding! Don't miss the glass dress! An added bonus was the beautiful Christmas trees throughout the museum decorated by local organizations. The mansion housing part of the collection is lovely by itself. So glad we visited.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ridge, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“diverse”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not being a museum buff, I recently attended for the first time in 12 years. I was very impressed. They have something for everyone to enjoy, from scenic views to all forms of art to appreciate. Architectural, glass, sculptures, paintings, real life, & etc. They also have free Sundays once a month!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcd8929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful art, architecture and location”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the historic mansion in the Bluff View Art district to the stunning contemporary additions, the Hunter is worth the climb up the hill. The focus is a nice selection of American art including the Hudson River school. They are surrounded by wonderful outdoor sculptures as well. There are at least three charming restaurants within a block as well as galleries and a working artists studio, which was not open when I was there. The Walnut street bridge (a pedestrian bridge) across the Tennessee River is right there as well as the Houston museum, in the private residence of a woman who amassed an amazing glass collection (including over 8,000 glass pitchers alone). And all just a few blocks away from the river, the aquarium and a main restaurant and theatre district.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Museum of American Art also viewed

 

Been to Hunter Museum of American Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing