We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical taco joint!”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #96 of 828 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Real Mexican food is a feast for the senses. From colorful peppers to the sounds of sizzling fajitas all the way to that incredible flavor. Each mouthful is just as much a result of the freshest ingredients as it is a result of the chef's expertise. Abuelo's offers diners the opportunity to experience real Mexican food, combining authentic, made from scratch classic dishes with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Our executive Chef Luis Sanchez has spent decades perfecting our menu, and we boast a wide selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties (depending on your location). To compliment your meal, our expert bartenders are masters at crafting signature favorites, including a wide variety of margaritas and swirls. Stop by for an unmatched Happy Hour! Whatever the occasion, we'll stop at nothing to make your time at Abuelo's a memorable dining experience.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not your typical taco joint!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Upscale ambiance. Free-standing building located in a shopping area. Relatively quiet dining. "Professional" quality wait staff. TO DIE FOR avocado enchilada/ shrimp/scallops/roasted vegetable / seasoned rice plate. It's worth another overnight stay in the Chattanooga area!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LABNCanton_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    47
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cut above”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A very nice ambiance, food very well prepared, plentiful, very good service, moderate prices. Enjoyed our meal and experience very much.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mas Picante, por Favor”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Abuelo is Espanol for "Grandfather". For a hot time in the old town tonight, visit Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy. It's like a little bit of Mexico has come to Choo-choo Town. Authentic Mexican cuisine just like Abuelo used to make, try Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy and make it one of your regular places to eat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Well above average Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is by far the best decorated mexican restaurant ever.
The waitress, Nikki, was absolutely wonderful.
The food was very good, not necessarily authentic, but then, no so called mexican restaurant actually is.
The service fantastic, the decor inviting, the prices reasonable, and the food good. What else is there?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mulltiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Glad I went!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had been intrigued by the "Mexican Food Embassy" part of their name for a while, and I'm glad I finally went! The interior is pretty and thematic, service was top-notch, and the food was good (not great). The margarita was a little too sweet, but a bargain during happy hour. My tacos and beans were average, but the papas con chile were unique. I liked the 3 salsas they bring for free with the chips too. This place reminds me of a cross between a normal Mexican restaurant and a Chili's. I'll definitely go back though!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VisitTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing