We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Salad Bar!”
Review of Greenlife Grocery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Greenlife Grocery
Cuisines: Healthy
Restaurant details
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Notch Salad Bar!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The salad bar here is incredible! There are so many different items to choose from to have a healthy wonderfully delicious salad! Quinoa dishes, orzo pastas dishes, brown rice dishes, many different types of tofu, all types of vegetables, tuna and chicken salads, nuts, fruits, dried fruits, etc. Endless salad possibilities. Look for the sesame ginger scallion dressing! Super good! Weighed at checkout and charged $8.95 per pound.

Some of the employees here are quite nice, especially in the meat department. I've often found them quite helpful. However, most of the employees seem a little edgy and moody. They're definitely not into customer service and probably need to work on that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Good stuff”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Love the salad bar and the yummy looking cakes. Fun location. No bad lines. Eat there and people watch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pricey but great food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I'm not really into the whole self-righteous greenie lifestyle, but this place is a great place to get lunch. They are pricey on their food, but it's the only place I have found that the food isn't drowning in grease. If you like the organic thing you will be thrilled. They have a great variety of cheeses and beers too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcdown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good selection, annoying experience.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've been patronizing Greenlife for quite a few years. Now that they're owned by WholeFoods, it's started changing (some changes have been for the good and others for the bad). Anyway, I particularly enjoy salad bars and such, so I visit Greenlife often for that reason.

The selection of organic foods is very good, and in my opinion is better than Earth Fare and the Fresh Market (the only other legitimate 'organic' supermarkets). You definitely pay for the good selection though. If you have an electric car you can charge it there, and there are a lot of other shops around like Rock Creek, Trek, a toy store, Chattanooga Shoe Company, etc.

I have a plethora of reasons for giving it only an average rating, but I'll just give you a few. First, as others have mentioned, the area is incredibly pretentious and, at times, borderline unbearable. Lots of staff members and a large portion of the patrons who frequent Greenlife are also intolerable. Recently, I got stuck behind an elderly woman pushing her buggy (we wall move at different speeds, so I wasn't bothered by it), but since she was going slow, a young hipster chick ran into the back of my foot with her buggy. Not only did she not apologize, but when I turned around to see what was going on, she gave me the stinkeye. There are people like said hipster chick who are everywhere in and around Greenlife, and you have to be ready to ignore their in-your-face rudeness. Sticking with this idea is the big supply of parents with small children running wild in the grocery store too. Just a few nights ago I was perusing the hot bar, making myself a salad, when I overheard a set of parents saying 'no honey, don't touch that.' I ignored that the first time, but then they kept saying 'stop touching that!' So I finally looked over, and their 2 children were sticking their fingers in every item on the salad bar (including the mediterranean tuna salad I had just chosen). Needless to say, I was ready to lose my mind at such a pathetic example of parenting. I chose to finish my salad and GTFO. A third and final example was a few months ago, when I was in a long line to pay for my groceries. Out of nowhere, this dude forces his way in front of me and cuts in line. I responded by saying, 'dude you're really gonna break in line like that?' He responded by apologizing with a douchey attitude and saying he'd go to the back of the line. I told him he was welcome to keep the spot in line if he would lose his douchey attitude. He was, to say the least, slightly offended. Anyway, I mention these instances because, if you're like me and get easily annoyed by people who are incredibly rude and inconsiderate, you may want to think twice about going into Greenlife. Then again, if I can handle it, so can you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cdog423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“For all the things you miss...”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Like a Whole Foods, this place has the expensive organic goods, a great salad bar, breakfast bar—and t-day bar too—as well as many options on gourmet items, and in/outdoor seating so you can gobble it up. Not to be forgotten in the Spirits shop(!) where they have a wide variety of local concoctions! Stellar!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenlife Grocery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing