We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Ranked #55 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Entire hotel reeks of cigarette smoke, even though1st floor is supposed to be "non-smoking". Constantaly heard dripping from air conditioner upstairs throughout the night. We definitely got what we paid for and will absolutely recommend against staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gapritchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 567 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

We booked directly with the sales manager and because we were traveling with a group, we received a decent rate of just under $50. The manager was able to accommodate our group of 9 families with less than one week's notice and the cancellation policy was generous. Overall, I was satisfied . The room was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast spread was adequate, and the beds were comfortable. The only cons were the scratchy sheets (polyester blend and low thread count), the bathroom had some discolored grout, and the lack of elevator. Additionally, the indoor pool closed at 9pm which I feel is a little early. This is not the poshest place in Chattanooga, but if you are just looking for a place to sleep it will do.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheercoach40356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We selected this hotel as it was one of the few in area w/ an indoor pool. There is a pool....i wouldnt suggest getting in it but there is a pool. The dirt and grime is so thick around the tile of the pool enterprising past guests have left "colorful" suggestions on how to pass the time scratched into the film. Note: All those words you do not want your child to say? Yeah guess what they are all sound out-able...not a silent letter in the bunch... We were in pool for about 5 minutes when we noticed and got out to go shower. As the hallways are filled with roving groups on 19-21 yr olds quiet wasn't in the game plan. Also it seems super 8 only means one type of "smoking" when applying the No Smoking clause. Gotta remember to send a Thank you to Super 8 for getting the oppurtunity to have another don't do drugs cause not only is it illegal and a poor choice it quite literally stinks to high (har-dee-har) heaven. Front desk reply to every issue "What do you want me to do about it?"

Oh and the duct tape from previous reviews is still the choice carpeting for the stairway

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usernamesarealltaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Checked in with very nice front desk clerk. All they had left was rooms on second floor and no elevator. When I started up the stairs, I thought I made a big mistake. The carpet was worn so bad that they patched it with duct tape.

The room was acceptable, breakfast was minimal (but what do you expect for $40/night.) They indoor pool was a bit to chilly for my liking. Overall I stayed an additional night because I didn't want to take a chance somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Good stay , nice break fast , nice clean rooms . Great stay

Stayed: September 2008
Thank CharlotteTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

You get what you pay for at this Super 8. It is clean, mostly quiet, and close to the interstate. Hamilton Place Mall is nearby for nice places to eat. A Cracker Barrel and Applebee's are literally across the street.

If you need all the amenities of other hotels, don't stay here. If you just need a room to sleep in and check your e-mail, this works fine.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elcid89tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Do not book this hotel through any site. I booked directly with the hotel. I personally called them as I needed specific rooms. Called them 3 times to verify, gave them my credit card and received a confrimation. When I showed up with my confirmation I was informed one of my rooms had been given away and they would send me to their other hotel (red roof inn). As there were several different sporting events, I couldn't find another hotel so I had to stay and the urine stayed Red Roof with no pool, no breakfast, no iron, no frig no nothing except a terrible smell. This particular Super 8 is not Corporate owned and per the staff at the Red Roof they always overbook the Super 8 and then send the travelers to the Red Roof. What a downgrade. The Red Roof staff was nice but the Super 8 staff could have cared less. They were rude and said well I didn't do it. It doesn't matter who did it, it is apparently their policy to over book the hotel so the owner can fill up his much cheaper, dirtier hotel for the same price. There were several other people that ended up at the Red Roof with me who booked the Super 8.
You have been worned do not book this hotel especially if there is alot going on in Chattanooga or you may end up at the Red Roof where there were 2 police cars and ambulance when we pulled in.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
Thank Vernic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Chattanooga Airport
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chattanooga/near Hamilton P
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#48 of 96 in Chattanooga
226 reviews
4.8 mi away
Super 8 Chattanooga/East Ridge
Super 8 Chattanooga/East Ridge
#63 of 96 in Chattanooga
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#25 of 96 in Chattanooga
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Chattanooga/Hamilton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chattanooga/Hamilton Place

Address: 7024 McCutcheon Rd, Chattanooga, TN 37421-1747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $53 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chattanooga/Hamilton Place 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 is located just off I-75 Exit 5. The property is an interior corridor hotel, and is located within walking distance to area restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Chattanooga/Hamilton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Chattanooga
Super Eight Chattanooga
Chattanooga Super Eight
Chattanooga Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing