We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for couples...but families?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK for couples...but families?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Didn't use the mini-kitchen; might another time because the breakfast was basic and got old fast (stayed 5 days). Room small; don't know if the place has connecting rooms...wouldn't stay here with my extended family unless they did! And no pool is a disadvantage for families.

We did like that the room had a thermostat.

Management pleasant. Be forewarned that rooms are cleaned only once a week unless you ask for light housekeeping (bed made, fresh towels). The system is that you call a certain extension by 9 AM to get on a list, but in our case the answering machine didn't pick up our request and the towels never came! Were given towels/extra soap by front desk when we asked late that night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    75
    31
    9
    11
See reviews for
86
51
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We are moving from Chattanooga at the end of May. We sold our house back in April (much quicker than expected). We knew it would be wise to save $$, since we would be spending the next 7 weeks in a hotel as a family....it's my husband, myself and our 2 children. After a terrible experience at Extended Stay America(which lasted a month since Extended Stay would not refund any of our money that we had paid up front for a month's stay), a friend referred us to MainStay Suites. I was hesitant about calling because of their "no pet" policy. We also have our little toy poodle. Deanne was so sweet and after hearing our situation, she not only gave us a great deal, but let us keep our little pup with us! She's very clean and small.

This place was such a nice surprise! The room is very clean and comfortable. It smells good in the room. They provide a continental breakfast too, which is very good. My kids love the waffles! The hotel is in a great location, close to everything. The best thing about the hotel though is their staff! Very nice people. You don't get that just anywhere! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I live out of town and occasionally get to pile up here to spend time with girlfriends! We had connecting rooms which was great! There are couches and kitchens in the rooms which allowed us just to hang out and spend some great time together. Love the new carpet! Randy at the front office is super!! He is very friendly and it makes for a pleasant stay when people are kind to their customers. The beds are clean and they offer a free breakfast with waffles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel staff was friendly and great breakfast. Randy was so awesome I will be back! The kitchen in the room made it great as we didn't feel like going out the first night. Next door to grocery store made it a breeze

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We needed someplace to stay for overnight because we were travelling from Florida to Ohio. NEVER AGAIN!!!! The location was good but the room was horrible. They said it was NON smoking...the room had cigarette stain on the fan and the walls. It smelled of smoke. The sofa bed had gum on it along with food crumbs, it had no padding, just springs with a cover on them and no blanket. Thankfully we had our own. The air conditioner thermostat cover was broken off n hanging. We got to a point that w had to open window just so we could breathe. The tissues even smrlled bad. The people were nice but that certainly will not bring us back. Would have complained to someone but there was no one to b found but the cleaning crew. Grossly overpriced for what we got. My estimated value... $20.00 a night at best not $89.00.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanne D, Owner at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Jorz,
It is obvious by your comments that our hotel, one which is highly regarded and precious to so many, was not the hotel you experienced. First, let me say that you have my complete and unreserved apology for your being dismayed due to your visit with us. It is clear that what you say is deeply genuine and not intended for the dramatic impact on others. With this in mind, please contact me personally at gm.tn271@choicehotels.com We all can benefit from well-deserved constructive criticism which is how we view your remarks....thank you for them.
Respectfully,
MainStay Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over Thanksgiving. We specifically asked for a non-smoking room and got an EXTREMELY smoked-in room. When we complained to the staff, we were given another room that was not smoked in. Instead of apologizing he made excuses for the room we were intially given. The bed was the worst we had ever slept in. It was extremely hard, had old, worn linens that were too small for the bed (fought with them all night), little, tiny pillows that were old, and a bedspread with a large hole in it and very worn. The cupboard doors were dirty, also. When we checked out I complained the staff about the horrible bed and again, received no apology and only a look of disbelief. He said he had never had a complaint about the beds before! We are not picky people and expect a little inconvenience when traveling, but this was totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at a Mainstay Suites in Pigeon Forge last week, and this one paled in comparison. This is very dated and in need of major updates. Sofa was pitiful, and even my 6 year old could not sleep on the sofa bed. Breakfast area was tiny w/limited options. We elected for Cracker Barrel down the street. The worst was our smoky smelling "non-smoking" room. I had to get some spray from the front desk to make it tolerable. Friendly staff and clean, but for the cost we will find someplace else next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volgrltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
#11 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites near Hamilton Place
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Chattanooga Near Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga at Hamilton Place Mall
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chattanooga
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#21 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 7030 Amin Drive, Chattanooga, TN 37421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chattanooga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#24 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our spacious, stylish suites include a fully equipped kitchen, irons, ironing boards, and either a sofa sleeper or recliner.Whether traveling for business, relocating to the area or vacationing with the family, the MainStay Suites extended stay hotel is the perfect place to stay in the Chattanooga area. Make us your home away from home while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Chattanooga
Mainstay Suites Chattanooga
Mainstay Chattanooga
Chattanooga Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing