We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really surprized”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really surprized”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The room clean, the staff was very nice, WE felt very comfortable

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulldog6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    79
    31
    10
    12
See reviews for
92
52
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forsyth, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Clean is right and a priority for us on family vacations. This MainStay Suites met our number one priority, no problems! I had never stayed at a MainStay Suite but it certainly made it helpful to save money and enjoy our time in Chattanooga. The kitchen area was immaculate! We were able to cook in our room for dinner to save a few extra dollars. However, if you wanted to eat out, there are some great restaurants within walking distance.

The staff was really good and always friendly. Because we were only in for a few nights, we didn't see much of the staff. They were helpful at breakfast when some of the food ran out but they jumped right on it. Wouldn't hesitate to come back again or suggest it to other families.

Room Tip: Third floor is non-smoking so be sure to request it if this is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jedipastorken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here while looking for a new place to live.

As other reviewers have stated, it exceeded my expectations. The staff was very accomodating during our stay. The room was quiet and clean. Guest laundry was available near our room as well (1st floor). Rates are very reasonable. If you book via a travel agency rather than Choice, confirm you have a non-smoking room guaranteed. We booked a smoking room, but the staff was kind enough to change us to a non-smoking.

This is the extended stay brand from Choice. They have some good options for breakfast, including hot oatmeal. Yum. They are conveniently located next to a Texas Roadhouse, and a plethora of other restaurants are nearby on Shallowford Rd/Hamilton Place area, including mellow mushroom, fuji steak/sushi, ocharleys, cracker barrel, and a fresh market grocery. This is really a hidden gem on the I-75 side of Chattanooga. Great price and clean rooms - fundamental to a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhatDoesTheAtlasSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My company had us stay here for about four months. We loved it and had no complaints. Over the months, many other employees came and went and they all liked it as well. We became friends with the staff, they were never too busy to assist with anything! Randy, Walter, Katie and Deeann are great! I liked coming in from work on Tuesdays where they'd have a meal for all guest. The location is perfect, right next to many eateries; I walked to them sometimes. I felt safe enough to do so. As far as the homeless on I-75, they don't bother nobody. Anyways, this hotel welcomes large groups, and people that travel with their pet. If you're looking for a place, give this one a call, they can give you a good rate, especially for companies staying for a month or more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brownsuga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I give this a 4 because I base my reviews off of my prior expectation. Obviously a 4 here is not the same as a 4 on the Vegas Strip. That said, I expected a run down hotel, being the Mainstay Suites, and I am about to check out happier than I thought. The location feels very safe, despite being a few blocks away from what I'm told isn't a spectacular area (from the clerk at Bi-Lo). The parking lot is large and well lit.

The room itself is basically a studio apartment, with a full kitchen (except no oven), with a full sized fridge, dishwasher, stove, and even a set of dishes and silverware. The bed was pretty comfortable, and the TV was adequate. Appliances weren't super quiet, and the fridge kept making some kind of clanking sound. The walls are pretty thin, so you can occasionally hear stuff next door, and walking down the hall will give you an idea of what everyone is watching on TV. Breakfast exceeded what I expected. A couple of reviews had said that it was subpar, probably because they expected people to use the kitchens in the rooms, but that's not what I saw. Breakfast included waffles, cereal, yogurt, and fruit (which is more than I can say for some Comfort Inns I've stayed at lately).

Overall, you probably know what you're getting into when you stay here. You're not going to be pampered, and it's not a luxury hotel, but it's safe, acceptably comfortable, and the staff were incredibly nice, so what more can you really ask for?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sestevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The location is great, although quite busy with traffic across the interstate in the mall area.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, accomodations clean and nicely furnished with updated items. Even a dishwasher for the 2 place settings and pans provided.
Very quiet considering the close proximity to I-75.
My 30 day stay was very pleasant and they even held my mail for me after I relocated.
I travel 6-9 mos/ yr and this has been the best experience I have had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerCOTAPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The hotel was very clean staff was nice. The location was the best close to shops and mall plus right off I 75

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwilson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites near Hamilton Place
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Chattanooga Near Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga / Hamilton Place
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga at Hamilton Place Mall
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 7030 Amin Dr, Chattanooga, TN 37421-7013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#24 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our spacious, stylish suites include a fully equipped kitchen, irons, ironing boards, and either a sofa sleeper or recliner.Whether traveling for business, relocating to the area or vacationing with the family, the MainStay Suites extended stay hotel is the perfect place to stay in the Chattanooga area. Make us your home away from home while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Chattanooga
Mainstay Suites Chattanooga
Mainstay Chattanooga
Chattanooga Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing