We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for a Chattanooga Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value for a Chattanooga Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in July. The hotel is very nice and very clean. It is in a slightly rough part of town but the hotel feels very safe. It is very convenient to downtown, but you can save 100-150$ per night by staying here. The staff is excellent and very helpful. The pool (although oddly shaped) is very nice and actually seems pretty private. The decor in the hotel seems a bit dated, but the hotel doesn't "feel old."
While staying in Chattanooga, be sure to stop by The Georgia Winery in Ringgold, GA. It is well worth the 15 minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenRetrieverKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    122
    59
    19
    11
See reviews for
110
91
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

I booked this using Hilton points a couple days before passing through the area. It was 25k points, however if I had it to do over, I'd probably spend the extra 5k for the Homewood Suites, just to get in a better part of town. I've stayed at better places for less points.

When we got there, there were several men doing remodeling on our floor and we had to weave our way around them. They were gone by 5pm or so.

Overall, not a bad hotel, however I didn't care too much for the location. As a single woman traveling with a young girl, it made me a little nervous - its never a good sign where there is an 6 or 8-ft tall fence around the property with barbed wire on the top. Also found it interesting that there were 2 squad cars and an unmarked car hanging out in the gas station 2 blocks away that I stopped at to fill up with gas (I made my daughter stay in the car at that station and got out of there as soon as I could - I wasn't sure what was going down.). Plus it was a challenge to get to with all the one-way streets and turns. Thank goodness for GPS!

Once you got inside the hotel, it was great. The staff were wonderful ("Ben" was helpful, friendly and very courteous, and the lady running the breakfast was perfect for the job - chatty and friendly, not obnoxious and clingy - plus she made great bacon!!!). The elevator was slow and made some interesting noises (like most Hampton's), lobby was clean and inviting, rooms were typical of the brand, although a bit oddly shaped (traffic jam between the door to the room and bathroom door.) Toiletries were less than I was used too... no shower cap, makeup remover or ear plugs (not that we really needed them, but many Hamptons have these). Bed of course was wonderful. Breakfast was typical Hampton, although they didn't have sausage gravy for the biscuits, which was unusual in my experience. However they did have a little bagel breakfast pizza which I hadn't seen before. It was very good. Wish more Hamptons would have that.

Overall its a nice hotel once you make it through the door. It's just the neighborhood that turned me off. Not sure if I'd stay there again. Perhaps if it was at 15k points, I would, but probably not again at 25k.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
239 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

Spent one night here with spouse last night. Location is hard to reach if you don't pay attention getting off I-24, but otherwise had no complaints about the area. It used to be an industrial area that is seeing revitalization. Had no worries about safety at all.

Check-in was fast and quick. She was very friendly and welcoming. Upgraded us to a suite (separate tv and sofa room). Room had all the new Hampton bedding and amenities. Was spacious and had plenty of light to read by at night. Nice LG tvs in both rooms. Had an armoire instead of the hidden closet you see in some newer properties.

Breakfast was typical except there were no waffles! They did had omelets, biscuits/gravy, fruit, pastries/breads, cereals, etc.

Hotel is about 15 blocks south of downtown convention area so if you want to be close it's not the location you want. But, if you want peace and quiet, you'll be happy. We were.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

I am currently in the Hampton Inn now writing this review. I am extremely disappointed in this hotel overall. The out side of the building is out dated. The surrounding area is seedy at best. Our room is more like a motel instead of a hotel. Old fashioned lights attached to the walls and hair that did not belong to me in the restroom. I would never stay here again and would never recommend any one I liked or dislike to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiquitaslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

This is located on I-24 at Lookout Mountain. Just a few minutes from Downtown. Updated rooms with better beds. Staff the usual friendly people and breakfast was normal Hampton Inn flair. The outside of the building is outdated, but inside they fixed it up. Rooms are usually under $90. Always stay downtown. But if you can't get the rate you need or room you need, this is a good alternative if you are on Hilton points.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend in Chattanooga with the kids (2 kids, 2 adults). We arrived late, they had the reservation, were very nice, etc. The hotel was clean, we stayed in a room with a king and a pullout couch. Breakfast was good for what it was, and they have tea/coffee/hot chocolate available 24/7. It was kind of hard to find - with the directions from the hotel and the directions from google - but we found it without too many wrong turns (you can see it from the highway, if you're looking for it) - just take 24 towards Lookout Mountain. It was a short drive to either downtown or the choo choo - where you can then take the bus to downtown. And a short ride to lookout mountain and the attractions there. Overall - good for what it is, an inexpensive hotel close to stuff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

We just got back from the Hampton Inn/Lookout Mtn. and had a very pleasant stay. Like the other reviewers said, this hotel is not in the best part of town, but we didn't have a security guard nor did we notice any "crack heads or homeless". The hotel is very convenient to downtown - only about 5-10 min. from the riverfront and the aquarium - and it's half the price of the downtown hotels. Also convenient to Lookout Mtn attractions.

The staff was extremely pleasant to deal with. No problems with checking in. Our room was in great shape. We had one of the 2 queen bed room with the sofabed. Very clean and comfortable. Our room was located on one of the end wings close to the interstate & I wondered about road noise, but didn't find it to be a problem. With the a/c running and the insulated windows, you really couldn't hear much of the traffic outside.

The breakfast was o.k. Nothing spectacular, but dependable, just like the other Hampton Inns we have visited.

All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyToplivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Chattanooga - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#18 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stadium Inn
Stadium Inn
#55 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2420 Williams St, Chattanooga, TN 37408 (Formerly Hotel Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Downtown Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing